Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse Hotel I have ever experienced.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing. I would put a warning sign outside the hotel.
Cons: Everything.
Hotel room was about as big as my walk-in closed at home. Just enough room to walk around the queen size bed. Bed was harder than the floor, if that is possible. Hallway was as hot as outside. AIR CONDITIONER IN THE ROOM DID NOT WORK AT ALL. The TV looked like a Zenith with a round screen. Does that brand even exist anymore? We did not stay and left immediately to go to another hotel. The front desk clerk was a smart aleck young kid. After telling her the condition of the room, she didn't even apologize, with her head down, not looking at us, she said, "really, the bed was new just last year." There is nothing I hate worse than a liar! I have traveled enough to know that every hotel knows which rooms are the undesirables. We got the distinct impression that those were the rooms they gave every Expedia customer. We told her to reverse all charges. She said she couldn't because is was charged through Expedia. If Expedia values their reputation, you need to remove that hotel from your list. We expect Expedia to return all charges from that hotel immediately. I will be contacting your customer service later this morning. This experience was enough that I will never use Expedia again. Or Microtel!
2 out of 5
by Teresa from Huntington, WV

Horrible Stay :(

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The gentleman at the front desk made a great dinner recommendation.
Cons: The customer service, the cleanliness of the room
Location: Rock Hill is a nice little town and this hotel is right by a lot of restaurants.
I paid to have 2 queen beds. The reservation I made was for a 2 queen beds, smoking. When I got to the hotel, the gentleman checking me in tried to put me in a room with 1 bed. He said that he tries to tell people not to book on expedia because they get the reservations wrong. He kept blaming Expedia rather than taking ownership of the mistake. He then stated that he had no smoking rooms with two queen beds, but he had a nonsmoking suite with one bed and a pull out couch. I said that would have to do. This 'suite' was no suite at all, just a room with an incredibly uncomfortable pull-out couch. It was a handicap accessible room of some sort, and it didn't have a bathtub. In addition, as soon as we walked in the room we found a bug on the couch. I've worked in customer service jobs for over 5 years and the level of customer service I experienced at this hotel was not acceptable, he did not take ownership of the problem, putting the blame on me and expedia, and then did not even contact a manager or another hotel to get me a room I would accept. I don't believe that I should be charged for a room I did not want.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lorne from St. Stephen, NB CANADA

OK place to stay but you get what you pay for.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Price.
Cons: Upgraded rooms as per my prior comments and better overall cleaning.
Location: Used as overnight stay only on our way further north.
Room was OK overall but very small, old TV (on top of an armoire so almost up to the ceiling), noisy fan in the bathroom when light was on, old style toilet which didn't flush very well. Hotel hallway floors were dirty and looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in a while. Staff was polite but nothing more. Breakfast facility was very small & cramped with little variety.
2 out of 5
by Maureen from Mississauga

not a nice hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: nothing actually
Cons: lighting for sure
Location: easy access bk to highway didn't go out didn't like area
one queen bed shud hav been ok for us, but it was more like a double bed and one side of mattress sloped down. plug for comp didn't make contact and comp was nearly dead in the morning. also, no separate lamps on each side of bed only on switch for a big long light atop of bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deidre from Fort Wayne, IN

Pit stop

Posted Apr 13, 2014
My family and I made a pit stop in Beckley on our way home from Florida. The front lady was beyond amazing and helpful! She went above and beyond from the time we check in to the time we checked out. Will stay again next yr in our yearly trip to Florida
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Homerd bound from trip south

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: It was a suite, so miore comfortable than a confining basic room
Location: Doesn't apply
It was a reasonable place to break a long journey and was relatively close to nearby restaurants, although not in walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from Ohio

Close to interstate 77

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Wonderful mattress! Slept great! Staff answered questions about restaurants nearby. Gave good directions. Really appreciated her help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2014
Dear Kathy, I'd like to take this opportunity to say thank you for taking your time to write a review about your experience here at the Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rock Hill SC location. I am glad to see you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope that next time ya’ll are in the area that ya’ll choose to stay with us again. Safe travels Thank you again Dilip Patel General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacation

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Location: Good
There was confusion with the reservation due to Expedia booking. Girl at desk was very nice. Room was clean but very small compared with others we have stayed in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from High Point NC

Good for the price

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, clean with a good staff.
Cons: I don't like having to sign into the network every time I want to use the web. The televisions could be upgraded.
I stayed there two nights and don't have any major complaints. I am not sure whether my failure to get a good night's sleep was due to the bed or my thinking about other things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Repeated wonderful stay.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
This is the third time I have stayed here. The rooms have always been clean, feel new, nice beds, friendly staff, nice set up in rooms. There a divider halfwall between the two queen beds( I always have gotten two queens) with a fridge and micro, coffee maker. I like the divider as it feels private if you have guests. There was a window seat with a full body size padded lounge area and pillow if you wanted to read looking out the window area. Nice desk with office style cushy chair, movable end table, small round table and two chairs to eat at. Lots of pillows too. Staff accommodated a special need for me- called the manager over and he was pleasant and listened to me. Very good experience. Three times there and always te same experience. Had to write a review this time! Quiet area too. Close to Winthrop univ, 20-30 minutes from Charlotte and Caroline's.