Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Beautiful grounds and view, but far away.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Totally recommend the bar by the adult pool, we discovered after 5 days sadly, better bigger cocktails, better food menu by the pool, protein shakes
Cons: Concierge was very helpful and eager to help. BUT...I wish there were more recommendations of PRIVATE excursions, such as private snorkel/boat trips
Location: Everything to do is VERY far from the Crane. Rent a car and do some research before you go. The activities tend to be big group ones. :(
First time in Barbados, the Crane staff was very attentive and grounds were amazing! Sadly it was a very windy time of year when we visited so we could not swim at the beach (red flag) not their fault. But the beach was beautiful and staff were very attentive. I would recommend trying to get a ocean front view, we stayed garden view which was nice but we ran into a few "hiccups" which were resolved after 3 frustrating days (they did make good on it but not fun to go through) so I would recommend a newer bldg. and plan on staying on resort for most of your vacation. Restaurants are good on site, and Taxi's are available but the Crane is VERY far from Bridgetown and Hometown (where most of the restaurants were that were recommended off site) and it was VERY costly taxing back and forth. Next time I would rent a car for sure. The food at Zen was really good, La Zure was nice as well, we did not eat at the Italian place. There is a small store on site for small grocery items and wine which was nice. We got room service too. We tipped on every receipt, they pool staff tips. I wish I knew the beach water was too rough to snorkel, and I wish they had recommended another close beach to snorkel at, it is a favorite vacation activity. People were body boarding but it was too rough for my kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Sophia Gunning, Hotel Management
Thank you for feedback. We will meet with the team to discuss private excursions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Elegant Hotel, friendly staff, and beautiful beach

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The Crane is absolutely gorgeous. The property itself is well manicured, and the rooms are lavish, comfortable, and immaculate. Right adjacent to the beach, you have your choice of sun and sand, or to relax poolside. All options offer stunning views of the landscape. The restaraunts have menus to suit anyone's tastes ranging from casual to fine dining. No matter which you choose, you'll enjoy delicious food at fair prices. It wasn't just the Barbados sun that kept us warm. There is a friendliness about the staff at the Crane that is quite remarkable. Everyone goes out of their way to greet you each morning and assist you with any help you might need. One particular staff member, Karimah, at the concierge desk helped us plan our excursions to celebrate our anniversary. Her bubbly and sweet nature were just an added bonus to her professionalism and knowledge about the island. Every time we ran into her, she greeted us with a big 'hello' and we'd chat a little about the day's plans. It's relationship building like this that will keep us, and many other guests, I'm sure, returning to the Crane.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Karen, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback Gina. We will be sure to pass on your review to the staff members . We hope that we will see you at some point in time in the near future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KS

Best Ever

Posted Feb 19, 2017
From the greeter at the curb to the houskeeping staff, all were in team with each other and were dedicated to making guests comfortable and welcomed. Our check- in experience was relaxed as we were taken to the lobby and treated with rum punch. We were amazed at how friendly everyone was. Another agent took us to our building, as it is a large campus with five pools and multiple restaurants/shopping areas. But easy access to everything. We are sold in this resort and will return. Note: water in Barbados is fresh and clean, so no problems at all with illness. Also, the Crane uses US 110 current, so no need for converters. It was these features that made it so comfortable and relaxing. The beach is private, smaller and beautiful with powder-soft sand surrounded by huge boulders. Lounge chairs, towels and umbrellas are provided. True luxury.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this lovely review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the facilities and offerings of the resort. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Spectacular resort, great restaurants, first class service and very friendly staff. Our first time at the Crane and we plan on returning next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your first stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you when you return next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable Stay

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: We were happy with our 4 night stay, the hotel is well planned out, clean and well maintained, beach great with good beach attendants
Cons: All was well organised
Location: The location and views are stunning. Stayed on the complex for the 4 nights so couldn't really comment on nearby attractions etc
Lovely complex, friendly staff. We were at the hotel for the last 4 nights of our 21 night stay in Barbados. The hotel has fabulous views from the cliff side location, on the Atlantic ocean. Our one bedroomed suites had great views to the sea and the kitchen was equipped with almost everything if you wanted self catering. We ate at L' azure / Zen & the Carriage house and the food was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kensington, MD

Why not a 5?

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Room, staff, beach, ocean
Cons: Early coffee, i.e. 6:00 a.m. Consistent Internet connection.
Location: Location is windward, hence big surf. If you don't rent a car you are in the property and nowhere else.
Beach is great, but windward powerful waves coming at angles with lots of crosscurrents. Be careful. If you don't rent a car, you are stuck with Crane's 4 restaurants, one of which offers only drinks and a pitiful tapas menu. No place to get a cup of coffee until 7:00 a.m. Internet is off and on. To make sure you can get an available Internet connection, restart your computer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are pleased to note the areas you enjoyed during your stay. Please be assured that we have taken note of the areas you highlighted for improvement. It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Crane.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best beach in the world

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Waiting staff were all very nice but service was on the slower side. I guess when you're on island time it's all good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review of The Crane. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville,SC

Great vacation!

Posted Jan 22, 2017
The Crane was fabulous! Everyone there was so nice and polite. The food especially Zen was great! It was a relaxing vacation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this lovely review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us at The Crane. It was indeed our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

I love the Crane, doing a timeshare!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Perhaps bathrobes in the rooms.
Location: Easy access to a gas station and grocery store. Great restaurant, Marco Polo next door--get the lion fish and macaroni pie.
A great place. The setting and grounds are just beautiful. Our room--a deluxe suite was lovely--beautiful furnishings and patio with comfy chairs. A fully equipped kitchen. The beach was the best. Pink sand, a cliff to jump off from, and nice waves. Restaurant were all good--not overpriced and delicious. The staff was friendly and great. I am going back again, I decided to do a timeshare.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us. We are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Please be assured that we have taken note of the area suggested for improvement. We look forward to welcoming you when you return as an owner!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thought we had an ocean view but it was a garden

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Cons: Booking experience was unclear as I thought I was getting an ocean view and an all inclusive
Location: Nothing to do nearby. Very isolated and dated/run down. Nearest activity was over 45 minutes away.
Horrendous. Thought we had an ocean view and turned out it was a garden view for over $900 per night! Thought it was incisive and turns out it wasn't. My daughter got found poison. Needless to say, a very unpleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
The Crane's removed location on the South East Coast of Barbados is perfect for those who wish to get away from it all on their Barbados vacation. While we are disappointed The Crane did not suit your needs, we hope you'll return to our beautiful island to experience more of what it has to offer.