Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hillside hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Pool area, quality of food in the restaurant, tranquility, free parking, Wifi
Cons: Sitting furniture in the room, attitude of the main waiter in the restaurant.
We booked this hotel because we were attracted to the amenities (pool, free parking and restaurant). While it is quite out of the way we still enjoyed the location as it overlooked the city of Arezzo and was quite peaceful. Alessandro the manager was wonderful and responsive to our specific requests while the restaurant waiter was very moody and not particularly friendly. The room was large but lacked sitting furniture and proper lighting, and was quiet. Screens in windows kept bugs out and allowed to sleep with the windows opened. We would recommend this hotel for short stays especially with nice weather (nice pool area).
4 out of 5
by chris from Solihull UK

Historic Hideaway Hotel

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed 2 nights in this old Monastery hideaway and overall enjoyed our stay. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and thought the food was good, which is a bonus because the Hotel is located on a hillside above Arezzo with no other restaurants close by. Staff were pleasant & attentive. There is no proper bar area which is a pity, but this presumably would not be an issue most of the time because you can sit outside on the terrace most of the year and enjoy the fabulous views. Weather just was not great when we were there. The pool looks great and well maintained - just a little too cold in May! We stayed in Room #18 and overall it is not up to 4* standard, especially the bathroom which was not great. Nonetheless, overall, we would recommend this Hotel, with its magnificent setting overlooking Arezzo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

calm and gorgeous— outside arezzo

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: the place itself. the building. its renovation
Cons: signage to find the place, accommodation for small meals and appetizers in common area.
Location: location is unique. and offers all one needs to rest and enjoy distance to arezzo is about 10 kilometers (curly curvy road)
place is hard to find but well worth a try! use your GPS or you won't make it! once you arrive, you will just take it all in, and let yourself fall in love with the place. stunning view over arezzo, gorgeous renovation, beautiful gardens, pool. i recommend the place to anyone who likes a break from the city buzz
4 out of 5
by Rita from Boston

Beautiful country retreat close to Arezzo

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
We visited in November, which is probably not the best time to stay here, unless you are looking to get away from the city and for solitude. It is an historic stone building, which some find charming; others might be disappointed, as it lacks some of the modern conveniences found in glitzier hotels. The owners were very nice and upgraded us to a bigger, very private room. There was a problem with the heat and no hot water. But they cheerfully reduced the price and gave us the option of cancelling the second night without penalty. The breakfast was excellent and we could hear an owl at night. Would return in warmer weather next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely pool, views and very helpful staff. No restaurant for evening meant travelling some way to find an evening meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Quite nice - but hard to find.

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Cons: Better signage on the roads (there are 11 out of Arezzo) and adequate directions.
Location: Arezzo is a terrific town, with a good monthly antiques fair. The architecture and the art are wonderful.
In an attractive old building, but we disliked the owners' decorative taste. Good room and breakfast. A nightmare to find at night without a navigation aid.
5 out of 5
by Jerry

Marvelous stying

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was splendid .. nothing to say negativly
5 out of 5
by Gary and Marie from Worcester

Oh my god it's just heaven.

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels
We can't praise it enough. This will become our haven from now on. Set high in the Tuscan hills above Arezzo, it's a perfectly tranquil location. It's about three miles from town and enjoys a fabulous elevated rural position. It's set in generous grounds and has a superb out door pool and patio areas from which to enjoy the stunning scenery. The restaurant is just pure class, as is the service. The rooms are spacious and very clean/well appointed. We can't wait to get back there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Place to visit !!

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels
Great view of the Tuscany valley, well located and excellent service from the staff!! Highly recommendable !!!