Ratings based on 598 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Wonderful island hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Beautiful beach and grounds, wonderful staff and delicious restaurants. Staff is attemtive but laid back. Air conditioning will probably not be as cold as you are used to. Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. Hotel is on its own on the southern end of the island which was less crowded than where most hotels were. You will need transportation to activities and outside restaurants. Concierge was very helpful with tours and restaurants. If you want to earn activity credit you can book a residence meeting. Sales staff was lovely and not pushy at all. Would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous views

Posted Apr 15, 2017
I loved the hotel it's self and the staff was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor

Great hotel, staff very helpful

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Great room with a great view. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Restaurants were nice. Had some issues with dinners matching the menu. Overall, great experience. Would definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Sophia Gunning, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We do hope that you will consider us for your future holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Beautiful place, beautiful beach, great food, excellent service!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

DO NOT RECOMMEND!!

Posted Mar 27, 2017
There was black mode in my ocean view suite master bathroom shower. I had to ask twice for it to be removed. The AC was set to 10C which is 50F and the room wouldn't cool. I was told it was my building (5). Was offered two new rooms in Bldg 8 and 9. Two hours after room 941A was set to 10C, it was warmer then my room in bldg 5. Same with room in bldg 8., not cool after being set to 10C. I ended up staying in my room in bldg 5. They brought me a portable AC. It only made the master bedroom a little cooler. As I was taking a shower one night, the power went out. They said it went out in the surrounding area, not just at the resort. The water pressure greatly decreased and it was pitch black. It's inconceivable that a place that calls itself a "luxury" resort does not have back up generators. And if they do, they certainly didn't work. The power was out for about an hour and people were stuck in the elevators. The food was just okay and overpriced. I've vacationed in every continent in the world except for Antartica. Im a foodie and don't mind paying good money for high quality food. I could go on and on but it's not necessary. Bottom line is, I can say from experience that the less favorable reviews on trip advisor are true! The bellmen are extremely nice and professional and the front desk was nice as well but one of them needs some customer service training. When I received my final bill, $100 USD had been deducted with a reference to the AC issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A beautiful traditional property.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
If you want to move around from this hotel it's easier and cheaper to have a car . A beautiful property. Nice for families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Beautiful grounds and view, but far away.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Totally recommend the bar by the adult pool, we discovered after 5 days sadly, better bigger cocktails, better food menu by the pool, protein shakes
Cons: Concierge was very helpful and eager to help. BUT...I wish there were more recommendations of PRIVATE excursions, such as private snorkel/boat trips
Location: Everything to do is VERY far from the Crane. Rent a car and do some research before you go. The activities tend to be big group ones. :(
First time in Barbados, the Crane staff was very attentive and grounds were amazing! Sadly it was a very windy time of year when we visited so we could not swim at the beach (red flag) not their fault. But the beach was beautiful and staff were very attentive. I would recommend trying to get a ocean front view, we stayed garden view which was nice but we ran into a few "hiccups" which were resolved after 3 frustrating days (they did make good on it but not fun to go through) so I would recommend a newer bldg. and plan on staying on resort for most of your vacation. Restaurants are good on site, and Taxi's are available but the Crane is VERY far from Bridgetown and Hometown (where most of the restaurants were that were recommended off site) and it was VERY costly taxing back and forth. Next time I would rent a car for sure. The food at Zen was really good, La Zure was nice as well, we did not eat at the Italian place. There is a small store on site for small grocery items and wine which was nice. We got room service too. We tipped on every receipt, they pool staff tips. I wish I knew the beach water was too rough to snorkel, and I wish they had recommended another close beach to snorkel at, it is a favorite vacation activity. People were body boarding but it was too rough for my kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Sophia Gunning, Hotel Management
Thank you for feedback. We will meet with the team to discuss private excursions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Elegant Hotel, friendly staff, and beautiful beach

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The Crane is absolutely gorgeous. The property itself is well manicured, and the rooms are lavish, comfortable, and immaculate. Right adjacent to the beach, you have your choice of sun and sand, or to relax poolside. All options offer stunning views of the landscape. The restaraunts have menus to suit anyone's tastes ranging from casual to fine dining. No matter which you choose, you'll enjoy delicious food at fair prices. It wasn't just the Barbados sun that kept us warm. There is a friendliness about the staff at the Crane that is quite remarkable. Everyone goes out of their way to greet you each morning and assist you with any help you might need. One particular staff member, Karimah, at the concierge desk helped us plan our excursions to celebrate our anniversary. Her bubbly and sweet nature were just an added bonus to her professionalism and knowledge about the island. Every time we ran into her, she greeted us with a big 'hello' and we'd chat a little about the day's plans. It's relationship building like this that will keep us, and many other guests, I'm sure, returning to the Crane.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Karen, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback Gina. We will be sure to pass on your review to the staff members . We hope that we will see you at some point in time in the near future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KS

Best Ever

Posted Feb 19, 2017
From the greeter at the curb to the houskeeping staff, all were in team with each other and were dedicated to making guests comfortable and welcomed. Our check- in experience was relaxed as we were taken to the lobby and treated with rum punch. We were amazed at how friendly everyone was. Another agent took us to our building, as it is a large campus with five pools and multiple restaurants/shopping areas. But easy access to everything. We are sold in this resort and will return. Note: water in Barbados is fresh and clean, so no problems at all with illness. Also, the Crane uses US 110 current, so no need for converters. It was these features that made it so comfortable and relaxing. The beach is private, smaller and beautiful with powder-soft sand surrounded by huge boulders. Lounge chairs, towels and umbrellas are provided. True luxury.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this lovely review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the facilities and offerings of the resort. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Spectacular resort, great restaurants, first class service and very friendly staff. Our first time at the Crane and we plan on returning next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your first stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you when you return next year!