Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rocky Mount, NC

Noisy hotel !

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Nothing...dissatisfied !!
Cons: All the things listed above!
Location: Casino and shopping.
1. Was given a room on first floor. First night there were dogs on both sides whining and barking throughout the night. At 12:00 was awaken to loud laughing and talking in the lobby. Called front desk to report it and could hear it loudly through the phone so I knew it was close to the desk. Second day, I talked to the clerk and told them of the problem. She said they were booked and that the first floor was for pets. The second night was worse than the first with louder pets and loud traffic in the hallway. 2. Extremely cold floors !! The door to the bathroom would not close due to the top of door was bowed out at the hinge. The shower pressure was terrible. The tub was slow to drain...stood in over ankle deep water while showering. Commode lid was made of thin cheap plastic and almost would throw you off if you leaned to one side or the other. Paper thin walls ; could hear every movement that was made by guests on both sides. When I pay $ 127.00 plus tax per night for a room, I expect it to be top notch and a quality stay!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Very Nasty

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The staff were nice.
Cons: Clean the place from top to bottom... Fix the door locks!
Location: Casino
The Microtel in Cherokee was very disappointing. We booked the hotel for 4 guys that wanted to have a nice night at the casino, we didn't expect the hotel to be anything luxurious, we just wanted clean. Well first when we got to the hotel after checking in we could get our room keys to work. I went down to the lobby and they gave me a new key, tried it and didn't work. Went down again, got new key, tried it and it didn't work. then for the third time i went back down to the lobby and they said we will have to replace the door lock and that they will fix it while we were at the casino. We said that would be fine and finally went into our room. The place looked disgusting, tv was hung crooked, the mat by the window looked like it had been stabbed, and the sheets had hair and crumbs all in them. So when we left to the casino we told them to please give us clean sheets. Well as soon as we got back at 4AM from the casino, the doors had not been fixed... at least the sheets were changed and were finally somewhat clean. What a disappointment....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Pleasant experience

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Comfortable, clean, Pet friendly room. Courteous, helpful staff. Good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greenville SC

Great night stay

Posted Feb 4, 2015
We arrived and Vince at the front desk told us about the newly renovated pet rooms. When we went into the room no odors and I our amazement he was right. Huge beds clean room nothing negative I can say about our stay. We have a english bulldog and at the window there was a place where he stayed because there was a cushion bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cigarette smoke

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: location, staff were ok
Cons: correct smoke smell
Location: Cherokee - NC Harrah's Casino Indian Museum Mingo Falls
We were on first floor and the room reeked of cigarette smoke even though we were in a smoke free room. The baseboards were not installed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tennessee

Nice moderate hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: New beds. Convenient to Casino with afternoon/evening shuttle. Friendly staff.
Cons: Needs an entertainment/TV upgrade. Breakfast could expand slightly to include a meat and/or egg option.
Good moderate hotel option in Cherokee. Renovating, so it should improve even more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Nice hotel in the heart of Cherokee

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Cons: Place was undergoing renovation at the time we stayed there
Location: close to everything we wanted to do be it nearby blue ridge parkway, smoky mountains, horse back riding and next door grocery store should we need any
My wife had been to this hotel in previous years and felt location was ideal. Cherokee if fairly laid back as is. The hotel is no different. While it may not be as upscale as nearby casino hotel it certainly was comfortable. The place was undergoing renovation on some floors and room expedia booked was not the right one. However the hotel staff was very accommodating and upgraded our room for no extra charge. The staff was very friendly throughout and entertained all requests for extra linens, cutlery for the room etc. The room overall was clean, spacious, bathrooms also very clean and usable. Cant say I have any real complaints about the accommodations especially for the price considering central location close to everything we wanted to do be it nearby blue ridge parkway, smoky mountains, horse back riding and next door grocery store should we need any every day amenities during our stay. Also in house ATM with very reasonable 2$ fee regardless of bank. Overall fairly pleased with the whole experience considering the price we paid for it. Good bargain overall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly and was pet friendly which was very important to me.
Cons: Clean it up
There was mold in the ceiling above the shower, tub drained slow. Housekeeping did not clean tub or vacccum the second day we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by dominiquefrom atlanta

too expensive

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
just definitely not worth 139.00