Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Stillwater, MN

Nothing special about this hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: It was convenient for our event in Superior.
The room was fine and the staff was friendly. Over priced for the accommodations. Breakfast was the normal fair not what we expected based on other reviews.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

GHETTOUT

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: It allows Pets.
Cons: Everything
The staff was rude and the partying of the entire place was a bit too much. I had to hear screaming, shouting, fighting and other things, from my neighboring rooms as well as screaming from my wife and baby from all the noise. I will never return to this dump again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Saint Paul, MN

Pleasant surprise

Posted Oct 26, 2014
We wanted to stay in Canal Park but all rooms were booked. For the price (we stayed for 2 nights for the price of 1 at another hotel) and closeness to Duluth we were pleasantly surprised. All the staff we interacted with were friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was better than some more expensive hotels. The hotel and our room were clean. The convenience of being so close to the bridge meant Duluth was about 5 minutes away. Superior (the city) is larger than we thought so it was fun to explore. There are lots of family activities such as beaches and a lighthouse and museums and mini-golf. We would difinately stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Thunder Bay

Still some renos left to do

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Checked in the afternoon, workmen making a lot of noise, but stopped at 5. Like the pool update, breakfast room feels cramped, prefer to sit by the pool. This is our favourite hotel in the Duluth area, great to see the updates!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Thunder Bay, Ontario

stayed for wedding anniversary

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions as it is very easy to reach and central to everything Duluth has to offer.
Location: Easy access to Zoo, Aquarium, Vista Cruises and exploring South Shore of Lake Superior
We were very cordially welcomed and the staff were very friendly and attentive. On our anniversary there was a bottle of champagne and a box of Lindor chocolates delivered to our room. This was a very thoughtful gesture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Comfortable Hotel Under Renovation

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, good food, nearness to highway and comfortable beds.
Cons: Really small bathroom.
Location: Easy access to the highway.
The hotel was clean. It was being renovated when we stayed there. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. We would stay there again. It will be really nice after the renovations are completed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2014
a very pleasant one night stay- staff was pleasant and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Lake Superior

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: location
Location: Close to Duluth and Pattison State park in WI.
Nice hotel close to Lake Superior. Hotel provided hot and cold breakfast. Rooms were quite, and clean, did not have any problems with noise from other quests. Beds were comfortable .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Decent hotel, good for a family

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed, clean.
Cons: Parking lot condition and entry-ways.
We booked late due to a family death and this was one of the few that had vacancies. The price was fair. We had a suite (which we didn't need but it was nice). Even though the pool was right outside our room and had lots of activity, the noise didn't cause problems. The parking lot was kind of rough-looking. We were advised to come in a side door which was right by the laundry area and kind of dingy. The door was always propped open with a wet towel. One night we came back after midnight, and it was still propped open, even though it said a room key was needed for admittance. I closed it. Next day, it was propped again. The breakfast was generous--actual cooked oatmeal with toppings, scrambled eggs and sausage, plus all the usuals. Good coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom thunder bay

Not going back.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The staff, the breakfast and the cleanliness
Cons: They have to find a way to get rid of those smells
We knew this hotel was older but it was all that was available at the time. Although the staff was friendly, the breakfast was good and our room was super clean it was impossible to get away from the smell of mould and mildew. There was none visible but the smell was so bad we actually checked out a day early. We really believe the hotel is doing everything it can to really put its best foot forward but we have to wonder if it's even possible to get these smells out of older gyprock and wood.