Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Decent Seward hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016
This hotel is in a great location, right in the middle of the small downtown of Seward, close to restaurants, cafes, shopping, the water at the inlet, and hiking trails up mountains nearby. They seem to have started to work on some improvements, since the building is quite old, but it probably still needs some work. Room was pretty small, but decent, fairly clean and comfortable. If you want the feel of Victorian era coastal Alaska, then this hotel hits the spot.
4 out of 5
by Bruce from Hendersonville, TN

Good place to stay in Seward

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
In Seward for two days particularly for the Glacier tour and Sealife Center. No breakfast at the hotel, instead they gave us vouchers for a good diner about a mile away. no problem for us because we were to be in that area both mornings. There is a free shuttle that runs every 30 min with a stop in front of the hotel. The physical structure could stand some updating but everything worked and the bed was comfortable enough. We were not there for luxury.
3 out of 5
by Edward William from Perth

Good for few nights

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed there 1 night. After getting of the cruise. We got not check in early and could not leave pur bags as no one was there to look after them or store them so had to take them with us till 3 pm. Apart from that food was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Loved it:) 100 year old and lots of culture

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Location: Nice old hotel, truly enjoyed our stay, great walking to lake or town.
Loved our stay in this 100 year old hotel. Loved hearing the stories of the Vangilder Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice hotel. shuttle is just cross street.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: quiet and nice service. Danny is trying everything to make guests happy.
Hotel is in downtown of Seward. Free shuttle stop across street of hotel. it can take us to anywhere that we want to go in town.
3 out of 5
by Amy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very cozy and historic hotel :)

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The historic charm of it...the kindness of staff...and the general feel of it
Cons: Someone to be at the front desk at all times may be
I am 22 but I enjoyed this hotel as it was quite cozy and the staff was kind. Thank you so much for letting me stay :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
No reservationa when we arrived but staff was exceptional.
1 out of 5
by Sorin from New York

Do not stay there

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
This does not qualify as hotel. Motel at best
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old everything.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Bed needs replaced. Not well cared for and look like it needed up dating.