Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

2 nights in Amsterdam

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Small compact hotel right in the heart of Amsterdam. The rooms aren't huge but they are clean and the beds are super comfortable. basic continental breakfast and friendly staff. Perfect base to explore the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Perfect location next to Dam Square

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Our first visit to Amsterdam, this hotel was central to all the main attractions. 1 min walk from Dam Square, 10 mins walk from Central station. Train straight from the airport just €5. Staff very helpful, breakfast average, beds comfy, would definitely book again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Front Desk - Hotel de Gerstekorrel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our central location and found the staff very helpful. We hope to welcome you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place if you want to be at the center.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: The staff were incredibly nice and accommodating. The were so helpful in every way, including printing out my boarding pass for me.
Cons: More facilities to hang clothes: hooks, hangers, racks.
Location: Very central.
This hotel is on the busiest street in Amsterdam, and yet it is very quiet in the rooms. Although the room was very small, it had everything I needed for a short stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Front Desk Reception, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location and that you found our staff welcoming and helpful. We appreciate your comments regarding more facilities for clothes and will look into it further. We hope you will visit with us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice Hotel, good central location.

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Good value for money, staff great. What we hoped it would be.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Front Desk Reception, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We hope you will visit with us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Amsterdam's Pearl

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Central location and wonderful breakfast
Cons: I doubt anything can be done to make things better. The only complaint is the lack of an elevator, but with centuries old building it is impossible
Location: It is within a walking distance to the Rijksmuseum, Anne Frank's House, and all other attractions of the city
What a great hotel in the heart of Amsterdam! It has a true Dutch character and its location is beyond compare
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Front Desk Reception, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
4 out of 5
by Peep

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Kelly

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is as it's described - basic, but great location in the centre. Literally a 2 minute walk to dam square. There were cafe bars and restaurants on our street which was handy too. Rooms were clean(ish) and basic but you had what you needed. Fresh towels and clean bed each day. The breakfast which is included was terrible (toast, cereal, heard others complaining of warm milk). We had a look at it the first morning and left without eating, the second morning we didn't even bother to go down, we went out to eat in Amsterdam. My major concern/issue with this hotel was that on arrival we were charged a further €24 per room in tax (which there was no mention of anywhere prior to arrival) and then a further €50 refundable deposit (again no mention about anywhere). This meant we had to pay out €150 for 2 rooms (from our spending money) before we even got the keys. A heads up would have been great and would have avoided us skinting ourselves in the last day waiting to get our deposits back. Overall it was alright - Id stay again (only because of the location), if they reduced their prices. It's a budget accommodation which they're charging far more than budget prices.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location & service, room are no frills

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
The location is perfect. I found it very convenient to make quick stops back at the room throughout the day, especially for phone charging and naps. My room was ready early and they will also store your luggage before and after your check-out. It's more of a upscale hostel than a typical hotel stay. I had a room with a twin bed and the bathroom floor with a drain was also the shower. What was advertised and what I experienced was very accurate. Also, the room faced the street (had it open for air) and was of course quite noisy but that didn't bother me at all but something to be aware of.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel but very noisy from the street