Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quebec

Week-end in Chianti

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Nice site with lot of space to relax. The gardens and terrasse offer a nice view of the area. Friendly staff, spacious room and on site restaurant.
Location: Walking in the old city, shopping and many cafes and restaurants. Many wineries to visit in the area.
Weekend to relax in Chianti and discover the region. We stopped in a few villages and tasted very good wines.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Good location but overpriced

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need an update, the internet reliability needs improvement, and the price needs to be realistic with nearby hotels.
First the pros. This hotel is perfectly located just outside of Radda in the Chianti region. The town of Radda has many restaurants, gelato shops and a grocery store. The room rate includes free breakfast (it's good, but not great), and free parking. There are terrific views from the rooms if you are lucky enough to get a room facing either side of the valley. The restaurant is very good and has great views. Now the cons. For our stay, the euro 300+ per night room rate was simply overpriced. All the other hotels in the area were half to one-third the rate. For that kind of rate, our expectations were much, much higher. We tried to negotiate our rate and even tried to check out early, but the hotel was not flexible and said we would still have to pay in full if we left. The rooms were small and modest at best. I would rate the rooms themselves as 2-star. Certainly nothing to boast about. Our room experienced lots of road noise (the hotel is split in the middle by the main road in to town). The free wifi kept cutting in and out during our entire stay. Value simply not worth the price. In our opinion, only pay 100-150 euros maximum for this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.S.

Beautiful property

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Beautiful setting. Beautiful historic property. Proximity to vineyards.
Cons: The food in restaurant - frozen dinner. Spoiling fruit at breakfast.
Location: Perfect for wine country.
Relais Vignale is a beautiful property set in Radda in Chianti. The grounds are charming and there is a beautiful view of vineyards from the on-site restaurant. Our room also had a wonderful Tuscan feel. The one odd thing about it is that we had to walk down several steps to get to the bathroom. We were grateful that the staff carried our luggage to our room from the parking lot as there is no lift. Also loved the fact that there is a parking lot and that parking is included in the price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Third time staying at Relais Vignale

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Cons: Pillows are too hard. They should include some softer pillows in the room.
We like this hotel mainly for its warm, homey atmosphere and good central location in Tuscany. The breakfasts are great, the staff is helpful and the rooms are very comfortable, but not luxurious. It feels like staying in someone's large home. Radda is a lovely town and not too crowded.
5 out of 5
by Natalie from Mississauga


Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for our honeymoon and had a very positive experience. The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Radda which in itself is a very picturesque town with beautiful views. Hotel is close to lots of restaurants and main amenities. It's got beautiful views but not pretentious. Would stay here again for sure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Centrally located

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Proximity to other towns. Located in the beautiful town of Radda in Chianti. You can walk all around the town and there are great local restaurants.
Cons: Mattresses could be updated. All else is perfect!
Location: The town of Radda is very charming. Definitely walk around it and explore the stronghold area. Drive to Castelvecchi and explore their cellars!
Outstanding hotel! You cannot beat the location, views, services and staff friendliness. The room we stayed in was a bit on the rustic side, which is perfect for Tuscany. It makes the whole experience more appealing. We were in the annex on the other side of the street of the hotel, and no complaints there; it is a very short walk to the hotel (you simply cross the street). The room was large, we had a small sitting room, then the bathroom and then the bedroom. The bathroom is of good size. The beds are OK, not the most comfortable, but the room was quiet and we slept just fine. The air conditioning works well. Radda in Chianti is a charming medieval village. We stayed here 3 nights. The hotel's breakfast is wonderful, and you sit outside under their large patio with views over the vineyards. The pool is great! And if they are many guests, they will send out someone to take a drink order. The hotel decor reminds you of a well appointed country home and it is super cozy. We enjoyed our stay and have no complaints. The hotel is a close drive to Castelvecchi, which I say is a must to visit! Just a 10 minute drive; the cellars at Castelvecchi are beautiful! There is also another very charming town called Volpaia (restaurant La Bottega) where we had the best raviolis of our lives. You can do both towns as they are quite close. While in Radda visit the La Botte di Bacco restaurant, the food is gourmet style and the owners do a great job.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
We loved everything about this hotel and hope to return soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal für einen Erlebnisurlaub in der Toskana

Posted May 22, 2016
Getarnt von der Straße als "Stadthotel" eröffnet sich dem Besucher beim Blick in den Garten und über die Weinfelder ein Blick in die Toskana. Sehr schöne (aber leider auch etwas zugige) Terrasse, gute Poolanlage. Bei Regentagen kann man sich in den einem Wohnzimmer ähnlichen Aufenthaltsräumen gut aufhalten. Die Bilder im Internet entsprechend den tatsächlichen Zuständen. Absolut freundliche Bedienung, super umfangreiches Frühstück.