Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Family getaway

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Great time!!!Great place!!! Just a couple of issues they need more staff.. Had to wait one day 2 hours for breakfast (room service) and some days I would have to wait 45 minutes for a taxi.. Our room was perfect and will be going back ASAP.. My family and I loved it.. Restaurant were great and staff were professional
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property!!

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Our villa was spotless, had amazing views. We will definitely return. I think it helped we were in Phase 2, and having our own car made getting around a breeze (though you don't need one). We did the all-inclusive option which was nice. Private villa with access to complete hotel amenities is a great concept and sister properties in town added even more options. We did have to deal with some timeshare overtures but knew that going in and staff backed off. Otherwise they were great and accommodating the entire week!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

AMAZING house, location and views. NOT the staff!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The house was spacious, comfortable, clean, and had breathtaking views. The personal concierge we had was also very friendly and helpful.
Cons: THE STAFF at Cibola! The room service is also VERY slow. We would wait 1.5-2hrs at the VERY least to get any food. The food can also be improved!
My family and I just stayed at the Montecristo Estate for 7 days. This vacation would have been 100% perfect if the staff wasn't so terrible. The staff at the restaurant Cibola were never smiling and very short when asked something. We always felt like we were a nuisance to them when we walked in. Room service would take 1.5-2 hours to deliver food; that is when they didn't get the order wrong. One day, I ordered a margarita pizza for lunch, and they sent a margarita drink (1.5 hours later). When I called them to tell them it was the wrong order and to send it with the rest of the food, they forgot to again. I called again and they finally sent it 1 hour later. I initially ordered lunch at 12:30PM and received my food around 5PM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jose, ca

Beautiful villa, gorgeous views, well appointed.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: It was a perfect romantic getaway - great location, beautiful views, gorgeous home.
Cons: The all inclusive feature wasn't impressive. Room service took a full hour and forgot some of the items. Some of the staff had a careless attitude.
Location: Shuttle to town takes you to the Pueblo Bonito Rose and an easy walk to town. You can stop at either of the PB resort bars or restaurants.
We loved our stay at the Montecristo Estates. The location, above the Pueblo Bonito resort, provides a sweeping view of the ocean and sky. The private pool and jacuzzi on the deck are amazing. We couldn't stop taking pictures of the beautiful ocean and the changing sky! The home had all the amenities we could wish for. Truly a wonderful, romantic retreat! Since room service was terrible, next time we would stock up on a few essentials. We loved walking everywhere, but golf carts were always available for people who weren't up for some of the steep climbs. The villa would accomodate a family easily, with three full bathrooms and bedrooms, a gorgeous entertainment room, full dining room and kitchen, private pool - would be great for a party. We loved having the place all to ourselves, though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

More like a three star stay

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: The views from the Villa were gorgeous. The villa was spacious and we loved having our own pool and jacuzzi.
Cons: Front desk staff should be trained better and be more efficient. There are charges for everything and the food is horrible.
Location: Expensive to take taxis to town but worth it as it was much more affordable and food/bar scene much better.
The Villa is extremely roomy with one bedroom, one and a half baths upstairs and two bedrooms two full baths downstairs. Villa also has two living rooms and a laundry room, eating area and fully equipped kitchen. Each villa has its own infinity pool and jacuzzi. There is also a grill on the patio. As long as you don't look too close, the place is beautiful. On closer inspection though, the furniture is pretty worn, but functional. Unfortunately, the place did not feel really clean and we found garbage left by prior guests. We didn't have the promised high speed internet, despite several calls to the desk and promises that someone would come fix it (they never showed up). We also had only lukewarm water for showers. We purchased the all inclusive but there were never any "reservations" available. Check in staff was inefficient and untrained. When we insisted they find reservations as they had sold us an all inclusive package a table miraculously became available but it had an extra "charge". Finding other dining options required traveling to other properties. The food we did get was awful so we ate most meals in town. Never found a bar worth stopping at on property, but found plenty in town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Beautiful but annoying!!!

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Facility and property were amazingly beautiful non sales staff was very professional. Sales staff were rude and obnoxious, they would come to your table during any meal to try to get you to go to a timeshare presentation. That were horrible and if they just let people the place would sell itself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Gorgeous villa, attentive staff but...

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The staff is excellent, although perhaps a little over-extended. We saw the same hard workers there day and night. Our concierge, Raul, was great.
Cons: Hiring additional staff. The hotel boasts a shuttle service, but you must request their services well in advance or just be PATIENT.
Location: The hotel complex is about a $20 cab ride from downtown Cabo, but we found the shuttles mostly adequate. We spent most of our time @ the resort.
Our family of five (boys 20, 18, 16) had a wonderful time at the Montecristo. The villa is huge, nicely appointed and the staff works very hard to please. There were a few glitches, however, that were addressed but occurred none-the-less. Our reservation clearly stated that check-in was at 3 pm, upon our arrival we were told it wasn't actually until 4 pm, but we didn't end up in a villa until after 7 pm. This is a little rough when you've been traveling for over 12 hours and everybody is tired and cranky. We were allowed to dine in the Montecristo's restaurant Cibola and this helped with the delay, but was frustrating. Our personal concierge offered a treatment at the spa in an to make up for the delay and that was nice and I took advantage of that a couple of days later. The furnishings in the villa have seen some wear, but overall are fine. The size (nearly 3,000 sq ft) is wonderful for giving a family plenty of room or would easily accommodate three couples (3 bds, 3 1/2 baths). The villa had its own hot tub and infinity pool (after prompting the heat was turned up and the "infiniti" feature worked mostly). All the villas have stunning views of the ocean and we were treated to scenes of whales every day. My kids and husband all got money's worth with the "all inclusive", but not all the resort restaurants were that great. We never had a bad meal at Cibola, but a buffet "grill night" at the Pueblo Bonito Rose was disappointing in food quality as well as service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk VA

Awesome experience!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Location was beautiful, scenery and views were unequaled to anything we have experienced before. The staff were extremely friendly and courteous - and our personal concierge attended to our every need. This trip will most likely be the one that stands out in our memories. Hats off to all we encountered!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

EXCELENTE SIN PROBLEMAS

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: TODO
Cons: EL SERVICIO DEL PORTAL PARA AMPLIAR LA RESERVACION AL MISMO COSTO, EN CASO NECESARIO
EXCELENTE LUGAR, EL ÚNICO PROBLEMA CON EL PORTAL, FUE QUE QUISIMOS AMPLIAR LA RESERVACION UNA NOCHE MAS Y YA NO SE PUDO, SE DISPARABA EL COSTO, PERO EL HOTEL, EXCELENTE.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony from Texas

This review will save your vacation in Cabo!

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: Love the staff, location and concept. Food is very good. The restraunt Freda's is a must. Casita layout is nice- 3 bedroom, infinity pool and hot tub.
Cons: 1. New Mattresses- Could not get a good nights sleep.(mattress covers made it worse) 2. Needs updates- neglected the the little things.
Location: Beautiful. Secluded. Private. No swimmable beach.
Pueblo Bonito is our safe choice in Cabo-- no surprises and a great staff(have stayed their 8 times) My wife and I are a little picky so take this review for what it is worth. We stayed at Montecristo Phase 1 this time. Phase 1 is for family not honeymooners- Why? needs updates and new mattresses. The restaurants are solid but need to vary the menu week to week-Cibolo was our daily breakfast choice and Freda's is crazy great! Our casita needed New Mattresses(not Mattress covers), the mattress will make or break ur vacation, trust me! Again, the staff makes the place-- love them. What u need to know: 1. Ask for phase 2 not 1 if you have a choice. 2. Only Use all inclusive if you goto Freda's--Pricey but worth it.(every casita has it's own kitchen, not stocked with spice, sugar, etc..). 3.Rental car purchased at Airport always better that shuttle transportation.(cost & convenience), if you have Mexico auto liability bring the policy(if not, add it-cheap)-- will save u $21/day. 4. Pueblo Bonito Pacifica not included in all inclusive. 5. Montecristo is a Pueblo Bonita's time share offering, so prepared to get pitched.