Ratings based on 729 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Why it has good rating on Expedia?

Posted Aug 14, 2014
I booked this hotel based on number of reviews and overall rating and I totally do not understand how people would give such high rating. Check in was quick. Parking was for a surcharge. Room was clean but noisy. On Expedia website it is mentioned that breakfast was included but what was served was not by any mean to be considered a breakfast unless you eat donuts as your day start. I believe the room rate was high for the quality of the stat. I would pay few bucks and stay in a nicer place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

Retro and Fun!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
We had a quick 2 nites in savannah and we're so pleased we picked the thunderbird inn. It's extremely central to the historic district and we were able to walk everywhere. The staff were all lovely and able to point us in the right direction for food, drinks and fun. And above all, we loved that it was retro! It's well maintained with new beds but had all the retro decor touches. Donuts and coffee for breakfast were an excellent touch too. Perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from YM

Only 20 minutes walk to the pier.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Overall it was a good stay. But on the last night of my stay, a group of people were very making a lot of noise in the middle of the night. The hotel staff should have done something about this matter
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Room was clean the staff was very friendly.it was in a good location.parking was a little cramp.roon temp was good and cold
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south carolina

hotel close to tour trollys

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: the room was very clean also nice touch of RC cola and moon pie
Location: near visitor center for tour trolly
pleasant stay did sight seeing got suggestions from front desk person very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mo.

very disappointed

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: air was good
Cons: plumbing
Location: historic district
they have some bad issues with their plumbing and car parking spaces being to narrow very easy to get car damage but apparently they could care less, the sink being almost totally stopped up is easy to fix but apparently they don't care I feel like I paid twice for a room that should get a quarter star rating
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from plantation fl

Close to historical downtown...filthy

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The staff did everything in there power to help us have a better experience
Cons: The rooms need to be gutted
Location: Wonderful location near river street and trolly
I have never written a bad review of anything. This experience was so terrible I feel it is my responsibility to let others know. The thunderbird inn describes itself as the Hippest hotel...I love vintage everything but the thunderbird uses this to describe a mess of a place that has been neglected for years, The first room we we're put in was filthy with a water bottle under one of the chairs and stained carpet. It smelled like a mixture of pine sol and body fluids. The door didn't close so we were assigned the room next door. It was a little better, the bathroom was updated a bit. The curtains were supposed to be white but they were black and grey from dirt. The ceiling was mold stains. There was a sandle under our bed and smelly bedspreads.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nick from Atlanta

Great staff and convenient!

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
You can't get a better location for the price than the Thunderbird Inn! The room is cozy, but has everything you need.... And the staff is incredibly friendly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Mini family vacation

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Nice hotel for the price, 1/2 mile walk to river street. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was clean. Only complaints are no pool, close to the bus station and low income housing.