Ratings based on 1,885 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Really convenient hotel for all of Dublin

Posted May 27, 2017
5 minutes walk from the airport bus stop, 5 minutes walk from O'Connell Street - really couldn't be more convenient. The hotel is a well preserved collection of gorgeous Georgian buildings with loads of original features but also everything you need for a short break in the city. Great breakfast, comfy beds, good shower and live music in the bar in the evening. Would recommend to anyone visiting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Excellent, centrally located hotel. Wonderful staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Yvonne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5/5 review. Kindest Regards Yvonne O'Keeffe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seven Lakes, NC

Conveniently Close

Posted May 22, 2017
We needed a place close enough to everything but not in the middle of it. The Castle was perfect! It was about a 5 minute walk to the bus stop and 10 minutes to shopping! We LOVED our room. We had quite a bit of luggage that we had to carry up and down some stairs, but we did that at every hotel in Ireland. The entertainment downstairs was wonderful as well. We loved the age of the house and the history behind it. We will definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Yvonne , Hotel Management
Dear Taylor Thank you for your kind review and for sharing your photos of our family room 112 - this room is actually in the oldest part of the hotel, this Georgian mansion was built in 1769 and was designed by a very famous architect of the period John Ensor, he lived in the house himself for a time. That family room would have originally been one of the family's drawing rooms where they would have spent time with their children before the nurse took them back to the nursery. The more formal drawing rooms on the ground floor were used for business meetings and such. The fireplace in the room is original and the ornate plasterwork would have all been done by hand. I am delighted to read that you would stay with us again and I shall look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest Regards Yvonne O'Keeffe General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with a lot of character.

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The fact that the old feeling has been kept in such a traditional style hotel.
Cons: I would like to seek more cheese and fresh fruit options at breakfast. The TV in the room was tinny and HD channels did not work, was unable to use TV
Location: The location is excellent for walking main areas of Dublin, surrounded by loads to see, shop and eat.
I arrived a little early and they were not ready to check me in. As we were storing my bags the owner introduced himself to me and we have a lovely chat. Nice to hear about the history of the hotel and why it has remained as it is. The hotel is old and has excellent character, must preferred to the newer modern versions. What was also impressive were the sitting areas, where one can have a leisurely tea or coffee and a read. These areas are not found in new hotels as the square footage use would be more focused on revenue generating meeting rooms. The food is good and does not come across as overtly increased in price, prices were the same I found in nearby restaurants. Breakfast is focused on traditional Irish breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Sam - Customer Services, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Our locations is definitely one of the things we are very proud of about our hotel. We are so lucky to have a property in the heart of Dublin and a very strategic location that brings our guest just a few steps away from must-see attractions and modern-day conveniences. We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. Please note that your suggestions have been passed on to our general manager. Looking forward to see you again in a near future. Best Regards, Sam
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Posted May 19, 2017
Overpriced, pictorial misleading, no air conditioner, noise was so loud due to required open window, ripoff at 335 euro per nite.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Yvonne , Hotel Management
Dear Jay Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As all of our rooms are different it is impossible to have s pictur of every room on all sites but we do try to show a variety of rooms which we believe accurately represent the hotel. It is one of the oldest hotels in Dublin with the buildings dating back to 1769 and it would be very difficult to retro fit an A/C system so therefore we do not advertise as having air conditioning in the hotel and I can't agree that you have been mislead. Nevertheless I hope you enjoyed your trip to Dublin and I thank you for taking the time to write your review. Kindest Regards Yvonne O'Keeffe General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
This hotel is really nice especially the staffs. I even met the owner in person and he's such a warmest person in Dublin you can meet.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Sam - Customer Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that our staff made your feel at home. This is really one of the things that we try to maintain in our hotel. Hoping to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, breakfasts poor.

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Hotel room excellent, very clean. Free Wi-Fi included in room. Central location, everything's nearby. Hotel staff excellent.
Cons: Larger breakfast selection.
Location: O'Connell Street, Temple Bar, Guiness Storehouse, St Vincent Park, Wild Wicklow Tour
Stayed here for a few nights for a trip to Dublin with my girlfriend. The hotel is great. Rooms are very clean, comfortable bed, bathroom was excellent and there was a large TV and Wi-Fi in the room. Hotel staff were great. The weather was brilliant while we were there and the lack of air conditioning in the room meant it got far too warm. However, we asked reception for a fan and they brought 2 up to us in no time, they were very helpful. Had booked for breakfasts as well for the stay and was a bit disappointed with it. The options were slightly limited compared to where we've been before. Cooked breakfasts are a buffet but are served to you so portions are perhaps smaller than you would give yourself. Not much in the way of fruit and cereals either (maybe 2 of each). However, this was minor! The hotel's in a great spot, a 5 minute walk (if even that) has you right in the centre of the city and most things are close by, within walking distance. The hotel was good value for money, got a double room with breakfasts for 2 nights for £160 on Trivago. The room is to a very high standard and the staff are lovely, would definitely recommend! Definitely recommend the Wild Wicklow Tour! Bus picks you up a 5 min walk from the hotel and it takes you out into the country, stopping at the bridge from PS I Love You and many more. The views from the bridge down onto the Guiness estate are amazing and the tour guide was brilliant, a good laugh!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Sam - Customer Services, Hotel Management
Wow! What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. Were you able to explore the area? If not, you can visit us again and we are happy to share with you the must-visit attractions as well as some hidden treasures in the area. I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Best Regards, Sam - Customer Services
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset, UK

Affordable city centre hotel

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Friendly & convenient
Convenient location at the top of O'Connell St close to bus stops and the airport bus drop off. Friendly staff; room clean and comfortable but catching the afternoon sun was very hot and suffered from traffic noise. Good breakfast included in the price. Computer and printer available for guest use so we were able to print our boarding passes before going to the airport. Would stay again but would ask for a room round the back away from the traffic.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by Sam - Customer Services, Hotel Management
Dear Alan, Our locations is definitely one of the things we are very proud of about our hotel. We are so lucky to have a property in the heart of Dublin and a very strategic location that brings our guest just a few steps away from must-see attractions and modern-day conveniences. Looking forward to see you again in a near future. Best Regards, Sam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Excellent Georgian splendour

Posted May 12, 2017
This is the second time I ve stayed here and was n t disappointed again! The staff are all wonderful from front reception to restaurant and domestic. The hotel itself is sumptuous Georgian grandeur. My room was very clean with a powerful hot shower. Comfortable bed for a good nights sleep. Breakfast is lovely a full hot Irish breakfast with the best coffee ever! You really feel welcome and cared for . Its a great location easy to find and perfect for my stay in beautiful Dublin.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Yvonne, Hotel Management
Dear Caroline Thank you so much for your wonderful review, I am delighted to read that you found the staff welcoming be the hotel clean and comfortable. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to our breakfast team too ! We look forward to welcoming you back again someday. Kindest Regards Yvonne O'Keeffe General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, helpful staff.

Posted May 11, 2017
The staff was extremely helpful and sweet. The breakfast was wonderful. Rooms were clean. Not fancy but full of charm and character.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Yvonne, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review, I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and found the staff helpful. The Hotel is the oldest hotel in Dublin est. in 1809 so we have tried to maintain the Georgian character and charm with antique furnishings & original features, which I'm glad you enjoyed. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Dublin sometime. Kindest Regards Yvonne O'Keeffe General Manager