Ratings based on 1,221 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stressful and slow check in

Posted Nov 19, 2017
This is not our first stay at this hotel. In the past we have had no issues and have enjoyed our stays. This time however, we arrived at the hotel at 4:30 since our reservation clearly states that check in was supposed to be at 4 . Unfortunately, we were told our room was not ready and that it would be a 15 minute wait or so. Normally this would not be an issue for us except we drove for a few hours to be here, had dinner reservations in 1 hour, and still had to get ready. After waiting 30 minutes we went back to the front desk and was told that our room was still not available. We were very upset knowing our reservation was in 30 minutes and we were not ready yet. I then asked if there was a different type of room that was available as we reserved a king room. Then the front desk says that there is a room with 2 queen beds available. We had no choice but to take that room as we needed to be at our dinner party and we could not be late. The late check in made our evening very stressful and rushed. We were very disappointed that our room was not ready and that we were not offered a different room to begin with. Our sole purpose for the stay of our visit was affected by the delay in check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the atmosphere! Great location!

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: The pool and fitness area are great.
Location: Great restaurants.
I was very impressed with this hotel. The location is great and so are the facilities. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, fl

Close to downtown

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: I like the restaurants and the new bar.
Cons: Some of the older rooms need to be updated.
We have stayed at this hotel before and were very pleased with the rooms. However this time the room we received was old and worn out. The bathroom was hard to get in and out of. It was very noisy and hard to sleep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Not free breakfast not cleaning lady ...

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: nice beds nice staff
Cons: free breakfast and free internet at the devos it would make lost of difference
Location: I love grand rapids but i need to go out there more
I was a member of the Comic Con people so i was tire and hungry...For the price it would be nice to have free breakfast and a clean room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, Scotland

Great hotel for a conference

Posted Oct 20, 2017
This hotel is central, comfortable and has everything you could need. The staff are excellent and attentive to detail.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful downtown location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Cons: More efficient check-in experience.
Friendly - though somewhat long due to many checking in and too few behind the desk - check in. Room on high floor had a great view of the river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saginaw, MI

Moms and Daughters

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Location and great rooms
Cons: Outside windows need cleaning really bad.
Location: Art Prize and dueling piano bar
My sister-in-law, our daughters and I did an overnight trip to Grand Rapids for the Art Prize and shopping. We arrived late morning and decided to valet our car and just tried and see if a room would be ready, our surprise it was and we could take our luggage up and not worry. The check in lady was awesome, our room was great - great view and couldn't beat the location. Thank you for making our Moms and Daughters trip memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Super Experience

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Recently upgraded the lobby bar/restaurant. The wonderful restaurants: The Kitchen by Wolfgang Puck, The view in Cygnus 27, Lumber Baron Bar.
Cons: Valet was extremely busy. Artprize was going on so this was expected. However more valet runners would have helped the situation.
Location: Many museums, shopping, restaurants, and walking along the riverwalk.
Staff was professional and friendly. Willing to upgrade and accommodate your request. They recognized you, and were willing to help out when you asked a question/direction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Wonderful Hotel!

Posted Sep 26, 2017
We were in town for a wedding. We had a wonderful time, everyone that worked at the hotel was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the restaurants and the hotel was near all kinds of interesting places to visit. There was an Art Festival going on and some of the work was in the hotel. It was so fun to people watch. Everyone in Michigan is so friendly!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Room service didnt btring utensils and was understaffed Vallet was understaffed. Overall needs better management, at that price I would expect customer service to be excellent. I understand they were busy but it's not like they didn't know how many guests were going to be booked.