Ratings based on 490 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 18, 2016
The hotel had a few issues with the room, but staff were very friendly and helpful about fixing them quickly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good night sleep

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Location is downtown and convenient to restaurants and business in the area.
Friendly staff, well run, clean and comfortable. Nice morning buffet and exercise room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AL

Convenient location.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Quiet.
Cons: It's fine.
Location: Walking distance -with sidewalks - to park and Old Salem, which is a lovely place to walk and learn.
Nice to be able to take a walk through pretty neighborhood, after long trip. Coffee shop and bakery around corner. Near Old Salem.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Great hotel for the price! Clean, friendly and overall good experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Nice enough. Pros- Bed very comfortable, close to and walkable to many things in the downtown area, Wonderful breakfast! Cons- Maybe just bad timing but the check in desk was always a wait. When I checked in there was one woman working the counter and 8 people in a line waiting to check in. Later on my room key stopped working so I went back down to get a new key. This time there were 2 people at the counter, 3 people in line but one the women answered the phone and talked for 7 minutes with a potential guest asking questions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North East

Clean, comfortable, fall down on service...

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: It is close to downtown...
Cons: Service! Have shampoo etc at the front desk so your employees can look like they are in the know and be of service! And customer service will improve.
Location: Location is at a bottom of a hill so walking to downtown is with effort if you are older or not so limber. There is a lot to do in W-S
Check in efficient, everyone is friendly, but if you need something as simple as an extra shampoo bring your own! One small container is provided per room. Shampoo must be so tightly counted that housekeeping has only what they replenish when getting a room ready for the next customer tied up in a plastic bag in their cart of clean linens & come up with some excuse why they cannot spare 1 (we were told " can't you see I haven't any, but maybe can send a message along to see if we can find you one (if you wait you'll miss breakfast). The front desk had none & no idea where to find any. Turned out the 7th floor shower is only powerful enough to wash a bald head. Do not plan on a shampoo if a 7th floor suite. There are no kitchen type supplies in the suite kitchen area (no dish detergent, towel, plates or silverware, & only one ceramic cup for coffee. There are 2 small pillows on each bed in the bedroom….most other hotels we've stayed in have 3-4. Baby boomers can face an array of health issues & often need several pillow for comfortable sleep. Breakfast is cafeteria style. Their sausage is better quality than most, as is the freshness of their individual milk containers. They offer a take out possibility which is great, all else seems good quality, but not better than any other hotel that offers similar items. The seating area is dark & dingy. The hotel's open computer area had no paper or pen supplies, had printer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average Hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Close to downtown
Cons: Check in experience. Luggage has to be taken in a separate door.
Location: Eat
Staff in Dining room overworked and not supportive of guests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible place to stay

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
We had driven all day had to wait over an hour to get into our room then the room wasn't very clean and the mini fridge had mold. I would never stay at this establishment again!!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Great location with pool and free parking!

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Very convenient location, reasonable price and good amenities.
Cons: With all the one-way streets plus construction, this could be hard to find. My GPS got me there, but it is way easier to WALK there with map!
Location: Old Salem, good restaurants on 4th
I was attending a meeting a Marriott on Cherry St about half a mile away and missed the group rate. Good thing! Hawthorne was less expensive for a comparable (or better) room, and there was no exorbitant parking fee! Unloading was a breeze - several baggage carts available at entrance right at elevator. Wifi pw supplied at checkin. Breakfast was a hot buffet offering a good range of options. I did n't have time to use the pool, much to my regret, but it is tucked attractively in courtyard surrounded by rest of hotel. Next time! This is within (my) walking distance of downtown and Old Salem. There is a cafe but didn't have opportunity to check it out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Could be considered basic but great location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
I booked a block of rooms for my wedding. Great rate for the group. Over the weekend I stayed in a king room and the "jacuzzi suite" which they said was their best room. Comfy beds, safes in all rooms, nice pool, mediocre but filling complimentary breakfast and a helpful staff. Definitely recommend.