Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MO

Very Satisfied

Posted Aug 5, 2014
We had to book a hotel at the last minute for our vacation due to double booking of our condo. We were very leary of an unknown motel in a small town, but we were pleasantly pleased with the cleanliness and atmosphere of this motel. The price was right, continental breakfast included, and we were comfortable. Not to mention it was so close to the hiking, rafting, hot springs, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Wonderful place - spotless! Fantastic Staff!!!

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Clean, roomside parking - FANTASTIC staff!
Cons: Get fluffy (fluffier) mattress pads.
Location: It's Salida - what isn't there to do nearby? We rode the tram at Monarch Pass and it was a blast!
This was a great deal in a very expensive vacation location. The staff was super and everything was just perfect except the bed. The mattress pad was very thin and you could actually feel the stitching on the mattress. I am spoiled with a foam/gel pad at home though... I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. I lost my watch on the trip and they found it when cleaning the room and mailed it back to me immediately! How's that for great service? Friendly, smart and courteous gals running the desk. New chain owns it and it's just getting better!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

Overpriced and dirty

Posted Jul 29, 2014
I stayed here last weekend after a day on the trails. I will never return. At first the issues were minor and I was willing to over look them. The toilet was difficult to get to flush, the bedside lamp was broken, bad television reception. All minor issues. But with closer inspection I found white stains on the comforter and chairs, toothpaste dried on the carpet, the ac unit sprays ice out if left on for a couple of hours. The staff came to the room after I complained and tried to resolve the issues, they replaced the comforter and cleaned the toothpaste but after so many offenses its hard to overlook the poor housekeeping and overall quality. Maybe if more would have been done to resolve our issue I would consider a return (I do frequent the salida area), after this experience there is no chance of that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Denver, CO

clean and afordable

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: better breakfast
room ready and a free upgrade. who could ask for more?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Troutmann from Broomfield

A good motel for the money in Salida.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Will nearly full, they were happy to have my business. The room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: At that price point...I can't think of anything.
Location: One of the closest hotels to the mouth of Bighorn Canyon and great gold medal fishing on the Arkansas River.
I had a very pleasant, short stay. The room was clean and quiet enough for a good night sleep. While not new, the hard and soft goods were in good condition. The front desk person was genuine and made me feel welcome as if it were her own property (which perhaps it was). With many choices available in Salida, this is the sort of thing that makes the difference to me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by traveling mom from Colorado Springs, Colorado

Good budget hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2014
This is a basic, low-cost hotel with no luxuries. If you are looking for a room without frills, this will do. Beds were as comfortable as other hotels in the area that cost more and the rooms are clean. The biggest problem with this hotel is the fact that it does not have interior rooms with a lobby area. I get up significantly earlier than the rest of my family, and there was nowhere for me to go with comfortable seating to sit and read without disturbing them. Also, the breakfast area is poorly laid out for traffic flow and has no hot items. Finally, the hotel receptionist is also the breakfast bar attendant, so some items ran out while she was busy. Overall though, for the price, a decent place to spend the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from Colorado Springs

Nice, affordable hotel close to town and ski resor

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and decent breakfast
Cons: larger bathrooms
Location: go to town (Salida) to shop and go to art galleries. Skiing at Monarch resort
This is an inexpensive hotel that is a great buy for the money. It has a hot tub (a gazebo enclosure outside in the center of the parking lot). All outside doors and 2 levels. Rooms also have microwave and frig and hairdryer. Beds are comfortable (not 5 star luxury but nice for the cost) and there is a decent cold breakfast; waffles, yogurt, HB eggs). You could walk to town but it is a fair hike and most people walked,. Lots of skiers (February).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for a quick weekend...

Posted Nov 27, 2013
Staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast offered a wide variety. Great location. The only negative was the room was very small and no do not disturb signs available. Very cute decor in the check in area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bernard from Guam

2 day stay at Gateway Inn

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: lots of parking ..friendly and helpful staff .
Cons: the phone audio volume .
Location: the Inn's location was perfect as it is right at the entrance to Salida.
our stay at Gateway Inn was enjoyable & pleasing...Anna the receptionst was very helpful in recommending places to eat & even loan us the restaurants menu's. The self serve breadfast was also nice.. The only minor issues was the room door that was very hard to unlock with the card key (later corrected) & the phone audio that was barely audible . other than those 2 issues...I will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Denv. Colorado

happy to stay here

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: Cost Very affordable
Cons: The only thing i could suggst wood be bigger bars of soap.
Location: Too much for me to go into . I like fishing nad hiking.
Have beenstying here for about 5 years. seems to be improving very year. I feel it is a goog value for for the price. Will defineitley be be back. satisfied plus. PF