Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
A gorgeously tranquil hotel for those who appreciate the intimacy of boutique hotels.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas, USA

nice clean hotel close to V and A .

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Staff are very helpful and always have a smile and greeting. The rooms are clean and well stocked. Breakfast came with room rental and you can choose any meal off the breakfast menu. I also chose to have lunch here on occasion and every meal has been top notch. I would for sure choose to stay here again if I visit Cape Town.
5 out of 5
by Rita E

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Neil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Milagros from Washington DC

Fantastic Boutique Hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
The Sugar Hotel is very good in general, clean, very well located; breakfast is excellent quality and plenty; restaurant Mark's Table pretty good. All staff is helpful, providing guidance if needed, always smiling. Next time in Cape Town I will stay here. I recommend it 100%
5 out of 5
by Muhanad from Chicago

Great Hotel in safe part of CPT

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel in a safe part of CPT. The service was excellent. From check-in to check-out, I had a wonderful experience. The staff were super friendly and very helpful in answering many questions and arranging taxi pick ups. I would stay there again without hesitation. The only negative thing I would say is a about one particular person who seemed to be in charge of the restaurant. He had a bit of an attitude. I asked him if I can have lunch there one day at the restaurant and he wasn't happy about it. He reacted like if I asked him for the impossible. He immodestly suggested that I go somewhere else for lunch. Then again for dinner he was unfortunately the person who took my order. He made many negative remarks about the gay night life in CPT and kept refusing to serve me Rose wine which is my preference. I am not sure what his problem was but he certainly seems to be in charge. I think the restaurant operates separately from the hotel. And although the food was excellent and the staff were nice, that one person certainly left me with a bad impression. I would stay in the hotel again but will probably never go to the restaurant :)
5 out of 5
by Frederik from UK

Quintessential boutique

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
Charming boutique hotel with spacious rooms and bathrooms. The atmosphere and ambience are calming and the decor is attractive with subtle African references. The staff are extreme;y friendly and nothing is too much trouble. All in all, everything that a boutique hotel should be.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Location, Staff and Food!

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: As there are only seven rooms, the staff has the capacity to be incredibly attentive - and they were! There is both an onsite spa and restaurant
Cons: There was a lovely pool on the terrace of my room, but I was advised not to use it. I beleve this is because of water shortages.
Location: All of the Cape Town sights: Cape Point, Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch, etc.
Outstanding location - very close to tourist activities; amazing staff - attended to every need; and fantastic restaurant - you must eat here even if you are not staying at the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Sarianna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Great value, central location, AMAZING STAFF!!!

Posted Dec 8, 2015
We loved our stay at Sugar! The staff were incredibly helpful with everything from dinner reservations to day trips and more; my husband left his cell phone in the taxi on our way to the airport and we called the hotel and they had the driver return to the airport with it - now that's service! The hotel location was great - a short walk to the V&A waterfront and walkable to central downtown. Lots of bars and restaurants within blocks of the hotel. The room was contemporary, spacious and clean, and the breakfast was delicious. We look forward to returning to Cape Town and staying at Sugar!!!