Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Lovely place to stay but.......

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: The beautiful setting of the hotel building and great pool and views.
Cons: The service at reception could be a bit more attentive - there were many times when there was nobody about.
Location: The hotel is situated more than 4km up a very narrow unlit road up a steep hill so be prepared as it can be a little intimidating especially at night.
The hotel building, grounds, pool and view are all fantastic but we were disappointed with the rooms. The building was originally an abbey so we weren't expecting massive rooms but the double we booked for 3 nights was tiny by any standards (we were given room 12, Lavanda). Although it had a double bed in it there was barely room to move around at all and in reality it was a small single room and should have been sold as such. We asked to be moved but were told that all of the rooms were the same size. The following morning we found this not to be the case when we looked into a room that was being cleaned and found it to be much bigger. We were then moved later that day to a bigger room but it seemed to be more due to the efforts of the cleaning lady rather than the management. Other than the room issue the hotel is very clean, good facilities and offers a great place to have a secluded break as it is situated way up on a hill in the woods away from "civilisation" but it's only a 15 minute drive down to Arezzo where there are plenty of restaurants and we were fortunate to find the jousting festival taking place. An unusual feature is the regular appearance of the wild boars that are quite happy to forage in the hotel grounds almost unaware of the guests! Although we didn't have dinner in the hotel restaurant, we had breakfast there and it was very good with plenty of choice. All in all a lovely place but the room problem soured the experience for us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hillside hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Pool area, quality of food in the restaurant, tranquility, free parking, Wifi
Cons: Sitting furniture in the room, attitude of the main waiter in the restaurant.
We booked this hotel because we were attracted to the amenities (pool, free parking and restaurant). While it is quite out of the way we still enjoyed the location as it overlooked the city of Arezzo and was quite peaceful. Alessandro the manager was wonderful and responsive to our specific requests while the restaurant waiter was very moody and not particularly friendly. The room was large but lacked sitting furniture and proper lighting, and was quiet. Screens in windows kept bugs out and allowed to sleep with the windows opened. We would recommend this hotel for short stays especially with nice weather (nice pool area).
4 out of 5
by chris from Solihull UK

Historic Hideaway Hotel

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed 2 nights in this old Monastery hideaway and overall enjoyed our stay. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and thought the food was good, which is a bonus because the Hotel is located on a hillside above Arezzo with no other restaurants close by. Staff were pleasant & attentive. There is no proper bar area which is a pity, but this presumably would not be an issue most of the time because you can sit outside on the terrace most of the year and enjoy the fabulous views. Weather just was not great when we were there. The pool looks great and well maintained - just a little too cold in May! We stayed in Room #18 and overall it is not up to 4* standard, especially the bathroom which was not great. Nonetheless, overall, we would recommend this Hotel, with its magnificent setting overlooking Arezzo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

calm and gorgeous— outside arezzo

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: the place itself. the building. its renovation
Cons: signage to find the place, accommodation for small meals and appetizers in common area.
Location: location is unique. and offers all one needs to rest and enjoy distance to arezzo is about 10 kilometers (curly curvy road)
place is hard to find but well worth a try! use your GPS or you won't make it! once you arrive, you will just take it all in, and let yourself fall in love with the place. stunning view over arezzo, gorgeous renovation, beautiful gardens, pool. i recommend the place to anyone who likes a break from the city buzz
4 out of 5
by Rita from Boston

Beautiful country retreat close to Arezzo

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
We visited in November, which is probably not the best time to stay here, unless you are looking to get away from the city and for solitude. It is an historic stone building, which some find charming; others might be disappointed, as it lacks some of the modern conveniences found in glitzier hotels. The owners were very nice and upgraded us to a bigger, very private room. There was a problem with the heat and no hot water. But they cheerfully reduced the price and gave us the option of cancelling the second night without penalty. The breakfast was excellent and we could hear an owl at night. Would return in warmer weather next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely pool, views and very helpful staff. No restaurant for evening meant travelling some way to find an evening meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Quite nice - but hard to find.

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Cons: Better signage on the roads (there are 11 out of Arezzo) and adequate directions.
Location: Arezzo is a terrific town, with a good monthly antiques fair. The architecture and the art are wonderful.
In an attractive old building, but we disliked the owners' decorative taste. Good room and breakfast. A nightmare to find at night without a navigation aid.
5 out of 5
by Jerry

Marvelous stying

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was splendid .. nothing to say negativly
5 out of 5
by Gary and Marie from Worcester

Oh my god it's just heaven.

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels
We can't praise it enough. This will become our haven from now on. Set high in the Tuscan hills above Arezzo, it's a perfectly tranquil location. It's about three miles from town and enjoys a fabulous elevated rural position. It's set in generous grounds and has a superb out door pool and patio areas from which to enjoy the stunning scenery. The restaurant is just pure class, as is the service. The rooms are spacious and very clean/well appointed. We can't wait to get back there.