Ratings based on 1,838 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Clean room, comfortable bed, great restaurant

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Cool place to stay. Great restaurant /bar with awesome food . Will be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Easy to walk to restaurants museums etc

Posted Jul 25, 2016
It was very hot outside (100+)I would have turned ac to cooler temp but seemed be stuck I didn't call for repair and was fine overnight once I cooled off
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Wonderful staff

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Service, location and quiet room.
Location: Perfect location - walking distance to the train, good restaurants and shopping. Also near a Farmer's Market on Sundays in the summer.
The front desk staff were absolutely wonderful and accommodating. When I made the reservation, I called the hotel to see if I could have an early check in and they said yes if they had the availability. When I arrived at 10am, the front desk graciously found me a room. I flew in for a Memorial Service, it was a hot day and the early check in allowed me to have a quick shower and rest before heading to the service. The room was very nice as well and the staff had great restaurant suggestions. Unfortunately I don't remember the gentleman's name who checked me in, but he was extremely helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No air conditioning, feeble fix

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Day 1: 90+ degrees outside and return to an 80 degree room. Engineer poked around, brought a fan. day 2 down to 78...new engineer 'chiller problem', expect fix within an hour. 6 hrs later still 79, no other rooms to move to...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Nice Location near DuPont Circle BUT.......

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The staff, the nightly wine get together, the location to restaurants and Metro, and the bar/restaurant on site.
Cons: Get rid of glass doors to the bathrooms and fix the A/C!
Location: The metro is a short walk away which makes easy access to the city. DuPont Circle has many restaurants and night life to choose from.
So, it might just have been the hot summer but...I'll start with the staff, they were excellent. Everyone from the front desk to the concierge. They helped with restaurants, transportation, and every other request we had. Other hotels could learn something from the staff here! So, I should have started by saying I traveled with my wife and 2 minor children so we looked for a hotel that was close to where we needed to be and had queen size beds with a kitchenette. This hotel met those needs. Unfortunately, the rooms are, for lack of a better term, quirky. The bathroom door is frosted glass so when you turn the light on at night, it wakes up the whole room. The kitchenette was only OK. It was more like a wet bar with one of the smallest fridges I've ever seen. We got this room so that my child's medication could stay refrigerated and we could keep ample water. Instead, the fridge was stuffed with alcohol and I had to pull some out just to make room for the meds. Lastly, the A/C was horrible! We had it set at 50F all week and the coolest it ever got was 74F. This meant that when the shower runs it adds a bunch of moisture in the air that wasn't being removed by the A/C. So, the room stayed damp and musty the entire week. My understanding is that they had to close off the top two floors because of A/C problems. The nightly wine party was nice and the restaurant was excellent but overall, I wouldn't stay there again. It was too uncomfortable with a family.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

The AC did not work for 2 days!

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Cons: Faster air conditioning repairs!!
I would have given the hotel a great rating, but the air conditioning did not work for 2 days!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel and love the neighborhood.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Staff is always warm, friendly and helpful, room is well-appointed, nice lobby and free wine in evening.
Cons: We had to wait in the lobby for our rooms to be ready and the AC didn't seem to be working well; same for my room. Very hot day and hard to cool.
Location: Ten minutes walk to Dupont Circle, great cafes, restaurants and shops. Hotel has a bike you can use. Lovely neighborhood.
This is the second time I've stayed at this Kimpton on business. It's not far from my meetings and I love being in a beautiful neighborhood where I can walk to restaurants, shops and cafes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, Va

A Klimpton boutique hotel in a safe neighborhood.

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: I loved the wine hour from 4-5 in the lobby. Incredible bath products. The restaurant was really good too. It is pricey, but excellent cheeseburger.
Cons: Parking is too expensive $42, but that's normal for DC. The bathrooms could use towel hooks and a fan, but that would take away from the 'arty' look.
Location: Get a room with a kitchenette and you can save money going to Trader Joes, which is walking distance. There is everything nearby, including a dog park
The location could not be better! It was a quiet neighborhood in Dupont Circle, walking distance to many restaurants, clubs and the farmers market. It was decorated nicely and very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: Style
Location: Awesome location
Loved our experience ......very friendly staff very helpful as l lost my phone and they located it for me
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from long island, ny

Posted May 1, 2016
Rooms are small but that's to be expected for the city. Wonderful staff and very pet friendly. Highly recommend for a DC trip.