Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Really lovely hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2017
From walking to the reception to leaving I found the whole stay excellent, the staff are great, very friendly. Is a very German hotel but there were a few English guests and I didn't feel isolated, the room was on the 1st floor and had a fantastic view. The only quibble was the internet was very patchy was advised not to buy it for the room and no English channels on the Tele except for sky news and bbc world but that's a small thing really I had a great time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Direccion general, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank you for having shared your experience here on Expedia. The whole staff is very happy to read that you had a very nice stay with us in SBH Costa Calma Palace. About our internet, at the moment it is still working in the reception area and in the lobby area and in some rooms but we are working on it to offer a better service and extend the coverage to all our rooms as well. We would also like to point out that our hotel is not only designed for German and we always had a wide range of nationalities and different ages in our hotel. Of course we will keep in mind all your comments to continue improve day by day and follow to meet our clients’ expectations. It will be a big pleasure to host you again in the future. Kind regards, The management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

tourist 4 star hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is an accepatable 4 star. Around 75% of the guests appear to be German, and the hotel is used by German tourist industry. Breakfast acceptable but not outstanding. View of the sea from balcony slightly obscured by the tiers of rooms in front (hotel is huge and is tiered down a cliff). Had to pay extra for wifi in the room which is no longer the norm - most hotels offer free wifi throughout the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017
Dear Client, Thank you very much for leaving your opinion about our SBH Costa Calma Palace. We are very proud to welcome guests of different nationalities. Many Germans, Spanish people, English people as well as many others visit us every year. We always enjoy the culinary variety in our house. Our gastronomy has a high place in our house and this is one of the reason for the high number of repeaters in our house. Our products are always fresh and cooked by our chef. Extra costs like Wifi come with a fee to guarantee a good basic rate. This extra charge is also pointed out in all the catalogues and most of our clients are informed about it. We are working on it to offer a better service. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and our goal is to exceed the expectations of each client. It would be nice to have the opportunity to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monmouth

Good quality hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Setting, public spaces, most staff, food, massage, access to beach
Cons: Take into account there are other guests besides Germans
Location: Excellent beach, near to top zoo which is thoroughly recommended as also do a lot of conservation and rehabilitation work.
Good hotel in great location for relaxing break. Half-board worth it, food good. Pool areas very good, spa area below standard. 90+% of guests are German and appear by some strange co-incidence to get the 'better' rooms... Rooms could do with a bit of a refresh. Long coach transfer from airport, probably worth paying for a cab, certainly if arriving late.
4 out of 5
by nlasse from Oslo

Recommended

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels
Nice hotel that will give you value for your money. Close to Risco del Paso if you want to try windsurfing and/or kite. The nice constant wind will keep you cool even at mid day.
4 out of 5
by bobbert from fuertaventura

very hard beds

Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels
I accidentally dropped my aftershave glass bottle on the ceramic tiled floor. I picked up most of the glass but used tissue to gather most of the shards and left it just inside the bathroom door for the cleaner to establish what had happened.On returning that evening it became apparent the cleaner made no effort as several bits of glass were still on the bathroom floor.To cap it all a piece of glass the size of a euro was left in the bath itself.What does that say about their cleaners?????
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colin from London, UK

Good hotel - shame about the wind

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Pros: The food
Cons: The wind and hence the noise
Location: Costa Calma is very quiet. Nothing to do. Good beach though. You need to hire a car to get the most out of Fuerteventura.
The food was great. Really good variety and it never ran out. Room was OK, pretty clean. Nice size. Twin beds. Our fridge didn't work so we asked for a replacement which was quickly done. We did suffer a bit from general noise. We were on the seventh floor (which is actually the sixth as for some reason there is no second floor) and outside our room there is an opening which let in noise from outside the hotel and the wind - which was constant - was quite noisy. Would recommend any other floor apart form the seventh if you want more quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful and they accommodated our requests in terms of room location etc but English is limited. The hotel caters primarily to Germans, so English is the third language. The hotel was relatively quiet. Was some queuing for some of the food at times - Germans seem to love queues more than the English, but this isn't a criticism. The outdoor pools were large and there were more than enough sun loungers. Unfortunately due to the wind it was really possible to spend much time around the pool so it was pretty deserted. The indoor pool was a godsend. Overall a pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
by Mrs G Hartley

Excellent on the beach location

Posted Jan 30, 2013 on Hotels
We have visited Costa Calma many times over many years and this is the first time we have stayed at this hotel. The staff and facilities particularly the food in the restaurant and the spa area were excellent. We felt the bedrooms could do with improved beds & bedding but totally understand this would take time. The reception and lounge areas are very comfortable. Half board was fine, just wish they had complimentary water for meals &/or maybe the hotel group 'could' consider AI as an option. Otherwise we do rate this hotel & will return at some point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2017
buenísima experiencia, hotel increíble en zona muy recomendable. Sin duda repetiré.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiesbaden

Perfekt

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Zimmer sind groß und sauber;das Hotel hat viele Aufenthaltsmöglichkeiten ausserhalb der Zimmer;der Ausblick ist umwerfend;Essen ist unfassbar gut
Location: Einkaufsmöglichkeiten durch einen SPAR direkt neben dem Hotel
Das Hotel ist fantastisch - es sieht nicht nur grossartig aus, es ist in allen Bereichen toll! Es gibt nichts, was man bemängeln könnte. Es liegt direkt am Meer; wir hatten ein Zimmer mit Meerblick gebucht und dieses auch im ersten Stock erhalten - nur Palmen wogen im Wind davor... :-) Das Personal war uneingeschränkt nett und zuvorkommend; das Reinigungspersonal war schnell und gründlich, und es wurde sogar zweimal nachgefragt, ob alles auf dem Zimmer diesbezüglich in Ordnung ist. Das Frühstück und Abendessen ist einfach der Wahnsinn - so viele (und leider sehr leckere ;-) ) Auswahlmöglichkeiten!! Der Wind war sehr stark am Strand und am Pool, aber der Balkon ist windgeschützt... Es gab all das, was man für einen erholsamen und schönen Urlaub braucht! Super
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Dirección general, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrte Frau Claudia, Herzlichen Dank für Ihre überaus positive Bewertung und dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben diese hier auf Expedia zu verfassen. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass wir Ihren Ansprüche in allen Bereichen unseres SBH Costa Calma Palace entsprochen haben und Sie uns 5 von 5 Punkten verliehen haben. Uns ist die Zufriedenheit des Gastes sehr wichtig und Kommentare wie Ihren bestätigen uns in unserem Tun und spornen uns an weiterhin einen so exzellenten Service an den Tag zu legen. Es freut uns sehr, dass Sie Ihren Urlaub bei uns genossen haben und wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder in unserem Hotel begrüssen zu dürfen. Mit freundlichen Grüssen, Die Direktion
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Ebookers
Für ein 4☆ Hotel ist die zimmerausstattung und die Sauberkeit nicht genpgend! Dreckige Bettwäsche, kaputte Handtücher usw. Nie wieder!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Direccion general, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrter Ebookers, Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung hier auf Expedia. Wir bedauern sehr, dass Sie mit Ihren Urlaub in unserem Hotel SBH Costa Calma Palace nicht zufrieden waren. Letztes Jahr wurde fast alle Zimmern neu modernisiert, frisch ausgemalt und tiefgereinigt. Auch in den Lobbies haben wir mehr grüne Pflanzen hinzugefügt. Vor allem die Sauberkeit in unserem Hotel wird von vielen unseren Gästen positiv beurteilt. Für SBH ist gründliche Reinigung ein absolutes Muss. Wir haben Protokolle und Vorschriften, um die Hygiene und Sauberkeit in unseren Hotels zu garantieren. Trotz Ihrer Entscheidung, würden wir uns sehr freuen, wenn Sie uns ein weiteres Mal Ihr Vertrauen zu schenken, um Sie von der Gesamtqualität unseres Hotels zu überzeugen. Mit freundlichen Grüssen, Die Direktion