Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Malaysia, MY

Didn't live up to its name.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: 1. decorations and beautiful garden 2. great WiFi speed
Cons: 1. gym 2. room quality 3. hotel staff welfare (not allowed to work more than 16 hours shift per day) 4. buffet breakfast
Location: 1. located in seri kembangan, nothing much to do except going to the mines shopping mall... that's just about it.
Palace of Golden Horses isn't really a palace after all once you get to stay in one of the supposed luxurious room. to be honest, i was disappointed with the condition of the room. i stayed in level 3, room 370 and the carpet was moldy, the toilet was leaking, the lighting was a bit too dim for me. from outside, the hotel looks superb, hence the main attraction for visitors and tourists alike. i hope the hotel could do a major renovation on its room condition, as well as the buffet breakfast (i had mine in Carousel). it was disappointing nonetheless, and the staff at the reception counter seems to be very exhausted at times. are they working more than the 16 hours shift? though the hotel was far from the town center of KL itself, the hotel condition being superb would be a great bonus for me... because the hotels in KL are much better in terms of room quality & breakfast, though they don't look too grand. the hotel's gym is really old too, with rusty dumbbells and leaky ceiling. please upgrade should you do take my advise on this. if not, just maintain and be content.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Penang

Luxury getaway but let down by mediocre breakfast

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Stayed one night at deluxe room. Everything was luxury and hotel is lavishly decorated. Close to Mines Resort City. Limited choices of complimentary buffet breakfast which does not meet 6 star hotel standard.
3 out of 5
by Fathifrom Kuala Lumpur

Service Not Up to Mark

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Reasonable rates.
Cons: Service
Went out early in the morning with "Service" sign left on. Came back at 2 pm and room still not serviced. The service personnel only came at 4 pm. Ask for ice bucket, ice was delivered in a bowl.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Williamfrom Australia

Lacking in service

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean spacious and beautiful room but service is lacking Only allowed one person access/equipment to the free wifi per room It's a first time I have encountered such restricted free wifi If you have 2 person access to wifi you need to pay for the one person Wifi keep cutting out and had to re logged in every15 mins Water taxi to Mines shopping centre did not go under the Mines Shopping centre where all the water boats stops The water taxi from the Palace stops outside Wellness Hotel and we had to walk and search for the Mines Shopping Centre not a proper service to the Mines Shopping Centre Very misleading to state that the water taxi goes to the Mines Shopping Centre.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by LEfrom Singapore

Service drops

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
My 2nd trip to this hotel after 5 years. It's ok only for a stop-over. Looks 5 stars but service had degraded. Was given keycard upon check in and no one guided me to my room (hotel's ground is huge). Room is very spacious and looks recently refurnished but lights are very dimmed. Need to knock the shampoo and body wash of the hard plastic bottles (so hard, can't even squeeze). Aircon was very cold and thermoset doesn't work. Breakfast was so so, some food barely warm. Waiter assign a table and did not bother to introduce the areas and types of food & beverages available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by GABRIEL LINGfrom SINGAPORE

Unexpected trip

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
we do have a pleasure stay in your great hotel as well know in penisular.everythings are fine except of the inconvenient of just providing a set of room key subject to the front desk claimed it is the hotel policy. And there's a distance walk to the room it's quite a challenging for my dear spouse carrying a 9 month baby with her.overall of the hotel service, we are glad .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by veerasamy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by Patrickfrom Sydney

Dilapidated and badly run.

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Service, cleanliness & upkeep, staff discipline, food quality - the list if endless.
Location: The location is badly signed and hard to find at night. The roads around the hotel are in disrepair and badly lit.
I called the day before arrival to say that I would be arriving at 6am, and if that were an issue. I was told "no". Arriving at the hotel after a long flight, I get told that there is a ~A$120 charge for checking it before 7am (as check-in was fixed at 10am) as an "early morning check-in fee", and an additional ~$120 charge for an "early morning room preparation charge". To put this into perspective, I was paying ~A$120 per night. There was a stand-off at Reception for nearly an hour before things were rectified and I was allowed to my room with no additional charges. The room was old, dilapidated, had stained furniture and no curtains on some windows. The shower struggled to produce hot water and most of the TV channels were scrambled. I then attempted to order room service from the all-day menu. No one answered the room service number, so I called Reception and asked to be connected. The room service number would ring, and someone would pick up the phone and hang up. This happened twice before I told Reception to get room service to call me. This finally happened and I placed my order. The food arrived, and the room service attendant then proceeded to try to get me to pay in cash, claiming that "small items were charged like that". I challenged him saying I'd call Reception to check this policy, and he began stammering about how perhaps I could sign. I will never come back to this hotel again - it was a terrible experience.