Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

Posted Jul 27, 2015
A great stay. We should have stayed another night. My wife enjoyed the Wellness Center. I liked the gym. Great location. Staff were very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Menlo Park

Moments in Paradise

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: We loved the paradise setting with huge native trees on the property, majestic ocean view from the pool, yoga every morning and fresh organic food.
Cons: There were to many mosquitoes and it took time till we realised to ask the staff for a mosquito spray. You need permanent protection even on the beach
Location: Hana is the pearl of Maui. Life is slow, locals are nice, and each day you can decide to swim in the Black, Red, or White sand beach or a waterfall!
Life in Hana is Slow and forces you to relax. In the first couple of days we wanted to explore everything that the area could offer (lava tubes, sacred garden and temples, local organic farm, horse back riding on the beach, plenty of (hidden) beaches and waterfalls to swim in, snorkelling, etc.), however after a couple of days we decided to just chill by the pool and on the Red sand beach next to the Hotel. It was a perfect place to disconnect from our busy daily life, and to avoid the crowd, shopping, fast food feeling of most holiday destinations. Hana hou!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

The best vacation - ever.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Price......... too expensive, but if you want that one luxury and save for it, this is the hotel!
Location: Stunning. Some of the most beautiful vistas I've ever seen.
Romantic; off-the grid; everything and everyone was exquisite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from sydney

Complicated hotel to rate..amazing in many regards

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Location and grounds
Cons: Room needs a renovation... especially the non ocean front ones.
The hotel is in the area Hana which is a must see in Maui... the drive there is very long and windy, but amazing and breathtaking. The travassa is set on beautiful grounds, but i think its possibles some expections maybe be let down as the resort is rated SO high on lists that you might expect a totally high end top notch resort, when its a bit different than that. The grounds are very beautiful but the first room we got we were really unhappy with. It was old and dank and smelt of the toliet/frangrence. A decent pre-airing of the room might have help. The rooms are big, but pretty dated and the bathroom is at least 20 years old. Not quite what we expected for several hundred dollars a night. We asked to change rooms and they showed us an ocean front room and it was a million times better. It gets a breeze from the ocean and most of these rooms and been re-conditioned recently ( a lick of paint etc). We were very happy here. Its very relaxed and quiet (except for the ocean).. I would recommend it. For us 2 days was enough.. but depends what you are after. The staff are great and we really enjoyed the food at the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

An oasis of peace and beauty!

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Everything was clean, fresh and placed in a beautiful setting. No tv, radio or alarm clock!
Cons: A check-in time, if practical for the guests, (as it was for us), of much earlier than 4:00pm.
Location: Beautiful location at the eastern tip of Maui. Nearby Hills, beaches, harbor, National and State parks
Chosen as an overnight stay during a trip to experience "The Road to Hana", it was a wonderful, peaceful interlude. Hotel location and careful attention to detail and upkeep is outstanding. Dinner was first class. Staff are friendly and attentive ..... never in these circumstances have we ever received genuine hugs! While we shall have to save for a while, we now have the ambition to return for a "proper" vacation rather than a simple overnight stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Ants in my room at travasa Hana !!!

Posted May 10, 2015
We went on vacation in Maui. Planned to stay one night at Hana at a garden view room. There was no one to greet us or park the car on arrival .We were left without orientation for the vast property and had to find the room on our own. For a hotel that pricy we expected better service. Also the beach is located 2.5 miles away so no Walking to the beach here. You use your car or a hotel shuttle which stops at 5 pm. Their website claims to be an experiential resort but the truth is it's overpriced and in my opinion overrated. Our room had ants on the counter top with the coffee brewer and we complained to management. They were not willing to do any "nice gestures " to compensate for the mishap. Their attention to customer satisfaction is way lagging to what they claim. Since we were spending one night we checked the bed to make sure it's clean and we slept and left first thing in the morning . Overall do not stay here and save your money for something else . I would never stay in any travasa again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephanie from Bonney Lake ,Wa

Traavasa

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
We only had one day to stay in Hana And this hotel was amazing! After a long day on the Hana HWY, we arrived at Traavasa and was greeted with smiles, juice and a cool washcloth. The room was immacualate, and we immediatly relaxed and let Hana come to us. Would highly recommend this hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michelle from Des Plaines, IL

Good hotel, living on past history

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel grounds were very nice. Service was outstanding. However the hotel was somewhat dated, rooms had no air conditioning. While the linens were organic, the beds were very uncomfortable. I also had to pay an extra $50 per night for an additonal person because apparently when I booked the price was only for one. The rate did include parking and no additional resort fee so I appreicated that. However it still seemed way overpriced. If you take advantage of all of the activities offered at the resport you may get your money's worth. If you are spending time hiking around the area, etc. I would recommend staying at a cheaper location. It isn't worth the hype.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, but needs some attention

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Service. Grounds. Complimentary activities, and option for others. Beach service.
Cons: Room maintenance; needs a deep cleaning and tool kit, maybe some updating of fixtures. Lounge food/drinks overpriced.
It's hard to criticize an experience in Hana... but it's also hard for me to give a ringing endorsement to a room that has mold in the shower (the ceiling kind), fixtures that are barely hanging onto the wall, layers of dust in out of the way places, and bed mattresses that need updating (too squeaky bouncy for my taste). With such a high rating (and price) these are things that keep me from agreeing fully with everyone's positive reviews. Aside from those things, the rest is wonderful. Complimentary bike rentals, golf (pitch/putt), and a host of other activities helps justify the cost. Also the staff is terrific, make you feel very welcome. Though it's a simple thing, umbrella service at the beach 2 miles away was a great perk. Loved my time. Would I go back?... sure... on someone else's dime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Nice Get Away

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Staff were very helpful. Cottages were well appointed. Location / setting were beautiful
Cons: Restaurant was good but not great. Should be great based on pricing. An issue with how limited the food choices in Hana are.
Location: Walk to red sand beach. Transit to Hanoa beach (wonderful). Venus pool a must visit.
Loved the experience at Travassa Hana. The resort, and Hana, is a nice break from all the bustle of West Maui. The cottages at the Sea Ranch were very nice, private, and well appointed. The grounds are nice, well tended, and the pool / spa area was nice and never crowded. The facility is very spread out which offers seclusion and privacy, but be ready to walk