Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D.C.

Loved it!

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Location can't be beat. Great court yard where you can eat and have a glass of wine. I will return to this hotel without even looking at any others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, uk

Central hotel in Amboise

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Very friendly staff. beautiful building in perfect location to walk everywhere. secure parking was safe for a car load of stuff to be left overnight. swimming pool was small but pretty and warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted May 29, 2014
Location: It is close to the Castle.
The stay at this hotel was great. The staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ashley from Louisiana

Charming chateau-style hotel in charming town

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is great for travelers looking for a bed-and-breakfast style hotel with lots of old-world charm. Upon checking in, we were told that we had been upgraded for free to a superior room even though we had paid for the basic. The room was spacious and had a queen-size bed. Bathroom was spacious but only had a hand-held shower and claw-foot tub - no full shower (typical for Europe). Hotel staff was excellent. Very accommodating even though we booked last minute and checked in late. Concierge even called our car rental company for us to help iron out some details. Breakfast included an assortment of pastries, fruits and charcuteries as well as fresh eggs. The location in Amboise was a perfect jumping-off point to visit the Loire Valley chateaux. Overall this was an excellent choice for a romantic night in a charming town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by R from London

Pleasant stay

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Well located hotel within easy reach of centre of town. Quite small but room we had works for up to 4 people. Service pleasant. Nice garden, was not warm enough for us to make much use of it but can see how nice this would be once proper warm weather arrives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by dave bedford from southampton uk

What a find......will be back again...

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
perfect....great location within 5min walk of Amboise centre. charming is the wod they use to decsribe themselves, and that's excatly right. Full of character, great service, instersting bedrooms full of old style family decoration, coffee/te making, minibar, good size bathroom, great beds, didnt eat or have breakfast as had to leave early for ferry. 100pc will return (with my wife next time)....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom from Cincinnati

Beautiful hotel in Amboise

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: Location, friendliness of staff, appearance, condition and cleanliness of the room and grounds.
Location: The Amboise chateau and Da Vinci home are withing walking distance, as are shops, a grocery store, and a number of good restaurants.
My wife and I recently spent two nights at Le Clos d'Amboise. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel offers free off-street parking to guests. The building, grounds, and gardens were immaculate. The pool was closed for the season, so can't comment on that. Our room (#9) was on the top floor of the main building. It had one skylight (it opens) and one regular window, so there was plenty of light for the space, and a view of the gardens. The roof beams were exposed, which was a nice touch. It was a spacious, comfortable, and clean room. Our only minor complaint about the room was that, despite the recently remodeled bathroom, there was no stand-up shower. Instead, there was a large tub with a hand shower. It worked fine (they were high-quality Grohe fixtures), but it was surprising considering that stand-up showers were present in the many lesser accommodations that we have used during our European travels. The common areas of this hotel are beautiful and comfortable. We returned from a rainy day of Chateau-hopping to enjoy a bottle of local wine (sold at a reasonable price on premises) while reading and relaxing by the fireplace in the lounge. The breakfast costs extra, but it is extensive and features a number of locally sourced products, such as cheeses and ham.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Krista from Chicago

Charming

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
When we arrived it was exactly how one would imagine staying in France. The staff were friendly and the rooms were charming and clean. We definitely would stay here again if we ever make it back to Amboise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Joanne from Oregon

Convenient, comfortable and charming

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very beautiful setting even in the rain! Terrific breakfast, very nice bath and comfortable beds. Our room was quite small and we had very little place to put our luggage. That was because we were in the smallest rooms. Book one of the bigger rooms on the second floor for more space. It was great to have free parking . Perfect location for visiting chateaux, village is charming and many good restaurants on main pedestrian walk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Carisil from NY

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall, we liked the hotel and its location, however we thought that our room was a bit odd in terms of decoration and layout. It had random art work, pictures hung at different levels on the wall, two portable huge air conditioners that took up a lot of space in the room and several (not matching with decor) floor lamps. The bathroom did not have a shower, only a hand shower which we had to use to fill the tub to take a bath as opposed to be able to take as shower. Other than that, the hotel was nice with friendly staff.