Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United States of America

landmark hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: excellent breakfast
Cons: noise reduction
Location: close to historical attractions and a walking tour
The first night was extremely noisy with loud music until 3:00 am. There were double pane windows, but the inside window wouldn't close. The second night I moved to a different room which was quiet, and even had a window that opened for fresh air. It had not been renovated like the other room, so it had no air conditioning, no hair dryer, no working TV, and a very hard bed.
5 out of 5
by Bas

Nice one-night stop

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
Just next to the freeway. But nothing else around it. Good breakfast!
3 out of 5
by D

Needs investment!

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel needs a facelift. And so do the lifts! So slow. Service not brilliant. One morning the breakfast area had a power cut and nobody did anything!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Close to Kok-Tobe Hill

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Wide selection at breakfast buffet. On-site currency exchage and souvenir shop.
Cons: The reception was not particulary helpful, depending on the person, and may fail to to the simple task in a timely manner. (replacing the room key)
Location: Post office within 5-minute walk.
The stay was fine as a whole. Good value for the money. I stayed here twice and each room seems to have its specific interiors. So, my second stay room was more gorgeous than my first stay room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA USA

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The lobby and breakfast.
Cons: The tv set was tiny and had limited channels. The room seemed outdated.
Location: There are a couple of grocery stores nearby.
I really liked the breakfast. There was a lot of variety. The bed was comfortable. I had a good view of the city from my room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, dirty water

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
Brown water from the sink and toilet
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location, but scruffy rooms

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Ebookers
As above, the rooms are small and poorly equipped, although this is reflected in the price. A bedside lamp, and sink and bath plugs would be a cheap addition!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Derek from Warsaw

you get what you paid for

Posted May 20, 2013
good location, friendly reception staff, very basic rooms,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good choice if you don't want to pay for 5 stars.

Posted Mar 10, 2012
Pros: English speakers. Walking distance from many things. Staff helped me with everything I asked about.
Cons: Before I left I used the hotel money exchange for my remaining Tenge. Check the calculation in front of the guy. He didn't do it right for me.
I've been staying in hotels throughout Kazakhstan for nearly two years. Some people have bad things to say about this place, but I suspect they are either comparing this place to nice hotels in other countries or the few very high-end hotels in this country. Compared to the other hotels I've stayed in in Kazakhstan this place leaves little for me to complain about. The rooms are small, but that is normal here. The bathroom isn't that great, but better than other places I've seen. I was just happy to see an enclosed shower and not smell sewer gasses coming from the drain. There is usually at least one person at reception who speaks some English. The reception area is very nice looking. There is a 24-hour security guard and metal detector you are supposed to walk through. Of course, if you just walked right around it there is a good chance no one will question you. The rooms have free wi-fi, but you need to obtain login and passwords from the front desk. Each one they give you lasts 6 hours, so take two or three before going up to your room. Room service and laundry were fairly expensive, but that is to be expected in a descent hotel in this city. Across the street and to the right you will find The Guinness Pub, a liquor shop, currency exchange, electronics store and book store. Out reception, to the left is a combination Gloria Jeans and Noodle restaurant. Hotel taxis are expensive at around 1000T, to the airport was 4000T.
4 out of 5
by Marianna

Отличное расположение

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
У отеля есть огромный плюс - его очень удобное расположение. И огромный минус - сервис и катастрофическая работа лифтов. Бронировала улучшенный номер, дали обычный - старый и пошарпанный. Ещё и пытались доказать, что он и есть улучшенный. Лифт приходилось ждать по 10-15 минут!