Ratings based on 378 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great pools and Beach

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The staff was very nice and helpful
This hotel stay was a great way to end our vacation in Costa Rica. The hotel it self is older, but the staff works around the clock to keep it clean! We had no issues at all, the staff was very friendly and always willing to help. The beach is a bit rocky but once you get yourself a few feet in it is nice soft sand. We did see bees around the bar pool area but it was not an issue we order our drinks and went to the other side of the pool area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Get out of Dodge

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Food, room
Cons: The week-ends and cash only for shuttles.
Location: Went on the Nicaurga trip; very long but very educational. Tony our guide was wonderful and the two volcanos we visited were breath-taking.
Great food, beautiful landscape and very good service. My suggestion to you: Plan your trip mid-week and your excursions on the weekends as the hotel gives a very discounted price to the locals and the amount of people will double as was the case when we were there just last weekend. The pool goes from very relaxing to can't get in the water on the week-ends. We were told by one staff member that they allow 4-5 people in a room. I wouldn't really have a problem with this if the perks we were getting during the week continued on the weekend but they don't. There was no bar on the beach, no speacilty drink areas in the lobby and no waiters that came to us on the beech or at the pool during the week-end. We were confused at first until we fiqured it was because of the locals being there and the hotel not wanted to extend them the same perks. Like I said before this wouldn't have been a problem and if fact I like the idea but not at the expense of my services being effected that I pay full price for. Unfortunately because of this we will certainly think twice before going back to this hotel; love the area but will really go over the reviews as we have never experienced this before at any other all-inclusive that we have been to. One other thing: buy your tax to leave the country while at the hotel (32/person and you can charge it) as the line for this tax at the airport was very long.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Average all inclusive

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Very clean
Cons: Check in, internet service, day and night entertainment, kids activities, food in ala carte restaurants and SERVICE
Not impressed. I have been to many resorts and this is my first ever (!) negative review. We had to bring our luggage to the rooms, because nobody bothered for over an hour. They didn't even give me and my husband king bed room as requested, we ended up with two doubles. They said the hotel is full- come back tomorrow...Food is good, no complains- especially buffet. Tucan restaurant was good, Steak House and Oriental restaurants were bad. There are a lot of local guests there, they are very nice and friendly, we talk to them and they told us a lot about Costa Rica. Just be aware that the stuff is a lot more friendly towards Spanish speaking guests. And DJ plays mostly latino music. DJ's in general are really bad. LEAVE the resort if you want to see real Costa Rica- it is beautiful. We did drive around with the children for a few days, we loved it- it was definitely a better experience then RIU. The resort is clean, the rooms are very nice too. However overall service, disco, day entertainment, kids activities, shows ( except Michael Jackson )-nothing special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central NJ

Beautiful Location and Grounds

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Very clean hotel and friendly staff. Well laid out and easy to find your way around. The views are breathtaking.
Cons: On check-in was chaotic, they need more staff to handle the workload and luggage. Pool table is shot in the Sport Bar. No bch Waiter service
Location: Hibiscus catermaran (snorkling) I highly recommend - find the tour guy (Erik in the pink shirt), ATV tour was great fun.
Overall a very good experience. Food was better than I expected in the main "Liberia Resturant". Enough choice to satisfy everyone. Steak house, Asian, and Italian were also very good to excellent. The gourmet place was fair. Entertainment I give low marks. 1.5 stars. Everything was in Spanish (not a total surprise), but no full band anywhere, anytime. Based on how many American/English speaking guests there were some entertainment in English would be an improvement. The beach bar was serving mixed drinks and beer early in the week and just served beer and juicies after 3 days. We never found out why. The beach is vocanic sand (dark),so get ready for burned feet if you don't bring sandals. No waiter service on beach - but plenty of lounge chairs and help to move them. The hawking of cigars, potery, trinkets is always present as are the tour sellers. They are respectful however. It seems the hotel doesn't control the beach and these non-guests are allowed to use the hotel's chairs and prime shady locations. It just seemed a bit odd but it was no big deal. There was plenty of space on the beach. There is no bathroom exhaust fan or bathroom ventilation - and the room had a slight moldy odor. Maid service was OK but they don't replace your drink glasses everyday. In room fridge is stocked every other day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2014
bad service , dirty pool, bad food, 1 star , not more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bklyn

Great Vacation

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Nice and clean. Great food.
Cons: Bees by the pool. They are all over the pool area.
Location: Great location . Near Rincon de la vieja where the excursions are great.
Great staff. Great food . One of the best vacations ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Experience in Costa Rica

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Great staff, food, beautiful, and clean.
Cons: There is no adults only pool area. It would be nice if the pool bar area was adults only so you don't have kids splashing water in your drinks.
Location: It's 40 minutes from Liberia. Costa Rica Unique offers great excursions. Look for Frank on the beach. Carlos and Juanita give great massages!
We just got back from the RIU Guanacaste and it was an excellent trip. We stayed 7 nights and it was our first experience at an all inclusive. The staff was very accommodating and the hotel manager was visible and constantly checking in with guests to make sure they were enjoying the hotel. There were a lot of food choices and we thought the food was good - especially given the price we paid! We loved the Italian restaurant and ate there 3 times. The pictures online don't really do the hotel justice. We got a standard room and it was spacious and much newer than it appears in the picture. Also, the landscaping at the hotel is beautiful and the pictures must have been taken before the landscaping was completed. The hotel is a short ride from the airport and close to a lot of excursions. We booked all our excursions through a guy named Frank on the beach with Costa Rica Unique tours. We went on the Mega Combo, Wildlife Adventure and Deep See Fishing. I highly recommend them. We also got couples massages on the beach from Juanita and Carlos ($65 USD) for 1 hr massages for both of us - a fraction of what we would have paid at the hotel spa. Carlos gives a great deep tissue. Everyone in Costa Rica was very friendly and we never felt like our safety was an issue. We frequently left our personal belongings laying around the pool and on the beach with no worries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, Washington

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Exceeded our expectations! Great food and drinks. Welcoming from the minute we arrived. Wonderful excursions booked with the concierge including a zip lining trip and catamaran sunset snorkeling trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Bad food, at restaurant bad services, lack of attention reception
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great place for families

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The staff was always available for anything we needed and everyone was friendly.
I went to this hotel with my husband and two children, ages 5 and 9. As soon as our car service pulled up to the front, we were greeted by several employees who immediately took our bags for us and gave us glasses of fresh juice. We quickly checked in and went to our room with bellhop in tow. The entire hotel, including our room, was very clean and all week long there were always people cleaning. My children were in love with the pool, which was also very clean. The beach was really cool. We have never seen the dark grey/blackish sand before. y daughter and I got up early to catch the sunset on the beach and one of the staff pointed out all the monkeys in the trees to my daughter. The food was great and there was a great variety to choose from. We will be returning next year with more of our family.