Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Muskegon

Great location, beautiful view

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location, view, breakfast, drinks
Cons: Room heat didn't seem to go down, finally turned it off to be comfortable at night
Location: Walk to restaraunts and bars, campus weather permitting
Stayed 2 nights to visit student. Walk to town, great breakfast in dining room with view. Free drink coupons both nights for 7th floor bar with view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

NIce but very tired.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Views and location
Cons: Condition and a freshing up.
Location: Good location and nice being downtown.
Hotel is tired and needs upgrades. Furniture all scuffed up. Good location but again I feel needs attention. Staff friendly and breakfast with a view always nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, friendly staff.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Room was nice. Only gripe is that the heater had no thermostat, on low got too hot, fan was too cold, had to self regulate by changing every couple hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Hotel, right downtown.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: I liked the location, and beautiful view of the Keweenaw from the restaurant and lounge, as well as the staff.
Cons: The room we stayed in needs new carpet, and furniture. The bathroom is also quite dated. The TV was not in HD, although it was a flat screen.
Location: It is located in downtown Houghton, near Michigan Technological University. There are quaint shops and good restaurants within walking distance.
This is a nice hotel, in a great location, but the room we had is in need of a serious update. The furniture and carpeting are quite worn, and the bathroom needs some improvements. (It did appear that some rooms had been remodeled, but not the room we were in.) The staff was pleasant and helpful. The included breakfast was tasty, but small, and the free drinks at the lounge were appreciated, but watery.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gibsonia

UP for MTU Sr. Night

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Location: the location is great, and there are many things to do within walking distance (shops, museums, restaurants, parks, churches)
The hotel is very well located in downtown Houghton. It is an older hotel, and some of the furnishings are a bit shabby, and there are not enough outlets for charging electronic devices in rooms. We also had problems with the guests staying in the room above us being too noisy quite far into the night. A huge disappointment was the fact that we found out at 6:30 am on Sunday, that breakfast would not be available until 7am (our departure time). we had to scramble to make other plans. The breakfast included with the hotel cost was very subpar (we got much better fare at a Baymont on our way up to the UP).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Older hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Staff, location
Cons: Needs to be updated.
The location of this hotel is excellent. It is older and needs much updating. The staff is very pleasant and attentive, however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Walking distance to shops and restaurants

Posted Jul 27, 2016
The majority of the staff was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, but having a bathroom night light as well as extra phone (for my phone charger) near the bed would have been a bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Friendly staff, clean rooms, and breakfast was great!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Close to snow mobile trails

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Needs to be updated!
Location: Near snowmobile trails.
The toilet had not been cleaned. There was a large amount of urine on the side of the toilet and feces inside of toilet. There was a band playing until midnight in the 7th floor bar! it was very loud and kept us up! The breakfast was not good at all. My toast tasted like it was from the day before. The only positive is their friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Cons: Breakfast experience is less than excellent. Typically slow, andthe daily voucher system is clumsy. A simple buffet would be much better for everyon
Great location. Rooms clean and comfortable, although a bit dated. Staff friendly and helpful.