Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Decent for the price; Close to Carowinds

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Why pay a ton of money for a hotel when you plan to be at Carowinds most of the time. This hotel is located close to restaurants & gas stations . The hotels located closer to Carowinds are dumps compared to this place, priced much higher & with no stores close by. This location is 10 miles from Carowinds and suited our needs just fine. Located right off the Interstate is helpful.Downtown Charolette is only 20 miles away and worth the trip. Beautiful city at night !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse Hotel I have ever experienced.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing. I would put a warning sign outside the hotel.
Cons: Everything.
Hotel room was about as big as my walk-in closed at home. Just enough room to walk around the queen size bed. Bed was harder than the floor, if that is possible. Hallway was as hot as outside. AIR CONDITIONER IN THE ROOM DID NOT WORK AT ALL. The TV looked like a Zenith with a round screen. Does that brand even exist anymore? We did not stay and left immediately to go to another hotel. The front desk clerk was a smart aleck young kid. After telling her the condition of the room, she didn't even apologize, with her head down, not looking at us, she said, "really, the bed was new just last year." There is nothing I hate worse than a liar! I have traveled enough to know that every hotel knows which rooms are the undesirables. We got the distinct impression that those were the rooms they gave every Expedia customer. We told her to reverse all charges. She said she couldn't because is was charged through Expedia. If Expedia values their reputation, you need to remove that hotel from your list. We expect Expedia to return all charges from that hotel immediately. I will be contacting your customer service later this morning. This experience was enough that I will never use Expedia again. Or Microtel!
2 out of 5
by Teresa from Huntington, WV

Horrible Stay :(

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The gentleman at the front desk made a great dinner recommendation.
Cons: The customer service, the cleanliness of the room
Location: Rock Hill is a nice little town and this hotel is right by a lot of restaurants.
I paid to have 2 queen beds. The reservation I made was for a 2 queen beds, smoking. When I got to the hotel, the gentleman checking me in tried to put me in a room with 1 bed. He said that he tries to tell people not to book on expedia because they get the reservations wrong. He kept blaming Expedia rather than taking ownership of the mistake. He then stated that he had no smoking rooms with two queen beds, but he had a nonsmoking suite with one bed and a pull out couch. I said that would have to do. This 'suite' was no suite at all, just a room with an incredibly uncomfortable pull-out couch. It was a handicap accessible room of some sort, and it didn't have a bathtub. In addition, as soon as we walked in the room we found a bug on the couch. I've worked in customer service jobs for over 5 years and the level of customer service I experienced at this hotel was not acceptable, he did not take ownership of the problem, putting the blame on me and expedia, and then did not even contact a manager or another hotel to get me a room I would accept. I don't believe that I should be charged for a room I did not want.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by dave from gbg

out dated

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
rooms were very dark and the tv was old and outdated
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hotel guy from Georgia

As advertised.

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room needed a few fix-its...but overall, a good stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

halfway through a remodel

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The lobby and common areas are rundown and still in need of an update. The room itself has new carpet but the mattress was very old and saggy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lorne from St. Stephen, NB CANADA

OK place to stay but you get what you pay for.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Price.
Cons: Upgraded rooms as per my prior comments and better overall cleaning.
Location: Used as overnight stay only on our way further north.
Room was OK overall but very small, old TV (on top of an armoire so almost up to the ceiling), noisy fan in the bathroom when light was on, old style toilet which didn't flush very well. Hotel hallway floors were dirty and looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in a while. Staff was polite but nothing more. Breakfast facility was very small & cramped with little variety.
2 out of 5
by Maureen from Mississauga

not a nice hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: nothing actually
Cons: lighting for sure
Location: easy access bk to highway didn't go out didn't like area
one queen bed shud hav been ok for us, but it was more like a double bed and one side of mattress sloped down. plug for comp didn't make contact and comp was nearly dead in the morning. also, no separate lamps on each side of bed only on switch for a big long light atop of bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deidre from Fort Wayne, IN

Pit stop

Posted Apr 13, 2014
My family and I made a pit stop in Beckley on our way home from Florida. The front lady was beyond amazing and helpful! She went above and beyond from the time we check in to the time we checked out. Will stay again next yr in our yearly trip to Florida
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by Parker

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com