Ratings based on 659 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable, convenient location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The location was great, just over the Lion's Gate bridge (on the North Side). Close to hiking, Grouse Mountain, and only a short trip downtown.
Cons: The room was dated, particularly the carpets and curtains, and the bathroom did not have a door.
Location: Very close to Capilano Suspension bridge, Lynn Canyon, Stanley Park and Grouse Mountain.
I stayed for eight nights and was quite comfortable. The room was dated (particularly the carpets), but clean, and I appreciated that the room had it's own climate control. The location was fantastic - very close to hiking trails and Grouse Mtn, and only a short drive (10 minutes) to downtown. Plenty of parking spaces, and I ended up leaving my car and taking public transit as there are buses right outside to take you wherever you need to go. Breakfast was fairly standard - toast, cereal, coffee, etc - but the seating area was limited and on several occasions I just took my breakfast back to my room as there were no seats available. The pool was also cleaned every day and well maintained. My only real complaints are about the bathroom. First, the door did not close This was not a huge problem, as I was travelling alone, however I had to ensure that the curtains were closed every time I showered. Lastly, the shower head was too low, and I had to stoop down to take a shower (I am 5'8"). I would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from simi valley, ca

Simple and effective

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Cheap. Free parking. 5 min from downtown. Safe. Quiet. Free breakfast. Great for a thrifty vacation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, ON. Canada

Close to places we wanted to see.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: More seating for breakfast patrons?
Location: See my answers above.
Enjoyed our (1) night stay. Hotel is located close to the places we wanted to see. Lynne Canyon Park/Stanley Park & Granville Island. Hotel is located in North Vancouver in a nice area. Hotel has an outdoor pool (good size) & very clean. Free breakfast is substantial & very filling. Rates were very reasonable for what is offered. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Nice setting. Convenient location. Friendly staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2 night stay

Posted Jul 15, 2014
The bed is huge enough for me (5ft) to lay on either way (side to side or head to toe). Bathroom is a little small and the door is a sliding one that seems a little fragile. Asked for a smoking room but I guess the whole place decided to turn itself into a non smoking hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The Grouse Inn in North Vancouver

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The breakfast was pretty good but the air did not work well. The room was old fashion & not well kept up. The swimming pool was good but I would not recommend to my friends. The staff was not helpful at all as they gave us wrong directions to go to our ferry ride.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Rooms Stink, Toilets Clogged Up

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Vicinity to Capilano Suspension Bridge, Stanley Park, downtown.
Cons: Rooms have to be upgraded, remodelled including carpets and draperies changed. The all beddings are to be washed after each use.
Location: Near the Steve Nash Fitness Centre but this inn's got only 2 passes available. This inn is close to Highway 1.
We found that the rooms are stink, bathrooms even worse in both rooms we rented, couldn't imagine we survived the smell during our 2 day stay. Tried to provide air freshener but didn't solve the problem. Lock not functional in the washroom pocket door, one of our kids got locked in. Called the front desk but no maintenance person available to work on the problem. One of them had to get her own screwdriver in her car and I had to tinker the lock and able to free the poor kid after 30 minutes. Toilet is clogged up, no maintenance person working at 5PM. Front desk provided a plunger for us to pump on previously clogged toilet. Price is cheap, we paid $99 per room, but it's not worth the hassle.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for access to Grouse Mountain.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Excellent location for access to Grouse Mountain, Capilano, Stanley Park and Sea to Sky Highway as we wanted to do all of these before heading to Whistler. Hotel was clean, staff were nice, price was right. Only issue us that rooms were dated and could use an upgrade.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during our Canadian vacation and will not be returning. The entire hotel appeared in mild disrepair. Our room was dark and the bed mattress was stiff and uncomfortable. We returned to the hotel after being away for the day and found our toilet not functioning properly, it was constantly running and water covered the bathroom floor, (it worked fine when we left that morning before housekeeping cleaned). The person in the lobby told us the maintenance man was gone for the day, then just stared at us. I finally said we would need another room since our toilet did not work. He agreed to this and provided us with a different room. However, the new room did not provide all of the accessories that our former room had, including a refrigerator. I was 7 months pregnant and I needed my beverages cold! :) (Plus we had food we were keeping in it). We returned to the lobby and told the staff we wanted to keep our original room (there were no others available) and my husband could fix the toilet enough to function through the night if maintenance would fix the next day. They agreed so my husband cleaned the toilet water from the floor and jimmied the toilet enough to flush semi-adequately. Maintenance did come the next day, however the toilet remained in the same condition (taking a very long time to flush and refill with water, leaking out the base). The only positive was that the continental breakfast was decent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Atlanta,Georgia

A satisfying hotel.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The pool and breakfast though there could have been more varieties of breakfast options.
Cons: The reception for the TV in room 119.
Location: Park Royal, Grouse Mountain, and Transportation.
I liked it very much at the grouse Inn. There were many pamphlets which gave us visitors something to do. the pool was refreshing and it had many toys for the kids perfect space for tanning near the pool. When you got to your room first it is nice and neat like no one else has been there that means that room service did a great job! Many people relied on the grouse inn so there were a lot of people to meet. The grouse hotel was great it was my first time there and it most definitely wont be my last!