Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Day Traveler from P

Downtown about 1.75mi from UO

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Very quaint little motel, but a well kept place. Rooms were recently remodeled with new tv's, fridges and microwaves. Bathrooms were very nice. Within walking distance of a Five Guys and a 10min walk from the heart of downtown. Right off Highway 105 into Eugene.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emily from Olympia, WA

Cleaner than expected

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Clean features, central location, near the best university and football team ever
Cons: Better heat controls, hair removal
Location: University of Oregon sports, campus exploration, delicious food
The hotel was cleaner than expected, with seemingly newer bathroom features. It has easy access to the highway and it's a straight shot to campus, though maybe not ideal for walking. Given the freeway access, the room was quieter than expected, though we were not in a room up against the road. Given the price range, the only negatives that I can give were 1) there was a long dark hair when I pulled the sheets back (though the sheets looked freshly laundered), and 2) the heater/AC in the room was very powerful given the size of the room and would heat up or cool down very quickly. It was nice to heat up quickly, but it was either too hot or too cold at night. We tried numerous settings, and it seemed like the fan just blew too hard, regardless of the fan and temp settings.
3 out of 5
by Joyce from Austin, TX

location is great, but doesn't feel safe

Posted Aug 15, 2013
location of this motel is great. within walking distance to Downtown Eugene. That's the only good thing about this motel. The front desk staff are not in their office most of the time and you have to ring a bell and wait for several minutes for them to open the locked door of their office. Wall is thin and I can hear noise/sound from the next door clearly. Bed sheet is not clean at all. All rooms are on the ground floor. Because the front desk staff are never in their office and there is no gate or any security measure, I don't feel safe at night. I've traveled frequently and stayed at a lot of affordable motels/hostels in the past. Honestly, this is the first time I ever felt unsafe in a motel. I wouldn't recommend this place if you travel alone and safety is important to you. Only provide coffee in the morning. No breakfast. In my opinion, this place is overpriced for what it offers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth it

Posted Apr 29, 2013
Pros: Free wi-fi and breakfast. Close proximity to everything.
Location: Close to everything. The Downtown Motel is named correctly. It's downtown and easy access to many things.
I stayed here for the Eugene marathon (2013). It was within walking distance to the Expo and the bus shuttles. Also within several places for food and Starbucks. The room was clean and very comfortable. They allowed us a late checkout after the marathon. Parking was included so no need to find parking for the marathon. Easy access to the highways which are just a block away. Within minutes of everything by car and walking distance. I have stayed in nicer hotels, but this was great for the price and clean. Within minutes from running trails. I will stay here again if I do the marathon again.
1 out of 5
by Kendra from California

Downtown dump

Posted Apr 28, 2013
Pros: Nice owners
Cons: All of the above
Location: Downtown Eugene, Oregon 1-1/2 miles from U. of Oregon
No coffee in room, bad bed, crummy blankets, not much in the "continental breakfast," no decaf coffee, dicey area of town (tattoo parlors, etc.). $94 for this. Primitive old 60's motel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jake from Portland International Airport (PDX), 7000 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97218, USA

Good for the money

Posted Feb 19, 2013
Pros: price
Cons: age
Location: Good deal for the money
For the money, this is a clean, quiet hotel with comfortable beds and plenty of hot water. The exterior looks dated if not somewhat dilapidated; thus, it was a nice surprise to see an updated room interior with a large flat screen television and contemporary furnishings. The staff was friendly and accommodated a later check out time for me without any friction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ldub from Butte Falls OR

great location at reasonable price.

Posted Oct 8, 2012
Pros: Location and price
Cons: None
Location: Near Hult Center. 5 minute drive to U of O.
Conveniently located. Clean. Great price for location. I stay there whenever in Eugene.
1 out of 5
by kbarnawi from Eugene, OR, USA

baad

Posted Jun 23, 2012
baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad no rekmond I'm not giving it 5 stars because Downtown Motel didn't change anything for the users
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Standard reasonable motel accommodation

Posted Jul 22, 2011
Pretty good value within walking distance to centre of town. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic cereal and prepackaged muffins. Orange juice was only available on the first day for some reason and fruit did not seem to be replenshed or perhaps I was too late and it was all taken. Nice bathroom, large bedroom and cable TV. Wireless internet was okay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Good Location, poor motel.

Posted May 10, 2011
I rented here because I was participating in the Eugene marathon and it was close to the shuttle at the Hilton. That’s where the good ends. The room smelled faintly of smoke. The floor had stains all over it. The counter in the bathroom was coming off the wall. Poor maintenance, Poor cleanliness. Rent only if you need to be downtown and you are not going to spending much time in your room.