Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Lovely setting for a historic property.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Oheka castle is a unique property with a lot of history that becomes more apparent as you wander around. One of the jewels of the Long Island Gold Coast, it is much like Hearst castle in California - except that you can actually stay there. Gary, the owner, has invested significant money in restoring the property to its original grandeur - and he is not yet finished but it is still a beauty to behold, not unlike Skibo Castle in Scotland. An interesting aside is this is a residence in that Gary actually lives on the property and takes an interest in ensuring your stay is memorable. The adjacent country club is available to guests and is a very nice course - and a fair test for any level of player if you play the appropriate tees. While this is a castle with a glamorous past there is no requirement for formal wear - business casual is just fine for dinner etc. Many locals frequent the hotel's restaurant for lunch and dinner as it's a very nice spot to do either. Come to think of it, "Let's meet at the castle" has a nice ring to it...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Oyster Bay

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Pros: Great food and ameneties.
Cons: Carpet in room was worn, minor matter.
Location: Close to Teddy Roosevelt's home and Bridgeport Ferry.
Fairy tale castle with everything big and interesting.
5 out of 5
by Vincent from Hewlett

Our 50th.

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
We celebrated our 50th. wedding anniversary at the Oheka Castle since both of our children had their wedding reception there. We liked the accommodations at the time which is why we made up our mind to stay there. We had a wonderful dinner and then went to the bar for a while before retiring for the night. The room was magnificent, the bed was so comfortable and the cleanliness was just suburb.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
The grounds and exteriors are magnificent. The room was very disappointing-patched wallpaper, clouded windows, view of maintenance garage. We were given another room after complaining and were more comfortable with that. For the money, I'm not sure I would return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Daumen hoch!

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Das Schloss hält was es verspricht. Bedienung freundlich, Zimmer sauber, betten komfortabel. Abendessen feierlich, Portionen angemessen. Alles in allem, die Übernachtung hat sich gelohnt und ist weiter zu empfehlen
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with quite a history

Posted Sep 15, 2015
We had a lovely stay the staff were great and very friendly...and couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. All areas of the hotel were very clean and welcoming...would visit again,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2015
It was nice. After the tour and dinner it reminded me of an antique b&b. More activities for over night guest would be good. But it was beautiful. It is a Castle. Good for relaxing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2015
we had a great time . would go bake to the hotel in a heart beat.
5 out of 5
by Christopher

Enjoyed my stay

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay very much. Grand old world, well kept estate.