Ratings based on 1,195 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St.Louis, MO

Disappointed stay

Posted Nov 16, 2017
The room was poorly cleaned. The bathroom wall was dirty and the shower curtain smelled of mold and had mold on it. The pillows were aweful!! We had 3 people in the room and were only given Howells for two people over 5 days. The heater could not be turned down so we had to turn on the air conditioner. I will not return to this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017
The staff was nice but in my room there was a water bug in the bathroom the room smelled a little Stale like it had been setting for a While
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Sketchy hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2017
First clue should have been the lobby being closed after hours and having to deal with checking in thru a teller type window. It took 30 minutes to check in because their system was slow was slow and only one person working. There was a line that had formed at midnight. (side note: we were driving cross country and St. Louis was a planned stop.) Once we finally get to our room, we found that the pillow covers were dirty. There was visible dirt and make up stains on it. We slept on top of the covers that night using our sweaters to cover the dirty pillows. We only stayed for 5 hours after I woke up and found a bed bug next to where i was sleeping. We high tailed it outta there. I dont know how the hotel got a 3.5 stars. It was more like a 1star tp me.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

DO NOT STAY HERE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Literally nothing.
Cons: Literally everything.
I wasn't expecting 5 star quality when coming here, but I did want clean sheets and some human decency. If you're looking for either, DO NOT come here. I was placed into 3 different rooms, and here's a short description of my experiences in each and in the lobby after every time: 1. Both beds were stained and had burn marks. Literally there were holes in the sheets and pillowcases from cigarettes. Disgusted, we lugged our stuff downstairs to the lobby. The hotel clerk was not apologetic when giving a new room, but gave us directions to turn the light off and open the curtain in the window of the room we left. No compensation or sorry. We get to our new room about 30 minutes after first arriving. 2. Both beds again were stained and had burn marks. This time it was coupled with a wall of cigarette smoke that I couldn't breathe in. This time, there were about 8 people in the lobby; We are forced to wait in line even though the clerk and owner know exactly why we're there. I was literally yelled at by the owner saying that it's not their fault people smoke in the room. No compensation. This is about an hour after arriving. 3. One bed has the signature burn marks and stains. One bed is clean enough to sleep in. There is mold in the fridge, gum in the light above the bed, and a hole in the wall to start. This was after we were upgraded to a "deluxe" room. After going downstairs a third time, the owner literally was hiding from me. No compensation. You've been warned.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maryland heights, MO

Get what you pay for.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
I paid extended stay for a reasonable price, unfortunately that meant staying at a cheap motel with serious cleanliness issues and spotty internet. My sheets were 3 days over stained with blood and the owner was rude and uncooperative. In fact the only time I actually got to access the inside of the front office was when I checked out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Absolutely Disgusting

Posted Oct 11, 2017
When we arrived we had been driving for a few hours with 3 kids and just wanted to sleep. I pull in and the place is all dark, and you could barely see the check in office. I walked in and there was garbage and paper thrown all over the floor. There wasn’t anywhere to stand. The room was supposed to be non smoking and it smelled horribly like smoke. If it weren’t so late and we weren’t so tired we would have left and gone to a new hotel. We only got 2 towels and they were dirty. There were what looked like pubic hairs on the two towels we were given. There were stains all over the walls and furniture. There was also strands of hair all over the bed sheets. I was so disgusted with the hotel. We didn’t notice how dirty it was until we got up in the morning and saw the room with the sunlight because it was so dim in the rooms. I will never stay at a red roof inn again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from saint louis

Cheap mediocre

Posted Oct 10, 2017
First impression whole complex needs upgraded and looks like there hasn't been any maintenance done in a very long time. Parking lot trash strewn all over. I'm so glad I booked on expedia and got a great rate. Otherwise no I wouldn't pay for what they want. Considering the hotel is in an more affluent area of saint Louis I thought it would be better. We get in the room and it was not cleaned well. Found old dry cereal on floor by the bed and could tell not vacuumed well. I asked about getting room recleaned. Was told couldn't no housekeeping available. Shower wouldn't drain. The mirror over the sink fell while my husband was brushing his teeth. He got cut on his hand. Bleeding I called front desk. 1st thing they said was I had to pay 50 dollars cash. I said no. I wanted them to look at it. They refused. Went to office. They demanded 50 cash. They accused him of moving the mirror. Meanwhile my husband hand still bleeding. No offer of emergency aid. Still demanded 50 cash. I said no not until someone looks at it. They said will look and let me know. The most im paying is 25. I will never stay there
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Hit and misssing?

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Cons: Hire people as desk attendants who have experience in service industry and how to deal with problems and clients.
The best thing about the hotel was probably your location. Your Maryland Heights location was about halfway between the airport and a friend of mine I was visiting there. This helped in getting around. I stayed there the evening of the 28th, and the 1st. The 28th went quite well, but the 1st was quite a different story. Your desk attendant on Monday afternoon the 1st, was having a terrible time, and was rude to guests. A man there ahead of me said he'd been waiting an hour to get his room. The attendant was apparently having serious computer problems. She said it was her 2nd day on the job, and she wanted to quit. She had 4 people waiting for rooms at one point. I had forgotten that my room was reserved but not paid for. I brought it to her attention, and was corrected, but she was unduly emotional about it. Later I called her about my TV. It wasn't working, so she said she couldn't repair it, and would have to give me another room; I would have to come down and get totally re-assigned. Later, I found the controls on the monitor would control the TV, so I didn't bother. The remote probably needed batteries, as it wouldn't turn the TV off or on.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Poplar Bluff, MO

Chinsey room

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Room smelled of recently-cleaned tobacco smoke. Linoleum floor (versus carpet) was not expected, though not too terrible. Probably much easier to clean. Certainly not "homey" though!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Glancing at the room it looked fine until we got ready to use our towels and there was bugs inside of it. Tub wasn't the cleanest beds felt like card board and Lil short man at the counter was the rudest. Didn't even have a full roll of tissue in the bathroom. Never again