Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

Historic Bed and Breakfast in a Rural Setting

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: I would have liked it had we had it to ourselves. The building is roughly 1,200 sq ft with 2 bath and a decent kitchen.
Cons: Housekeeping could be improved. The Home needs a professional deep cleaning and better lighting. There was no light switch in the Bedroom.
Location: VERY Rural - close to Jasper, Blue Ridge and Ellijay
Super nice couple and ranch hand made us feel welcome. We enjoyed the tales told at the campfire and were blown away by the breakfast the owner prepared for us. We stayed at the main house on the 2nd floor. This is a small 1830 Cherokee house that is well preserved and somewhat updated. No WiFi and no Cable. DVD's are available. Stairwell narrow and not ideal for anyone with any kind of walking disability. About 15 miles of rural road to Jasper GA whom has an AWESOME restaurant called 61 Main. Any lack of amenities were counterweight by the attentiveness of the owners and the availability of horseback riding for those interested. We enjoyed the hospitality shown to us and the history and wealth of information the owners shared with us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Pretty setting, but too close to a busy road.

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Very beautiful, rustic setting. Pre-Civil War house with additional rooms in converted old bands and cowboy stays. Owners were hard to find and slow moving when we arrived, but pleasant enough. Breakfast was late but delicious.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indianapolis

Friendly horses and pleasant cows!

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Description of room stated 2 double beds--reality was 4 bunk beds. Very difficult to access upper bunks! It was the Saddle House and that was true because it did house those plus bridles etc. The room was very dusty and musty smelling. A/C was very good and the bathroom and shower very good, but with that said, it is a SHARED bathroom. Beautiful property and able to wander out in pasture with horses and cows. The hostess was very pleasant and always available. She provided a very nice breakfast and coffee always available. I am sure the rooms in the main house would be much more appealing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama City Fl

Our anniversary get away

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: The room was very rustic and relaxing. Setting on the veranda in the cool morning sipping coffee and looking out over the meadow was picture perfect.
Cons: The traffic noise was distracting at times
Location: The location was great and we really enjoyed the hoarse back riding.
Our stay was made extra special with a room upgrade and a camp fire on Saturday night. Over all our stay was very relaxing and pleasant. It would have been perfect except for the noise from the holiday weekend motorcycle traffic going to and from the mountains.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2015
No electric or water but turned out to be a great experience!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the ranch from our balcony

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Exactly like the pictures. Comfortable cozy bed!
Cons: Better communication with guests regarding activities, prior to and during stay. Unfortunately on a highway and traffic noise heavy at times.
Location: Great restaurants. Close proximity. However... Seasonal. And many shops closed early afternoon.
Rustic relaxing weekend. Wonderful hostess Rita, great breakfast and awesome group ride on the property! Christian and Alyssa were the best horse guides! Thanks for the adventure 74!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rustic Retreat

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels
This was a working ranch with rooms that were like cabins. We were able to choose the room with an adjoining bathroom. It had no television but that is not why you want to stay there anyway. The staff was delightful and friendly considering non-hotel challenges during the stay. Cows and horses in the country set a nice atmosphere although the road noise was apparent during the stay.
1 out of 5
by cheryl from savannah

felt like i was scamed

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels
horrible.booked this room for my wife.conformation says"all room have a/c,desk,coffe maker,microwave,etc.my wife arrived and called me.THERE WAS NO ELECTRICITY IN ROOM.THE HEAT WAS A WOOD POT BELLY STOVE.NO LIGHTS.NO BATHROOM.SHE SAID BED FELT AS IF STUFFED WITH STRAW.LIGHTING WAS KEROSENE LANTERNS.REFUSED TO STAY THERE.Called hotels .com.they were perfect.credited the money and booked another motel.run don''t walk from this place.don't know what the scam is.but forget it
3 out of 5
by JA from Georgia

An adventure!

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
I made the reservation for my family not knowing I was reserving a room in the barn of the bed and breakfast. We booked the Saddle Room: very rustic with no central heat, only a wood burning stove to warm the place. We enjoyed the stay and the staff was very nice. My only complaint is that there weren't pictures accompanying the rooms on Hotels.com to warn of the step back in time. We'd like to return to 74 Ranch, but probably to stay inside the house.
5 out of 5
by Brian from Anderson, SC

Wonderful Ranch and Great Alternative to a B&B

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed for the weekend of the Ellijay Apple Festival and had a great time. The Saddle House was neat, the horseback riding was better than we would have expected, and the entire atmosphere at the ranch was a lot of fun. When booking this place, remember that it is a ranch and not a hotel. For example, the Saddle Room is called the Saddle Room because it houses the saddles for the horses. There are two sets of bunk beds, a table, TV, wood burning stove, AC, and an entire wall of horse saddles. This gives the room a rich, leathery smell and rustic feel. Breakfast is included and very homemade all by the housekeeper Rita (Pam was not feeling well and we did not see her the entire weekend). Saturday morning was a fresh from the oven breakfast casserole and Sunday was french toast served in the main house. Horseback riding, which is an extra cost, was provided by Christian, Manny, and the kindly and voluptuous Alysia. I cannot recommend the riding experience enough. They were professional and intent on us having a good, safe time. Overall, we highly recommend the 74 Ranch. Why stay at another bland hotel or a stuffy B&B when you can stay at an actual working ranch within easy driving distance to everything in the area?