Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Mateo, CA

What a delightful surprise !

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: cleanliness, service, cookies! and natural beauty
Location: Walk to the Boardwalk!
I was amazed by the beauty of this hidden little gem in the heart of Santa Cruz, nestled into beautiful redwoods and a babbling creek. The staff is nicer than any place you've ever been. My husband and I stayed on a Friday night and walked to the Boardwalk to enjoy the free evening concert. Treat yourself to a great getaway and enjoy this magical bed and breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palm desert, ca

Loved this place!

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Came here for a few nights during a road trip and really enjoyed our stay. Super comfortable beds and a cozy room. Breakfast was very good and cooked to order. Jessie the manager was awesome! Loved the sounds of the babbling brook. Would stay here again♡
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

tranquil stay

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: The staff, location and all the extra touches
Cons: Parking is tight and the bathroom could use a little updating, but neither take away from the experience we had here.
Location: location is a walk from the wharf and the main shopping strip
We really enjoyed our stay at this inn. Sam, at the front office was so nice and helpful. He also makes a great strudel and eggs benedict! Our room was cozy and the balcony facing the gorgeous back of the hotel was a bonus. Wine and a gorgeous layout of fruits and cheeses is served in the evening, And breakfast is included and and served to order. There is also a tray of cookies and a coffee/tea set up in the foyer all day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lovely room just a little noisy

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds, breakfast included, large room.
Cons: Noise!
Location: Walking distance to boardwark, wharf, downtown Santa Cruz.
This charming bed & breakfast goes above and beyond to keep their guests well informed, comfortable, and make their stay as enjoyable as possible. We stayed in the Contessa room which included two of the most comfortable Queen sized beds we have ever slept on. The room was huge and offered a fire place as well. The biggest issue with this room is the street noise. We stayed over a weekend so the street noise on a Saturday night was very distracting and kept us awake. We were also informed a day before check-in that we might have more disruptions due to construction on the street. They even offered to refund us, but finding another hotel a day before would have been impossible. Thankfully, we weren't affected and it is unfortunately out of the hotel's control. The boardwalk/wharf is walking distance. Overall, we enjoyed our stay other than the noise issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, Ca

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Beautiful, comfortable room. The babbling brook below our balcony was a relaxing sound. The staff was wonderful. Breakfast was delicious. We didn't want to leave. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Such a charming and beautiful place to stay.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: More counter space in bathroom
Location: College and resort town. Lots of restaurants and shopping, beach and boardwalk. Just beautiful
So welcoming when we arrived. Evening reception was awesome. I grabbed a glass of wine immediately (so nice) and our host showed us around and to our room. The grounds are so charming and it is truly a Peaceful and warm setting. After we got settled in room I went back for more wine and they had a Buffet of Bruschetta, cheeses, dried fruit, olives, balsamics and olive oils, fresh cut vegetables and crackers, as well as citrus water, and sodas. It was more than expected and a wonderful treat. Coffee, water and cookies were served all day. For breakfast, they made freshly cooked pancakes and sausage, as well they had a variety of breads, jams, hard boiled eggs, cut fresh fruit, coffee, and teas. I would have loved to have stayed another night and really enjoyed the grounds, and evening reception longer. Would be awesome with a few friends for a gathering prior to going to dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Babbling Brook inn

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Nice staff. Clean environment. Close to downtown and boardwalk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Quaint bed and breakfast in an old setting.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Beautiful setting with a garden and water wheel. Close to beach and shopping. Loved the breakfast and the staff was helpful and accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Fun but NOISY

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The staff were absolutely delightful. Every single one of them was polite, helpful and had a smile on their face the entire time.
Cons: NOISE! It is so noisy! I'm not sure how to make the place less creaky, but maybe updating the stairs, putting in supports... something!
Location: Loved the location. Walking distance to Pacific, but far enough away that the neighborhood is safe and quiet.
Our entire experience was ruined by the noise level. My husband and I checked found ample and easy parking. Check-in was a breeze. The staff were great. There were free cookies and wine. We felt like we where sitting in the middle of a forest but in the comfort of a down bed. It was beautiful! But then, night came. My husband and I had a little date night and got into bed around midnight. The rest of the night was just constant movement and creaking from the other guests in the hotel. The entire structure is older and wooden so every movement would cause a creak or a squeak. Beginning at 5am there was constant movement from the lobby next door to us. Around 7am, the family above us started their day, where the kids decided to race up and down the stairs and around their room. I got maybe 3 hours of sleep while there. If you are staying here, stay on the highest floor possible, and take a few sleeping pills, put in ear plugs, and maybe have a night cap just in case. Because otherwise, you will not sleep.
5 out of 5
by Dorian

Awesome Service!

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
Very kind and awesome front desk/check in. Great breakfast also!