Ratings based on 303 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Havelock NC

Horrible Stay

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The convenience of the airport.
Cons: Renovate and refurbish.
Location: Close to the fairgrounds, convention center and the airport. Freeway access available.
The room stunk, there was no ice machine on the 4th floor, you had to go to the lobby for ice. The continental breakfast was not like any continental breakfast I had ever had. No refrigerator, microwave, etc., as advertised in the room. If I had to have remained there for a longer stay I would have checked out and chalked up the loss and went somewhere else. I will never stay in a Howard Johnson's hotel again!! The entire building looked nice on the outside, but once you entered it was apparent very little upkeep was done to the inside. I did not walk barefoot in my room--my shoes stuck to the floor. Just a major, major disappointment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The great state of Texas

OK for an "airport" hotel.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: It was convenient.
Cons: Fix the stuff that's broken.
The front desk clerk was nice, but th facilities aren't maintained well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AL

Cheapest available during the fair

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The staff was friendly, but the hotel desperately needs to be upgraded. The carpet ESPECIALLY NEEDS to be replaced. It's beyond cleaning. But it was the only affordable option during the KY State Fair.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Served the purpose

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Beds were comfortable
Cons: Breakfast and check-in
Was close to the event attending and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was practically non-existent and we passed on the poor effort. Price was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Betty Babbs from OHIO

A place to rest your head.

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Expecting more from a HOJO business. There was no mini-fridge or microwave in the king bedroom or the double bed room next to me. The brown blanket was ragged and torn. The bedspread and blanket had burn holes for a non-smoking room. The water was hot, the room was good sized. Better than my friends' double bedroom. The ice machine and vending machine on third floor, the ice didn't work and no vending machine. The soda vending machine was out of order on the last day of my stay. That was the first floor. The stairwell needed cleaning. Walking distance to the KEC center was nice. It did have an iron and ironing board, WI-FI, cable TV and A/C for the hot, muggy weather. I think a good cleaning out of the linens is needed. Clean, but needing updating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shelly from Indiana

Nice hotel by Kentucky Kingdom

Posted Jun 12, 2014
We went to the amusement park two days in a row and stayed here overnight. It was only two miles (if that) from the Kentucky fairgrounds entrance. The staff was nice. Breakfast was very simple though. Price was right.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Don't do it

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The comforter had stains all over it, the sheets were stained brown in weird streaks, the floor was dirty, and the air was lukewarm. The hallways were disgusting as well, and the ice machine was broken, so we drank hot drinks for most of the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Todd from WV

Howard Johnson is what you pay for.

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nothing wrong with the hotel. Just getting what you pay for.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Toni from Arlington, TX

Room in a box

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything about our stay was beyond disappointing. Room smelled, stains on carpet and bedspread, front desk people were curt and unfriendly, white powder on carpet in hallway. It was literally a box with rooms sandwiched between other hotels.