Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Neil from Australia

Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
There was no soap in the room,Only tea was Rooibosch No Milk supplied.,No drinking glasses,the shower had mould on the ceiling and in in the tile grout.This was a pitty as it was a great place in the early days but has been let to deteriorate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Brian and Jeani from Pennsylvania, USA

Val d'Or Estate - stunning views and setting

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I made a spur-of-the-moment decision to visit Franschoek on the way to what was supposed to be a 2-day visit to Stellenbosch. By lunch time in Franschoek we were so enamored with the little town we decided to spend the night and go the Stellenbosch the following day. I looked on TripAdvisor for last minute lodging while we were having lunch, and stumbled on a fantastically inexpensive deal at Val D'or Estate. Because it was so inexpensive, my expectations were pretty low. But we ended up being very pleased with the estate, the accommodations, the service, and most of all the scenery and view! We would absolutely come back again. Only minor complaints: there was a bit of an ant problem in the bathroom, but it didn't really affect us or bother us, just something we noticed near the window. And the breakfast was rather average (but it was "free", and the view from the breakfast table more than compensated). One really nice bonus was that an EXTREMELY nice local restaurant, Roca, provides free car service to and from Val D'or for dinner. If you stay at Val D'or (or visit Franschoek at all) you MUST have dinner at Roca! We never did make it to Stellenbosch :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

wine and sight seeing

Posted Sep 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
Everything was perfect! I plan to return with my husband soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alan B

Top Class Accomodation

Posted May 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
Fab views from the balcony and attentive staff made this our best stopover location. Close to town for excellent food choices too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Surrey, UK

Our trip of 2012

Posted May 9, 2012
Pros: The view
Cons: The receptionist
Location: Location could not be faulted one of the best locations we went to in SA
The setting and facilities were excellent. Breakfast perfect. Friendliness of reception staff very disappointing
3 out of 5
by Pedro from UK

Not the best for franschhoek

Posted Apr 14, 2012
Pros: Beautiful setting
Cons: Bad sound proofing, far from the town, breakfast, service and luxuriousness not quite up to most South African standards
Location: Beautiful but means you are car reliant (especially at night)
Despite being 4 stars the hotel does not match the luxuriousness of most south African hotels at the grade. Beautiful setting, but you will need to drive for your evening meal which ruins part of visiting the winelands. Additionally, rooms are not well sound-proofed. We could hear conversations from happening in the reception and bar word-for-word and even hear the pan pipe music from the lounge area. The hotel is ok, but there are much better for this price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, UK

Posted Apr 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Val d'Or Estate in Franschhoek is a lovely and very comfortable B&B in Fr. Valley. Its attractions are severalfold: set back from the road means its very peaceful; the bedrooms + all 'living' areas are beautifully appointed - bedspreads, curtains, ample sitting / living rooms with armchairs, pictures and decorative articles; fully equipped kitchen (for those who wish to do self-catering); beautiful gardens and a good size swimming pool; pleasant breakfast room with lovely furniture, where a good and tasty breakfast is served (albeit seemingly without much variation) Staff polite and accommodating, although, occasionally, requests need to be repeated On the whole - a very pleasant stay indeed
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from usa

vald'or

Posted Apr 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
guest house was beautiful. we had 2 out of 4 rooms in manor house and were there for a wedding in other hotel. One room smelled moldy which tends to be common in SA. The other room's bed crashed to the floor in the middle of the night which gave us lots of laughs the following morning. We had no time to get the mgr but I am 100% sure that had we, they would have changed our room and made it right. I would recommend the hotel. Did not have breakfast there but it looked lovely.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't be fooled by the website!

Posted Feb 15, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Everything
Location: Super location but that is its only asset at the moment
The whole place is in dire need of a refurb. Potential very good because of location. Dirt track road was not good. Staff pleasant, breakfast was better than expectation. Sadly the Manor House really is not good and potentially this is the worst accommodation we have eve stayed at here in South Africa. We were bitterly disappointed and checked out early. Fortunately, the management were accepting of this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sudhir from Wellington, NZ

Great wineyard

Posted Jan 11, 2012
Cons: No Internet access in room, though that is not a bad thing in a place that you are supposed to forget about work life.....
great place, and excellent choice of rooms. Great grounds, book choice.