Ratings based on 488 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, ON

Staff, where were you?

Posted Aug 12, 2014
When we first arrived there was no staff to be seen for at least 5 minutes. I had to search for someone and when I finally found one, I had to wait for her to finish her chit chat before being served. It also wasn't clear when the free breakfast was going to be served and the time. You had the look for answers. Other than that, I would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room smells very badly.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The room is big. The restroom is clean. The view of the river is good.
Location: Take a walk along the river.
The hotel room has a very strong odor due to unknown reason. The sheets might have been used before and left in the room for the new guests. The room is big. The restroom is clean. The view of the river is good. Because of that strong odor, the overall stay is unpleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Seems like it will be a good hotel when neighborhood is upgraded and staff is on board with hotel intentions. Serving the public should be their inten
Cons: Staff needs to get on board with what their job is. Organization is necessary. this form cuts you off limiting writing.
Location: River huge attraction. If shuttle were used to advantage, it would help greatly. Ballgames and concerts available. Great potential with the access to
Guy making reservations not knowledgeable of the hotel and it's location. He thought we were trying to book Austin Texas when we were going to Detroit. Staff not interested in people. That is the business. The room was nice but curtains not totally hooked on rod and didn't close all the way. Room was on main floor and close to the front door. That was good. Ice was hard to find and very remote. Had sandwich in restaurant at hotel and it was good. Some confusion about the shuttle to our venue. The shuttle took us to about 4 blocks from the site we were going to. Had to walk. No shuttle at end of game we went to. We had to walk 5 blocks and finally caught a cab. Cabbie didn't know the hotel. Breakfast was a muffin=out of juice and lacking in coffee. Could have been better by far. Staff doesn't seem interested in the public.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: I like the old time 50's feel and the location.
Cons: maybe a few more modern things.
Location: I stayed because I went to chene park .
The hotel has a boardwalk empire feel. Staff was friendly and very helpful, but if your looking for a modern hotel it's not but it is a nice hotel with a great view and location for the riverwalk. I have stayed here twice and enjoyed my stay each time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Not what I expected

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Serious remodeling updates.
I booked this hotel based on few different factors. First I need it right away. Second based on the customer rating of 3.5 I was hoping that it will be fairly descent. Third was the location relatively close to the job site we were working. First I have to admit that it was relatively clean. However everything was very old and worn out. The air in the room when we walked in had that smell of still air. Seemed like there hasn't been air circulation for a while. While I didn't care so much about the tv the other person with me found operating the remote control to be real hassle from the perspective of inresponsive buttons. There was uneven paint at the closet door which I found very ugly. There was no iron nor fridge. I wouldn't be complaining about the appearance as much but considering I paid $172 per night that was unacceptable. I have stayed in under $100 hotels that looked and felt many times better than this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David

Nice location, clean

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Location, comfort
Cons: Decor was awful when it was new. Now it's getting a little threadbare. TVs blasting all the time in the lobby and restaurant.
Location: Riverwalk is truly enjoyable. Short hop to City Center restaurants, etc.
Clean, comfortable rooms. Staff is helpful. Decor is clean but dated. Needs redesign and redecoration. Terrible restaurant. Excellent location on the river with views to Belle Isle and Canada. Ask for a riverfront room. Riverwalk is a new, fun, safe attraction. Good restaurants in immediate area. Almost walking distance to Renaissance Center and Downtown.
1 out of 5
by Tim from Michigan

Very disappointing

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: The location. Period.
Lights in my room not working. No clock in the room. No coffee cups. Continental breakfast was frozen mini muffins--again no cups for the coffee. Bar and restaurant were closed "for construction" with no advance warning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Traveling Couple from Michigan

Hotel by the river

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall, our experience was mediocre. The room was great, lots of light, very large, clean, and quiet enough, despite being between the ice machine and stairwell. It's a great location, right by the river (but it was a little difficult to find the entrance, so have a map handy). The parking was insufficient, and we had to park on the grass due to an event at the hotel. We felt the service was unprofessional at times... the checkin was slow, and the cleaning staff tried to enter our room multiple times on checkout day when we were in the room getting ready--starting before 9am. It's an OK place to stay if you're looking for a comfortable room with a river view.