Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ERKUAN

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive ranking. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Brian Bell General Manager All Seasons Resort Lodging
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive ranking. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Brian Bell General Manager All Seasons Resort Lodging
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom red pine, park city

The best place ever

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Very clean, very big place, with all equipment that we need,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2015 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon! Brian Bell General Manager All Seasons Resort Lodging
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Erinfrom Jackson, wy

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
While decor was out dated, it was lovely to have a full kitchen and living room space plus a little deck. It needs salt and pepper. Just those basics in the kitchen would have been really helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent feedback. Each of our rentals is a privately owned home so the decor can change. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Catpbfrom Utah

Clean but rundown!

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The condo unit we stayed in was so old & rundown that we decided to cut our stay short and go home! The unit was not worth the money!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you found your stay with us unsatisfactory and hope that you contacted the front desk to try to find a resolution. All of our units are privately owned so we are always working with owners to make improvements. Once again I apologize and hope that you will allow us to redeem ourselves once we have made some upgrades inside our rooms and stay with us again in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LouLoufrom Utah

Our room was not very clean and very hot.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Hot tub tennis courts
Cons: cleanliness, lights, check-in closer.
Location: We did the dirty dash which was fun 30 minutes away in Heber. also the kids went to the outlet mall.
I paid a lot of money for two condos. was a little disappointed the floors were very dirty and our rooms were not that clean and ours rooms were pretty warm. Water was leaking under our kitchen sink. My daughter found a beetle in her bed. I'm not sure if we will ever come back. I hated that we had to check in so far away miles?? the little kids pool was so full of leafs and dirt. the lighting in the kitchen was not well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, I apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay. I do hope that you contacted the front desk for these concerns so that we could try to rectify them for you. We're always looking to make improvements and I will work directly with house keeping and maintenance on these issues. I will get together with the HOA about the community areas and see that they are well maintained. I apologize again for the inconveniences that occurred and hope that you will let us redeem ourselves with a future stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kaylafrom Salt lake City

Great hotel for big groups

Posted Apr 14, 2014
We stayed here for a short weekend get away with a group of friends and it was perfect for that. The big beds were enough for two people each, plus the two twin beds and the couch. Plenty of space to hang out inside with a balcony in a cute little condo community. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Great place for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2015 by Brian, Hotel Management
I am pleased to hear you had a great stay and the staff took good care of you. Park City is a excellant get away for Salt Lake residents looking for a weekend in the mountains. We hope you continue to chose us as your lodging provider. Brian Bell General Manager All Seasons Resort Lodging
2 out of 5
by Timfrom Idaho

Get a motel instead

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Proximity to great skiing.
Cons: They could care about their guests, for one thing. Advertise truthfully, for another. Fix problems, like malfunctioning toilets, for yet another.
Location: Nearby Park City is Utah's Telluride, and the skiing is terrific.
The toilets either didn't flush, or barely flushed. Repeated calls to the manager generated no response. We were told the maintenance person would be there in the morning. Not only did no one show, when we ran into the maintenance man as we were leaving the property, he said he'd never received any message. Red Pine advertises wi-fi in the condos, but it's a false advertising. There is none. On check out, the woman behind the counter obviously couldn't have cared less. Still, the condo was clean and well-furnished, and comfortable ... till one had to use the toilet. Stay someplace else. Do not believe their advertising.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Nicole, Hotel Management
I would like to apologize for the lack of service you experienced while you were here and please know that it is definitely unacceptable that your maintenance issues were never fixed. As far as wifi, there currently is wifi in the clubhouse, however we will be working with our owners to mandate wifi in every unit by summers end. Once again I apologize that you feel that you were lied to and that we were never able to take care of your issues, I will be taking your feedback and making sure that in the future these issues don't happen again. I hope that one day you will stay with us again and allow us to rectify the less than satisfactory stay you had.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Conveniently located.
Cons: See above
Unfortunately, we arrived a week later for good weather. We were unable to do any of the things we wanted to because of the weather. In fact, we left a day early. The condo was decent. I would suggest purchasing a new shower curtain downstairs - moldy, and light bulbs were out in the downstairs vanity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and we will definitely make sure that we attend to the issues with you unit you listed. We currently are going through each unit and performing a deep clean and replacing any old or dirty items in an effort to avoid this issues in the future. I hope that you will return when the weather is nice and allow us to rectify the issues you encountered.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2015 by Brian, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive rating! Brian Bell General Manager All Seasons Resort Lodging