Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh PA

Good for the price

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: it's cheap, clean, the a/c works, and the beds are comfortable.
Cons: Clean up the neighborhood
Location: Close to major Beijing attractions
This is my second stay at the Hyde and probably my last. The first time I think I have it 4 or 5 stars, this time I'm a more experienced Beijing visitor and am giving it 3. The good points: it's cheap, clean, the a/c works, and the beds are comfortable. So if you're looking for an inexpensive place to crash, it's fine. Main negative is the location. It's on a narrow and shabby alley (a hutong). First time I thought it was cool in a third-world sort of way. Now that I know the city better, I see that it's just a crummy neighborhood, smelly and dirty. Not dangerous, just sort of rundown. Also, the standard room is really small, with no space to even put your suitcase, and the shower is just jammed in between the sink and toilet. So if you stay here, definitely upgrade to the "family suite" which is much better.
4 out of 5
by Louis

Location

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location!
4 out of 5
by HaBha from London UK

Good budget hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is very well located, and is a great place to stay if you are not going to be in the hotel much. I would recommend this hotel for those that are in Beijing to explore the city and aim to use the hotel to just sleep. Breakfast was not great and does NOT include coffee / hot drinks. Our room was also full of mosquitos - again not great, but bearable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great location

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The location and the style of the building. Clean bathroom and good shower.
Cons: The room with a big bed feels crowded.
Location: Easy access to everything.
Close to everything: tourist attractions, a big variety of restaurants and shopping, walking distance to subway stations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not have my reservation on arrival

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Did not speak a slick of English! Room was cold and dirty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay!!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
This hotel was disgusting. Beds were hard and matress was stained, the shower pressure was terrible and it wets the toilet, the toilet got clogged twice, room service came only once when we stayed 5 nights. Only one mirror. The only good thing is the location! But would rather pay more for a decent hotel. Definitely wouldn't recommend or stay again. They have 2 cute cats though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harbin, HB

Located near lots of local food restaurants.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
First impression of the hotel was that it was a traditional Chinese design. Rooms were quite small and bathroom wasn't great, found a cigarette in the toilet on arrival. Also they have creepy cats which live around inside the hotel. Also it is located down an alley which isn't pleasant to walk down during the evening on your own. Security of the rooms was very good though. And the local food in the area was great. Recommend for tourists and foodies but would not stay there for more than a couple of nights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value Stay

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
Value for money, quite centrally located for museums and Forbidden City
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very beautiful old building and great location.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Location: Located in a very convenient area, both for site-seeing and eating/shopping.
Great cost benefit. The building is a beatiful old one and the location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Nice hotel close to historic Beijing

Posted Sep 28, 2016
The hotel is very quite, where you can have a good night's sleep. The bed is clean, but the restroom is kind of moldy.