Ratings based on 603 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired looking and somewhat shabby

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: close to Wake Medical Center
Quite an outdated and shabby hotel. Breakfast gave us the "runs". Just not up to par after staying in Hampton Inns for most of my travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Va

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Nice hotel, centrally located. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff was Curtis and professional. I would return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Great location.

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Within walking distance to downtown Winston-Salem as well as Old Salem, the historical restoration village. Great complimentary buffet breakfast.
Cons: The restaurant/breakfast room furniture could be upgraded. Furniture quite worn out and dated.
Location: Directly off Rt. 40 which can take you to Asheville, Greensboro or Raleigh.
My second stay while in Winston-Salem, NC visiting family. Clean city with many small, unique shops on Trade Street. Loads of restaurants and biking friendly. Lots of bike paths too. Reynolda Village a must see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Had an enjoyable stay. Nice friendly staff. Had a nice clean room. This is my second stay at this hotel. I will definitely come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice hotel near the center

Posted Nov 10, 2017
They are fast responding I had a late arrival and they accommodated me. Very nice and nice breakfast. Every time I have to go back for business will stay there from now on
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Convenient, Comfortable Stay

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Hotel is in a nice location, right off Business 40 and within easy walking distance of downtown. Would definitely recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Walkable in Winston and great breakfast

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Staff and breakfast.
Cons: Indoor pool cover...or sauna
Location: Good exercise walking uphill. Downtown accessible - shops, meetings, arts centers, restaurants.
Full breakfast buffet helped start the day. Walking to downtown area easy: shops, Benton convention center and arts studios/stores. Appreciated user friendly staff very much. Sorry too chilly for outdoor pool but fitness center adequate. I recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

downtown Winston-Salem hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Nice . clean, no complaints, the staff we encountered were very nice. Don't know I'm familiar with other hotels giving you tickets to get into breakfast but that's what they do. Its a full breakfast - yogurt, the usual breads, cereals, plus scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, oatmeal. Though its certainly plentiful, its not the tastiest breakfast in my opinion but that seems to be the way it is at many buffet style breakfasts. But that is a minor issue. Certainly recommend Hawthorne.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet , neat, and very friendly.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Very friendly staff. Clean and comfortable. Bed were comfortable. Suggestions: You need a fan in the bathroom and a bar for getting in and out of the shower. The clerk at the desk was very helpful in giving directions to places. THANKS!
4 out of 5
by Ramon

Guests from Georgia

Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
Buffet breakfast was great. Fire alarm went off twice at night.