Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Palm Springs

Felt like i was sharing a rokm

Posted Feb 24, 2015
The walls are so thin that I could hear the entire bed-time conversation for the room next to me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Berkeley

Peace and Tranquility

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The grounds are immaculate and beautiful. The staff was outstanding. The pools warm and inviting.
Location: Ventana is a luxury lodging in a very natural setting. There are a number state parks and beaches nearby.
Staying at Ventana was magical. Our room was both spacious and comfortable. Lying in the hammock on the deck was relaxing and peaceful. Our unit was surrounded by trees, yet we could see the ocean in the distance from our deck. The sunsets were wonderful. The night sky was a deep black filled with the most brilliant stars I have ever seen. Breakfast was especially memorable as it was held outdoors on a high ridge overlooking the coast about one thousand feet above the ocean. At night guests would gather early for drinks and take selfies framed by the setting sun. The wine and cheese tasting before dinner was a very nice event. Finally, our massages were fantastic. My wife says that it was the best massage that she ever had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Very nice, loved the breakfast and free shuttle

Posted Feb 6, 2015
My husband and I enjoyed everything about the inn. The grounds were well maintained and so peaceful. The staff was helpful and present. I would love to see fresh milk offered with morning coffee in the main lodge next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom fwi

amazing place

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Clean, cosi, amazing property, great spot, nice service
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

most expensive does not equal best

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: The tree-lined ocean setting of Big Sur is incredible.
Cons: The value could be improved. Sound-proof your floors and ceilings. Fix your internet connection. Don't nickle and dime every last thing.
Location: This is Big Sur. Hiking and ocean views for scenery. The Ventana Restaurant has a GREAT lunch but their dinner just passable.
We went on a road trip and experienced 8 hotels/inns in 8 days. This one was 5 times more expensive than the rest and yet was probably one of our least favorite places to stay. The inn staff were incredibly nice. Let's just start there. Extremely helpful and always offering to drive us around on the property in golf carts to get us where we needed to go. If the rating was based completely on that, ventana would easily get a 5 from me. The rooms however, while staged well, immediately start to lose their appeal when you can hear what everyone is doing all around you. Our first 2 hours in the inn were spent trying to take a nap to relax from the drive while attempting to drown out the sound of the guests above us "doing their business" together. I don't know about other people but it sorta takes the romance out of things when your inn feels more like a swinger's motel in vegas. For those of you expecting to check e-mails or catch up on work for half an hour or so while you're relaxing, I can tell you that the free internet is completely unusable. I realize that this is Big Sur, the outdoors and all, but Post has excellent internet so I know it's possible. In summary, this inn is WAY overpriced for what it offers and I feel ridiculous for trying something new when I could have impressed my wife with a room at Post instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2015
An absolutely unforgettable few days. From the staff, to the room, to the baths and sauna, to the complimentary breakfast and wine and cheese hour ... my wife and I are already trying to figure out a way to get back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Strawberry Hill

Stunning hotel, fantastic location and marvellous

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: It is unique experience, totally tranquil and relaxing
Cons: It is expensive
Location: beautiful beaches, great hiking country.
Just been to Ventana for second time. It is a beautiful experience and wish we could have stayed longer than one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Soquel, CA

Spectacular!!!!!

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Privacy, comfort of rooms, beautiful property, walking trails, staff, views, quiet
Location: Some of the most gorgeous coastline in the world!
We needed a getaway from everything! Stayed for 2 nights. Very relaxing, beautiful, and private. Enjoyed walking the trails. Rarely saw other people. The room were more than comfortable and views were spectacular. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver, bc

Peaceful, beautiful.

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Beautiful location with easy access to great hiking, restaurants at Big Sur. Wonderful bird life and deer grazing around the property. Loved the path and walk to the restaurant, beautifully lit at night. Great staff. Drive to dinner at other nearby restaurants was a great service. Very comfortable rooms, good bed and bedding, very nice wood burning fireplace and easy setting 'good wood' . Would have liked more yoga options and the library was cold for the morning classes! The breakfast and out door dining was superb, amazing vista, condors flying by. Would have loved more dinner options. The tasting menu was too fussy and the a la carte prices were silly. Nearby dining at the Roadhouse and Deetjens was excellent We would go back. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

BIG SUR

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location and all adults.
My wife keeps telling me it is the most relaxed she has been in recent memory. We travel a lot and stay in mostly 5 star hotels and resorts, so for her to be happy is not easy. It is also the first time we have rated anything because it takes too much time. We plan on putting the Ventana on our repeat list.