Ratings based on 508 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

relaxed getaway

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Great hotel. Lacked some options for food and was far away from everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
We are pleased you enjoyed a relaxed getaway with us at The Crane. Our removed location is perfect for these, with world-class amenities and services including 5 award-winning restaurants. We are also only a short distance away from the island's entertainment hubs - Oistins and St. Lawrence Gap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Perfect Family Vacation

Posted Feb 1, 2016
This review is long overdue. We stayed in May 2016 and made a switch from a vacation villa rental which was not suiting our families needs. We relocated to the lovely and beautiful Crane resort and it could not have further exceeded our expectations. The grounds are immaculate, the rooms are spacious and the staff are incredible, going above and beyond to make all your requests happen. We did have a minor hiccup upon checkin with our suite where the air conditioning wasn't working so we were shown many other options for our consideration, including a ground floor room with a large private pool. We opted to return to a bigger floor with a smaller private pool with a gate to ensure the safety of our young daughters (1.5 & 4 yrs old). We must say that James Best went above and beyond to ensure our stay was incredible. The beach, although they were dealing with the seaweed problem that plagued many Caribbean islands, was phenomenal. The staff worked tirelessly to do their best with keeping it tidy. The pools were endless and there was always a private spot to find. We enjoyed The Carriage House restaurant and the Italian as well as the ice cream shop. We took advantage of the handy sundries shop. Overall The Crane was just what we were looking for and we can't wait to return!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2016 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review. James was thrilled by your special mention. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to welcome you back to The Crane and the beautifully restored Crane Beach very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Beautiful view and wonderful staff

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: The Staff
Cons: Nothing. Everything was amazing.
Excellent stay. This is a must visit. The hotel staff were professional from check -in all the way to check-out. Amazing staff. The ladies at the service desk was really nice and helpful thank you again Keisha. The front desk night staff Julian also amazing. The bar tenders were amazing thanks a million Marlon ( he makes the best drinks).The staff everyone was just amazing. The view the hotel everything was just amazing Definitely worth the money. This hotel is a MUST stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2016 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for this fantastic recommendation. Each member of staff mentioned was absolutely delighted to learn they played memorable roles in making your vacation experience a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back to The Crane soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Subdued and relaxing

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Aside from the construction that we were aware of prior to booking, it is a lovely resort. Quiet, quaint and clean. The food was rather disappointing but service was excellent and staff courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2016 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this review. Please be assured that we have taken note of the areas highlighted for improvement. Most guests will find the ongoing development of The Crane Private Residences to be minimally intrusive, due to its location at the rear of the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, MA

Excellent Holiday Getaway!

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Great experience at the crane from Christmas to New Years Eve. Friendly staff, great room, excellent food. Would definitely go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2016 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for this wonderful review! It was our pleasure to welcome you over the holidays and we hope to welcome you back to The Crane soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nottingham, UK

Better places to stay in Barbados

Posted Jan 2, 2016
This was our first time in Barbados and we chose the Crane on recommendation of an acquaintance. It's quite remote and there are better places to stay on the island, having spoken to other people there. South of the island is the place to be. The gorgeous hot weather meant the hotel was largely irrelevant but nevertheless I wouldn't go back there, there was very little to do there and our 3 children were pretty bored so we took on lots of out of resort excursions to compensate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2016 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
The Crane's removed location on the South East Coast of Barbados is perfect for those who wish to get away from it all on their Barbados vacation. While we are disappointed The Crane did not suit your needs, we hope you'll return to our beautiful island to experience more of what it has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fl

Wedding reception & 4nite stay

Posted Dec 28, 2015
In Bds 4 fam wedding & stayed 4nites @ Crane. Reception ws catered by Crane. Stunningly gorgeous property!!! ...food @ Azure & @ reception ws phenominal!!... Hadnt been here 20yrs so shocked 2c wht Crane became. Def goin bck nxt yr
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2016 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for this fantastic review. It was indeed our pleasure to welcome you back to see how much the property has been expanded and developed in recent years. We look forward to your return!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Hotel with potential

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Pros: Room was clean, gardens are lovely.
Cons: Neither the hot water nor the air conditioner work in the room. One little mirror over bathroom sink so you can only see your face. Low water pressure
Wanted a nice reasonable hotel for my birthday weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2016 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear your recent stay fell shorts of expectations. Unfortunately, our hot water and A/C systems have been impacted by external water pressure challenges in recent times. However, we have already made quite a number of significant adjustments to our plant to limit these occurrences
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful hotel. Customer service not so much.

Posted Dec 20, 2015
I had a beautiful welcome from a young man who brought our luggage to our room but when we went to check out and saw our bill for breakfast was $100 Barbados. We booked our flight with a travel agent and was told we would get a $20 usd breakfast by our travel agent. After a 30 minute wait for Shanelle (the manager on duty according to her) to even pay attention to our confusion on our bill. She still refused to correct our bill after I showed her the document our travel agent sent us detailing the $20 usd breakfast. It was not the money but more the principal in the end and how she handled the situation like we were insignificant and stupid. We will be looking for other Accomodations upon our return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dartmouth, MA

The Crane

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: I liked the Crane because it was away from the city and pretty remote. The rooms were very nice, like old plantation homes, dark wood, light floors.
Cons: Some of the appliances were not in good working order, ice maker, toaster and the whirlpool tub sounded like you were taking off in a jet.
Location: The location was pretty remote, we didn't find anything around to do but go to the beach
We stayed at the Crane for six nights as we were there for a wedding. The wedding party stayed at Cragmere house outside the property but it was easy to get there. I really enjoyed the openness of the hotel, the sound of the surf and the tradewinds. We were at Building 5 and it was wonderful. The views, both day and night, were amazing. The only thing I found lacking was the grocery store was sparse and there was no ATM on the premises. Otherwise, the food was fantastic and the room was gorgeous. I did wish the maid had at least swept the floor once in a while, it was pretty groady when we left. It would be really nice to have had an infinity pool overlooking the cliffs out to the ocean but the pools were okay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2016 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! Please be assured that we have also taken note of the areas you highlighted for improvement as we strive to consistently surpass our guests' expectations. You'll also be pleased to learn an ATM will be available on property in the coming months.