Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Friendly, comfortable Inn, great restaurant

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Well appointed Inn, friendly staff, good breakfast included.
Cons: If possible, the road signs indicating the location of the hotel could be set further back from the entrances, to give drivers more warning.
Location: Well placed for Yosemite National Park, Sierra National Forest, Yosemite Mountain Sugar Pine Railroad
I stayed at the Narrow Gauge Inn during a recent trip to Yosemite National Park. The Inn has a lovely location, surrounded by forest on Hwy 41, a few miles outside Fish Camp and well placed for the Wawona entrance to the park. The rooms are arranged in two rows at different levels on the hillside, but the Inn offers many more touches of character than any regular motel - such as the garage housing a beautifully maintained classic fire truck, and a charming nature trail through the arch entitled "Marty's Garden". If you're a fan of steam railway its worth knowing the Inn offers a voucher for the neighboring Yosemite Mountain Sugar Pine railroad. The room was very comfortable, with a large bed, private shower-room and all the amenities that you'd expect, including a private balcony overlooking the forest. There's plenty of parking, and the area was very quiet at night. The Inn includes an excellent restaurant in hunting-lodge style, which serves a substantial hot breakfast buffet (included in my room rate) each morning, and extremely good modern American cuisine for dinner - it's well worth stopping by for dinner. I have to say though, that the staff will stand out in my memory for being sincerely friendly and genuine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top Lage

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Super Lage, sehr nah an der Einfahrt zum Yosemite. Das Inn selbst ist etwas altmodisch, aber sehr gepflegt und idyllisch. Zimmer recht teuer (was an der Nähe zum Yosemite und dem Wochenende liegen dürfte), nicht super groß und komfortabel, aber für eine Nacht absolut ausreichend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset, England UK

Characterful Hotel Close to Yosemite

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Its charm, Scott & his Fire Engine. Great place, great people.
Cons: Air con in the rooms.
Location: Yosemite and Glacier Point Bought a black walnut tree carving from down the Road - awesome souvenir!
The Charm of this hotel cant be experienced until you get there! What a place! After a long drive from Vegas we arrived at the hotel to be greeted by Scott (great guy) and nothing was too much trouble. It was a hot day and the room was scorching we had room 26 ( the air con was very old, and worked a little to reduce the heat of the room). Shame the pool was empty as it was the start of the season, would have loved a cold dip! We stayed 2 nights and will stay again when we visit Yosemite again. Ron in the restaurant was a real character and seemed genuinely interested in all we had to tell him of our 3500 mile road trip.What a fab guy to serve us our delicious dinner. One downfall, the price of the wine by the bottle available to buy from reception was expensive $54!! More reasonable wine available in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfield, CA

Nice Little Gettaway

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: Its intimate and charming atmosphere and friendly staff.
Cons: Wish the hotel and spa were open. Also the shower needs a desperate update.
Location: Excellent location! Plenty of things to do close by. Town is not that far. A resort is just up the hill. And of course there's Yosemite!
We had to stay overnight in this area and I found this hotel last minute. I'm so glad I did! Hotel atmosphere was very pleasant and personable. It was nice to have a little intimate balcony off our room. You felt you were among the trees! The hotel staff was very nice. Dinner at the dining room was amazing!! And best of all, there was a nice breakfast the next morning. I was bummed that the pool and hot tub were closed but we drove a few miles up the hill and used the spa facilities at the nearby resort. I wish I could have stayed longer to explore more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classical lodge-style near Yosemite

Posted May 22, 2016
A great location (about 35 miles from Yosemite Valley) in a lovely woodland setting including a forest trail. The buildings I guess are from the 1950s and rooms are comfortable but dark because of wood-panelling and dim lighting. Each has an outside seating area with great views. Breakfast was excellent; usually lasted through to dinner without a lunch. The restaurant was also excellent for dinner (although closed for winter up to early May) but if you don't want that quality (and associated price) the nearest town is Oakhurst (about 13 miles) which has a large range of restaurants. The restaurant at the nearby Tenaya Lodge is good, but no better (or cheaper) than the Narrow Gauge.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Posted May 2, 2016
Nice location but the rooms are old and need to be updated. The bed was uncomfortable. There is no fridge or safe. The clothes rack bar fell down. The hot water was sporadic either too hot or cold. The rooms are not well insulated you can here people taking in the rooms next to you. Expensive and not worth the money
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Delightful and scenic.

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Enjoyed the rosemary potatoes at breakfast, they ffered sasages but no ehhs. Minor issue but for me would have been perfect.
Location: Secluded, pretty, great for a a quiet retreat and v close to Yosemite.
A warm welcome, beautiful setting, had booked it 'blind' and wished we could have stayed longer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Davis

nothing

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: breakfast was great
Cons: need to clean up
Location: no dining
dirty bedding. bed smell. noisy. nice breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
Had a nice stay. The breakfast was tasty and the staff friendly and attentive
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Christine, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We always appreciate the feedback. Thank you again from all of us here at the Narrow Gauge Inn. :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Poughkeepsie, New York

Picturesque setting!

Posted Apr 10, 2016
What a lovely place! It was exactly what we were looking for! Quiet and off the beaten path. The view from the rooms were wonderful and the staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful! I'm so glad we found the Narrow Gauge Inn! I would highly recommend it! Only a few miles from the south entrance to Yosemite!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by Christine , Hotel Management
We are glad as well you found us! :) We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay. Thank you