Ratings based on 887 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

clean hotel near USF

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Close to USF.
Location: Everything was easily accessible. .
Our stay was for one over-night and we were only there to sleep. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice looking hotel on the outside.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Room smelled like old carpets and there were stains on the carpet. The bed and pillows were too soft. The shower pressure was good tho.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tampa Stay

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The water wasnt working and I was not informed when I checked in. It wasnt until I called the front desk that I was told they are fixing the pipes. Was working the next morning. The TV never quite worked right. Channels would come in and out and sometimes I couldnt even change the channel unless I turned the TV off and on again and again. But I think alot of the people staying there are displaced Florida residents from the hurricane so my issues were nothing compared to those in need so thank you Wyndham for helping.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room nice; pool needs repairs; lacks security

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: The room was roomy and clean.
Cons: Update pool facilities and make sure that details on the website are accurate.
Location: Location was great. Close to attractions, lots of restaurants and close to interstate 75 and 275.
Our room was very nice and roomy. Continental breakfast was great. I was disappointed at the fact that the website mentioned there was a bar on the premises but had been discontinued for quite sometime. Also, the pool chairs were old and worn and not all tables had umbrellas; no shade anywhere so very hot. Also, I did not feel safe. There were persons putting paper in the door jam so it did not lock at night and the door was unlocked part of the day for anyone to walk in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marietta, GA

Wyngate at Busch Gardens

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: The hotel was exactly near where I was visiting
Cons: The only thing I was taken back was that there were people who were still there from hurricane Irma who I felt maked the hotel look seedy. Else A+
Location: Busch Gardens is right across the street, airport nearby, Bucs staduim, plenty of restaurants, and stores. around.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the place staff and place looked really nice. If I come back to Tampa to visit I will look into their hotel first.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples

Overpriced

Posted Oct 1, 2017
It was OK bur not what I expected for the money I paid. Floor wet all the time close to pool and jacuzzi and floor of only elevator apparently working.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Florida

Would not stay here again

Posted Sep 30, 2017
I wish I had liked this hotel.hotel. It was close to Busch Gardens and it had a shuttle to the park. The room had a fridge and microwave. That's all the positives I can think of. Now for the negatives. I had requested a crib through my Expedia booking, which the hotel claimed they didn't receive. Ok cool, good thing I called to double check. When we arrived at 11 pm with a tired crying baby and asked upon check in to make sure the crib is in the room, the front desk guy said "I have no idea, you'll have to find out when you go up. And I hope it's there cause I don't know where the cribs are." Guess what? There was no crib. He finally brought us a crib. Except it wasn't a crib, it was a grubby little pack n play that had luggage tags on it. Yep, someone else's forgotten pack n play. And no sheets for it. Then my older child attempted to sleep on the pull out sofa. Except the sofa had no mattress to speak of. Only springs wrapped in plastic? I've never seen anything like it. They were not able to bring us another sofa mattress, so the next evening they brought a rollaway bed. The safe wouldn't lock. At that point I asked for a new room but of course they didn't have any other kings available. The air conditioner started leaking on the second night, we had to shove towels under it to stop the drip drip sounds. When we came back from the park the second day, both of our keys had been deactivated. Out of space for my review but you get the idea. Pick a different hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unfortunate

Posted Sep 30, 2017
There were many many FEMA evacuees there. Children running wild everywhere. Not much food left by 7:30am! As a Professor at USF across the street, I have stayed at this Wyndham at least 50 times over the past 6 years and this is my only not excellent review. A ahame
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, OH

Great Staff

Posted Sep 20, 2017
My mom had to evacuate from Irma and spent 4 days at this hotel. The staff did an amazing job taking care of her needs and making her feel very welcome. The room was clean and well maintained, the breakfast was awesome, and overall, a great experience for a frazzled senior citizen. The staff went above and beyond to make her stay enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa

During Irma

Posted Sep 13, 2017
I stayed their during hurricane Irma with my family. Great experience during difficult time. Staff were excellent, they kept us informed and they made us feel very safe. Thank you!!