Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Definitely a one star hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Though it was probably clean, it looked dirty. The mirror was too high for my friend to see in. The mattress was a king size, but was clearly divided into two large indentations on either side where people sleep with a big hump in the middle. It was so lumpy you could see it just by looking at it with the blankets on. The bed frame literally came apart in two pieces. The soap and shampoo dispenser were empty. Worst of all, the steps leading up to it were incredibly steep, yet there was only a rope tied to the wall as a hand rail! On top of that, the light was out so you need a flashlight to find the keyhole (if you didn't die on the steps). The guy that checked us in was pleasant, but the one that showed us to our room didn't smile or say anything and he flicked his cigarette ash on my shoe! Positives: it felt secure, facilities functioned, it was fairly close to the train station and the marina.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location good

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: As above
Accommodation located away from main hotel. Once we were shown our room our service stopped. There was no Wifi as advertised. Kitchen poorly provisioned. Trying to get fresh towels was very difficult, in fact staff had no idea where we were staying to deliver them. Apart from the location, this was a very disappointing experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything, good price, nothing fancy.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
The location is great, the breakfast was good, but the room was just alright. A little musty, however there is so much to do you will barely be in your room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Cinque terra hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location but keep in mind that apartment locations vary and the address provided is of the office. Our apt was in riomaggiore right in the town center -- as a result very loud, right above a bar. Apt was pretty bare bones, no ac or any appliances, 2 towels were provided, no toiletries. The entire apt smelled damp but this seems pretty typical of places in the area. Overall, good value for the budget traveller but not luxurious by any means.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Apartment Style Room

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Cons: Wi-Fi in the apartments
I stayed in one of the apartment style rooms at Locanda Dalla Compagnia in Riomaggiore. I honestly don't know why people have given this place bad reviews because my stay was fantastic. The price was very reasonable and everything we could ask for was provided. If you are looking to stay in Riomaggiore, I'd highly recommend staying here and reserving one of the Standard Apartments.
2 out of 5
by Retiree from Texas

Riomaggiore Hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Bath was larger than normal and good.
Cons: Customer service - how the owner/proprietor talks to customers.
Location: Central city but at top of the hill.
Upon arrival realized our party (three couples) were not together but were in different locations over town. Proprietors had very poor customer service.
1 out of 5
by Bill from Texas

Poor management all around.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Honesty in advertising and courtesy on the part of management.
Location: A boat ride to see the five villages is worthwhile. Otherwise, just a glass of wine while enjoying the view.
The Expedia description did not make clear that the rooms we were to occupy were not in the hotel itself, but were small, poorly appointed, apartments away from the main building, and were extremely difficult to access. Because of this remoteness of the rooms, we needed a little extra time to transfer baggage prior to checkout, and the owner was not only unhelpful, he was rude and abusive. This would be the last place I would recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dr65 from Melbourne, Australia

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
On main drag of Riomaggiore, about a 10 min walk from the station, all uphill. At least no stairs. I stayed in an apartment which is situated a few minutes back down the hill. Apartment was clean and comfortable, but a bit spartan. No TV, no WiFI. In order to get WiFi, you had to go back up the hill and sit in reception, which was open very limited hours. Kitchen was nice. Only provided salt, no auger etc and only 1 potfor cooking, no strainer etc. As only a couple of small expensive co-ops in town, would not recommend to get an apartment and self cater. Phone lines were down and cash payment demanded up front. There is 2 ATMs in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good sea views and proximity

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: It's location, size, cleanliness.
Cons: As above.
Location: Cinque Terre activities.
We arrived early for check-in, so were shown this little apartment right down by the water, up a floor. It was a great place in general, particularly for location. The owner was nice. She showed us around the place and left us to it. The unfortunate things was we had difficulty opening the door that night, and had difficulty knowing how to get this rectified. The place where we checked in was unattended, their phone was not working, and we didn't know how to get hold of the owner of our apartment. We suggest that the owner explain clearly (in English perhaps) on check-in what to do if the door won't open.