Ratings based on 891 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom washington dc

Small room

Posted Jan 25, 2015
room was so small . I didn't feel comfortable in the room . No bathroom door . Not enough towels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Jet Engine

Posted Jan 24, 2015
The AC/Heater unit sounded like a jet engine taking off. We have 2 associates staying in this hotel and both complained of the noisiness. Walls were paper thin so there needless to say it was a long night. Hotel was priced way lower than the others in the area. Should have known...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Very Nice

Posted Jan 6, 2015
We only spent 1 night at this hotel but will definitely go back! Very handy to the airport and a variety of restaurants!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond,va

Nice last minute place to get a hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Nice guick check in.Staff was nice to tell us all about the amenities at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom fort worth

First time @ aloft

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pretty nice place. Loved the free coffee downstairs, great 2am closing bar. Breakfast was an expensive buffet that was mediocre at best. Room was cool, the bathroom glass doors leaked after every shower which was inconvenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Enjoyed this contemporary and urban hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: The urban vibe.
Cons: More pillows - either on the bed or in the "closet".
Location: Casino and outlet mall a short drive away. Front desk offered a slot machine credit if we went to the casino, btw.
Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel that I was unfamiliar with (brand-wise); guess it is a Starwood property. The hotel was very urban in design, which I liked. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel has a bar/lounge area that was enjoyable to have a drink at, enjoy the music to (background music was a smooth R&B; live music was a solo guitarist that sang classic hits from Johnny Cash to Eric Clapton). There is food available in the bar, but not exactly a restaurant (food served in bar area) or room-service (guess you order and then pick up down in lobby area where food is available) in the classic sense. All staff (front desk, bartender) encountered was super friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stephenfrom Norfolk, VA

Nice but...

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The lobby was very nice, bar was very cool and had a lot of interesting touches. The room I stayed in was clean, beds were very comfortable. The bathroom/shower area was odd, privacy door is not so private (gap) and there is not any real lighting in the shower area, you also can't help but get your arm wet turning on the shower (for my child), also the way the light switches/lights are laid out plan on waking up people in the middle of the night if you have to relieve yourself, you can not just turn on a light where the toilet is because there is no direct light fixture there... poor design.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Brooke Beutlerfrom New York City

Service

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I spent two nights at Aloft Arundel Mills last weekend. I arrived by Amtrak train on Friday night and I called Aloft Arundel mills 30 minutes ahead of time to have the shuttle to pick me up. I was told that it was no issue and that it will be there on time. My train arrived and there was no shuttle to be seen. I waited over an hour and a half in the dark by myself at the train station (not a safe place for an 18 y/o girl to be by herself at night). I called the hotel twice during that duration and I was assured both times that the shuttle was only a few minutes away (hotel is fewer than ten minutes from the train station). It was close to 2 am when I finally arrived at the hotel. The shuttle driver held out his hand and asked for a tip. It was safe to say that he was not deserving of a tip. He got frustrated and left me to get my heavy luggage out of the van. I walked into the hotel and waited another 30 minutes for somebody at the front desk. It was 3 am when I finally got to my hotel room. At 9 am the next morning, I was taking a shower and in walked a housekeeper. It didn't help that the shower doors were made of see-through glass. On Sunday I called the front desk one hour before my checkout time to ask if I can have a shuttle take me back to the train station. Again, they told me that it was no problem. I waited another hour in the lobby area waiting for the shuttle to arrive. Eventually I had to call a taxi and I missed my train. The room's were in great condition and the hotel had a convenient location, however the service at the hotel was awful. I read other reviews on this hotel and others said the same thing. I didn't think that it really could be as awful as others had said. Aloft Arundel Mills lived up to the reviews I had read.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Waldorf, MD

Relaxing

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: The close access to Arundel Mills and Live casino.
Location: I couldn't ask for a better location.
This was my second trip to the Aloft, the staff is very nice and makes the stay well worth the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dennisfrom norfolk, VA

aloft one night stay

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Trip was wonderful. The clerk in the front desk was very prompt and efficient. He made sure our stay was good and made sure all amenities were up to standard. I was real hesitant at first bringing my daughter with us because of the atmosphere of the lounge area when we checked in. It was geared towards the high 20's and mid 30's scene, however there was no problem at all. Very family friendly and the rooms were modern so it was out of the norm for the traditional hotel rooms me and my wife would get. Nonetheless, I would definitely go back to Aloft and stay there again!