Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Jeffery from St, Paul, MN

Beautiful lodge set amidst the rolling hills

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
Botlierskop is an amazing lodge set in beautiful rolling hills above Mossel Bay. The rooms were incredibly comfortable and the food at the lodge was great. The Little Brak River goes right by the lodges and there is a grassy area between the main lodge and the river that a lot of the animals like to graze at. Our rooms were right next to this area and had a great view of rhino, wildebeest, bontebok, impala, etc. Keep in mind this is a small game reserve and won't be a game viewing experience like Chobe, Kruger, or even Madikwe. The safari here is set among a beautiful drive in the Western Cape hills. I think of it more as a scenic drive with the chance to see animals rather than a drive to see animals that also includes some scenic views. It is a much different experience than the usual game drive and quite enjoyable. If you are going to do the Garden Route or Cape Town in addition to a safari at a big park then stopping here for a couple of days is a nice add-on that is different than what you will experience at the big game park. The horseback riding here looked incredible and is something I plan on doing when I return. They also did a great job of accommodating my 88 year old grandmother who has some difficulty getting around. The staff was very, very helpful. Our game guide Chris was quite knowledgeable and had some funny stories. We stayed for two nights which I think was about the right length.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016
Dear Jeffery, Thank you for sharing your Botlierskop-experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! Hoop to see you again in the near future! Kind regards, Alison
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Fantastic. We loved it all. Service, safaris with ranger Mike, the animals, food, weather, the team.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Game and Fine Dining

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Go for the game drives, stay for the excellent food and dining. Amazingly friendly and attentive service from everyone from the guides to the cleaning staff. Every meal was beautifully presented and delicious. Quite a value as well compared to game lodges around Kruger. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a game drive and lodge experience along the Garden Route. Didn't want to leave!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hier bekommt man Safarifeeling

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: Ausstattung des gesamten Hotels. Freundlichkeit des Personals. Lage des Hotels erzeugt Safarifeeling.
Wir waren schon im Krüger Nationalpark. Trotzdem ist der Besuch von Botlierskop lohnenswert. Die Buchung des Game Drives (ca. 3 Std.) schon wegen der Landschaft ein Muß. Insbesondere die Buchung des cat walks bei der Zorgfontein Farm ist ein einmaliges Erlebnis. So nah mit Löwen durch die Landschaft zu gehen und in einem ca. 5 m Abstand sich mit Löwen im Vordergrund fotografieren zu lassen erzeugt absolutes Safarifeeling. Der Service ist total. Kommt man abends ins Zimmer ist das Licht und die Klimaanlage eingeschaltet. Das Dinner ist ein Erlebnis.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Privat Game Reserve with fantastic views

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
Spend a night on our honeymoon there. Really great!
4 out of 5
by Patrice from Carrières sur Seine

Tres bon séjour

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
Très bon séjour, le game drive très moyen, mais tout le reste était parfait.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent hotel in a stunning location!

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: Beautiful decor and facilities, excellent staff who are friendly and passionate, activities (game drive, horse ride, canoe ride) were fun!
Cons: Additional privacy for toilets - the concept of an open bathroom seems nice but with no doors at all, it's not the best when the toilet smells!
Location: Location is fantastic, we stayed on the hotel property the entire 3 days as there were plenty of activities to keep us entertained.
My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in December. From the moment we arrived, we fell in love with the place! HOTEL & FACILITIES The hotel itself is beautiful, well furnished and styled with animal furs, leather lounges, candles, and African-themed decor throughout. Our tent was stunning, the bed was HUGE and there was ample space for two people with double basins in the bathroom and a comfy stone bathtub. Everything was clean and we'd been gifted a bottle of wine and some cute chocolates. We looked onto a grass hill near the water so there was privacy and around the grounds, the views were breathtaking - rolling grass hills and a river and plenty of game/wildlife around. There were however a few things which let us down - the outdoor shower is amazing and a really great idea but can be a nuisance if you want a shower at night as it can get very cold and there are mosquitoes and bugs. The outdoor lights for both the back shower and the front deck were both broken, these were not repaired until our 3rd day so we had to use candles outside and couldn't have a shower after it got dark. And the pedicure at the day spa was not the best. Overall however, the place is stunning! SERVICE Overall, the service was excellent. Our check-in was a little slow, we arrived at 9pm and didn't get to our rooms until 10.30pm! But aside from this, reception/restaurant/activities service was excellent in all cases. Staff are super friendly and happy to assist and passionate about their jobs
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Fantastic Experience

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: The staff, the building and rooms, the views, the animals, the spa, the pools, everything .
Cons: Can't fault it.
Location: Don't know as we never left the game reserve.
The game reserve is accessed via a very long gravel track and it makes you wonder what you are coming to! When we arrived we were met by our assigned guide who arranged the car to be parked and took us on a tour of the main buidling which is amazing. We were then offered complimentary drinks and a snack whilst we browsed the selection of activities. I was worried that they would all be booked up but there was plenty of space and they were so accomodating. We booked walking with lions, horseback riding and a Game Drive. All were excellent value and were fantastic. We booked a luxury manor room. The Manor was down a steep drive but there are plenty of golf cars around to take people up and down if they so wish. The Manor House was stunning with its own private lounge where a fire is lit each evening. Our room look out onto a grassy plain where wildebeest and spring bok were grazing-fantastic. There was also a swimming pool for Manor House guests to use which was a stones throw from our veranda. It was sheer bliss. The room was fabulous we couldn't fault it. Our food was not included but we opted to eat breakfast and evening meal as it was difficult to go elsewhere. The prices were very reasonable and the food superb. A real experience to eat there. One evening there were African Drummers and we sat round a large fire pit learning how to play the drums. We only had a two night stay but it was fantastic and look forward to going back again.
5 out of 5
by Monika from Hamburg

Ganz toll!

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
Ein ganz toller Aufenthalt. Es hat uns wirklich gut gefallen. Alle Mitarbeiter waren super bemüht. TOLL
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide South Australia

Wish we had more time there

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Great place to stay, clean, classy but not pretentious, amazing food and great staff. Wish we could have stayed longer. Well done everyone :)