Ratings based on 2,978 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice older hotel with great staff and grounds.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The grounds and pool. Closeness to the beach.
Location: Nice boardwalk and shortish walk to the Whaler village.
First time I have stayed at this place in Kaanapali and it was pretty good. Loved the grounds. The staff were just outstanding! We selected the partial ocean view which was on the Lahaina facing wing. The same side as the Luau. If you like the Luau, every night until 9PM, these are your rooms. Instead, if I come back, I'll pay more for the ocean view room. I only needed one night of Luau. :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Everything we needed or wanted was available. Hotel staff was visible and constantly saying Aloha which made us feel at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grants Pass, OR

Wonderful Stay

Posted Sep 20, 2017
This was my first stay in Maui. I could not be happier with the hotel and grounds. It's so beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back soon!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your 5-star review. We're thrilled your first stay on Maui was such a great experience. We're so glad you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. Come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Awesome stay, beautiful grounds. Hotel is in the process of updating/renovating, so will be even nicer in the future. Great staff. Kid friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your 5-star review. It's wonderful to hear you had such an awesome stay and that you found our grounds beautiful. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton AB Canada

Overall good experience first time in Maui

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: The open layout made it easy to find the shops and pools.
Cons: Housekeeping hours seemed to be later in the day and when returning from excursions and wanting to freshen up the maids were in the room cleaning.
Location: Location was great. 10 minutes from shops and trolley was just down the street
Overall a good experience with the exception of our door lock not working and having go up and down four times to the front desk before the lock was replaced. Felt the room was a bit out-dated but didn't spend much time in the room to really make a difference. Drums of the pacific was phenomenal luau experience! Beach and pools were fantastic
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Clint and thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We're delighted you enjoyed our open layout and that you thought the Drums of the Pacific was a phenomenal experience. Your comment regarding your door lock has been shared with our Engineering and Management team. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Hotel in Paradise, but Lacking in a Few Areas

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Stunning place overall and certainly has the wow factor when you walk in. Really liked the touch of being given a lei on arrival.
Cons: Staff could improve there on some of their customer service. The size of the bathrooms or lighting at least could be upgraded. Dining options.
Location: Great location on the beach. Stunning views which I will never forget. Close to Lahaina. 45mins from the airport. Close to major roads.
Overall a stunning hotel; great location, right on the beach, pools were great, nice to use the Hyatt Residence pool next to the Hyatt Regency, close to Lahaina old town. However, a few areas could do with some more consideration. There are only 3 restaurants; 2 are a bit pricey and nice for a special evening dinner, but you are then only left with Umalu casual bar. After a weeks stay, this does get a bit tedious in terms of menus offered. Lahaina old town is close for eating/shopping, but you have to drive there. The staff are generally friendly and good. Key people we liked were Michelle and Scott in Umalu and a lovely guy behind the bar who is a master of cocktails. However, on one hand there were some great staff but then the other there were a lot of disinterested staff. As an example, on a busy day in the casual bar/restaurant Umalu staff were unwilling to open a small closed area for us to sit and have lunch even though it was busy, the football was playing and there were no other options on places to sit. When leaving the hotel, the staff at Reception did not engage with us at all or wish us a nice journey. The valet staff were not very helpful when trying to find parking and at one point just left our car with the keys in and didn't tell us it was ready for pick up! The rooms were clean and tidy and our housekeeper was great, the only downside was the bathroom which was exceptionally small and dimly lit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Overall my wife and I had a very good experience at the Hyatt Regency Maui. Nice accommodations and a very friendly and knowledgeable staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your 5-star review, Bryan. We're so glad you had a very good experience and that you enjoyed your guest room. Come back and visit us again. Mahalo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3.5/4 Stars

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The hotel was nice and they spent a lot of time on making the pools great that the beach area was lacking (not enough sand to lounge on, a lot of shells and rocks in the water). The hotel room was not state of the art, but it was clean. Others said that the room is "outdated" but I would say that it felt more of like a beach house room would feel like (we didn't spend the whole vacation in the room). The "welcome package" you receive you have to go out of your way to get (but the staff was great). This hotel was exactly what my boyfriend and I thought it was going to be.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank for your review! We're thrilled you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room and that our resort was exactly what you and your boyfriend expected. Come back and see us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

Hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Great hotel with a nice beach and very large pool area. The water slides are fun for kids and adults. The location is good if you plan on staying in the resort area the whole time during your stay. We planned a lot of hiking (Haleakala) and road trips (road to Hanna) and it was a bit far away (40mins) from the center point of the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for reviewing your recent Maui Vacation. We're delighted you enjoyed our pools and that you had a great time on the slide and at the beach. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver Co.

Beautiful hotel,clean,fantastic staff,close to bea

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Wonderful time,great place to spend our honeymoon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your 5-star review! We're honored you chose to celebrate your honeymoon with us and we're thrilled you had a wonderful time. We hope you'll come back and visit us again soon! Mahalo.