Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco Ca

Quiet comfortable place.

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Spa services were just OK. I don't recommend Julie fora massage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Amazing place , loved our stay and service

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Great service The rooms are overlooking the woods and mountains Great restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Resort among the redwoods

Posted Jun 10, 2015
The location among large trees and colorful rhododendrons makes the place magical. The cottages are spaced and private, some of them have hammocks on the deck, and hot tubs in the rooms. The spa is small but more than adequate, with very talented therapists The atmosphere is friendly, peaceful and laid back. Children are not invited. We were there in June, and found that from our ocean view room the only thing we could see was fog and clouds, which we found beautiful nonetheless. It was quite cold, so take warm clothes if you go in June. And good walking shoes. The distances are relatively large and on occasion on steep terrain. The walk to the restaurant takes about ten minutes, on a very scenic path. The hotel offers golf cart service for those who prefer not to walk. We spent three days at the inn, but would gladly have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2015
It was a great stay, can't complain..the food at the ventana restaurant is not the best but it's not bad eithier
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great weekend trip

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Location, property and beautiful rooms
Cons: Continental breakfast could have more selection.
Awesome first experience at Big Sur staying at Ventana Inn. Beautiful grounds and wonderful accommodations made it feel like we were alone in a fantasy forest. The trail from the cabin to the restaurant was a path to serenity. Everything centers you at big sur. This is the reason to come. "Glamping" at its finest 😊.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ottawa, canada

Ultimate in relaxation

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Location: Very central to many of the highlights of Big Sur.
After busy stays in Napa and SF, we needed some downtime and Ventana more than fit the bill. After a day exploring Big Sur, it's the perfect spot to wind down. Check-in was efficient, with complimentary wine. Our bags had already been loaded from our car onto a golf cart and we were promptly shuttled to our room. Room was clean and spacious with lovely views of the forested property. We started our day with the included continental breakfast. We sat on the outside terrace overlooking the Pacific and the Highlands. Unexpected and stunning! The food was simple but good. Next was a guided walk through the property and later a trip to the fitness centre and a swim. The pools are open until 2am. There is a wine and cheese reception at 4pm each day. Comfortable chairs, fire pit and a water feature all make for a peaceful setting. The entire property is geared for relaxation and quiet. No cell phone use allowed in public areas (except for taking pictures). No children. Robes and slippers are provided and can be worn everywhere except the restaurant. We had dinner off the property and Ventana provided a shuttle service there and back, so we didn't have to worry about drinking and driving. At night, we had a sauna and swim, then sat near the fire pit and gazed at the stars. My husband even had a nap - it's that kind of place. We didn't get to use the spa facilities, which just means we'll have to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Absolutely perfect

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Beautiful scenery. Amazing hotel. Extremely helpful staff. We only stayed at Ventana for one night, but it was an incredible experience. I have not one single complaint about my stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Service excellent even down to the shuttle

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Location: Deetjens Restaurant is a must, great food in a most unique atmosphere
Our thrid or fourth visit and the best! The restaurant chef is now worthy of the destinction of being a chef, the hotel staff were omnipresent with service in style and the renovation of the rooms make them more pleasing than ever before. the shuttle servce is an excellent addition and the shuttel is johnny on the spot when needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Philadelphia

Yes Sur

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
Service and staff was exceptional. We only stayed for a night on our drive down the coast but they upgraded us to a room with a hot tub and even provided a shuttle across the street to have dinner at Sierra Mar at the Post Ranch Inn. Breakfast overlooking the ocean was beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
Just absolutely gorgeous, and it was nice to wake up to a complementary yoga class and breakfast with a view. The room is as beautiful as they come, with such a nice shower and bathtub and great toiletries. Will be back!