Ratings based on 609 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from centreville md

not happy

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: entire hotel needs to be remodeled starting with elevators
Location: in a good area
Rooms look nothing like advertised. Parking is a joke. Elevators are a disaster. staff would start cleaning the common areas around 8:30 when families start heading out and they would run you over if you are in area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple and easy, no-frills

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: right on the beach, nice staff
Cons: updated look and feel. The towels, pillows and mattress need to be retired. Overall the place could use a face-lift.
We wanted a nice and simple vacation without spending a lot, which is what we got. The hotel was right on the beach, which was great. And the proximity of the hotel to other MB sites was great. The hotel was dated and could use a face lift - updated fixtures, linens, towels, curtains, paint, kitchen utensils etc. - but again, we wanted a less expensive hotel option, therefore, that is what we got. All of the staff was nice, the room was clean, we had ample kitchen supplies. All-in-all, it fit our needs. If you are looking for a more "resort" type feeling, with plush pillows and luxurious towels, this isn't for you. If you are looking for a clean, simple and no-frills experience, the Caravelle will fit the bill.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Terrible maid service.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The view was good, pools very clean, room layout was good.
Cons: I would definitely re-train maid staff on what clean means.
Location: Boardwalk, stores, restaurants all within less than 2 mile radius.
Ran out of towels & asked for more, 20 min later the maid came back & said she needed old towels first. Shouldn't clean towels have been on the cart? Found empty chip bags under bed, dirty socks under dresser, 'fridge had so many spots of rust on side it looked like someone had gotten sick (which they took care of), one plug in kitchen that sometimes worked & sometimes didn't, sheets not changed and ripped on one bed, can openers that were so gross,(again they were immediately replaced, half an inch of dead bugs in light fixtures,(one more thing they took care of). They wouldn't take anything off the bill because I booked through expedia. All the other employees were very courteous and helpful; the maids acted put out that they were asked to do their job properly. For a 4-star hotel and the price it was awful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Louisville KY

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Nice rooms for the price...outdated....needs a facelift!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cynt from North Carolina

Relaxing at the Beach

Posted Jun 12, 2014
WE traveled to Myrtle Beach for my daughters graduation from Nursing School. The hotel was excellent, not a five star but an excellent place to stay for the cost. The staff was very good and the room was clean with great views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kimber from Springfield, MO

Close to the beach

Posted Jun 8, 2014
The second year I have stayed with the Caravelle. The staff is friendly and helpful.... from the front desk to the cleaning staff. It is close to the beach and all the Myrtle Beach attractions. Would recommend to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by s from chicago

Hotel right on beach

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Hotel is right on the beach. The staff was friendly and the rooms were pretty clean and comfortable. They could use more parking and elevators took forever. Pools were much smaller than pictures on website but who needs pools when you have the beach? I would stay here again if I got a deal on rooms, the full price is too much
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by dawn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view.

Posted May 26, 2014
Loved being on the top floor. The elevators were backed up the whole time but other than that it was a nice play to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul G from Sterling, VA

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay and great hotel! When I booked the description said 2 doubles or king bed. I wanted a king. So I called the hotel to ask what type room I would be in and they said 2 doubles. I explained the description that was on hotels.com and they explained it was incorrect and I would have needed to book a higher priced room. I decided just to go with the 2 doubles but to my surprise when I checked in they put in a king at no extra cost and still ocean front! Location was good far enough from the hustle of the main part of Myrtle but a close short drive to everything. I will stay here again for sure!