Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Beautiful hotel...excellent location.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Wonderful service, fantastic room, wonderful hiking path on the property
wish I'd had more time to spend there! could have stayed for a week and still found areas to explore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Big Sur at its best!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
I recently attended a wedding at Ventana. It was such a special occasion, made even more so by the location. Would love to have a reason to return...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Billfrom Albuquerque

Glad we stayed here and not Post Inn.

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great - really enjoyed the extras like wine and cheese, guided hike around the grounds, beginning yoga, tai chi intro, and the pleasant walk to the restaurant for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Amazing place View is spectacular The spa is great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Roger Tiltonfrom Washington dc

a nice place to visit but...

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's a lovely hotel in a beautiful area but the room was dark and depressing. It's far too expensive to stay in a depressing room just so you can catch a glimpse of the beautiful ocean and coast. It will not be on my list for a return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Rustic luxury

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Relax and enjoy the resort. Make time to visit the nearby restaurants.
I enjoyed everything about this resort - my spacious room, the gorgeous pool and the quality food. The staff was very friendly and their shuttle service was much appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Templeton, CA

Excellent hotel in a beautiful location

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Rooms, grounds, activities. Spa massage was a bit expensive but excellent.
Cons: Dinner main courses were poor. Service was good, venue was great. Food presentation was very good. BUT, the main courses sucked.
Location: At the Inn, pools, spa, walks, exercise room, library, cheese & wine. Nearby are great walks, beaches, parks, and a lighthouse tour.
Nearly everything about the Ventana Inn And Spa was perfect. The rooms were very comfortable with a nice view. The Inn grounds were beautiful. There were two great pools, a Japanese bathing pool an exercise room and a library. Hammocks were here and there around the grounds. At 4 pm daily there was a free cheese-wine event. Cheeses were good, the wine was only fair (there are many great wines made nearby they could have done better). Bring your own wine! Breakfasts were great. The Continental buffet was well stocked with fresh fruit, muffins and cakes, and two egg choices. Oatmeal was also available. All good. Dinner was a disappointment. The menu and food looked great but the execution was awful. Hot courses were barely warm. The deserts were excellent. This was even more of a surprise because we ate there maybe 2 years ago and the dinner was the best we had ever had. Maybe no master chef overseeing the cooks? Sad.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Bill McIntirefrom San Diego

Significantly overpriced

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was well furnished, comfortable and quiet. The staff was helpful and professional. However, the price for one night was at least double what it should be for the value. Our view was of brown grass, a tree line and water in the distance at about 2 miles. A few perks are included but hardly justify $1000/night. Our one experience would also lead us to recommend avoiding the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Wonderful hotel, the place is beautiful. I'll be back for sure