Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lovely Hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2017
The only available room was an upgraded room. We took it and were delighted. It was spacious, comfortable, with large sitting room separate from the bedroom. There was a large picture window with lovely view, a sofa and arm chairs. Dinner in the dining room was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Fargo, North Dakota

Affordable and Clean Hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and comfortable. All of the staff we interacted with were super nice and professional.
Cons: The furniture was a little dated, but we did not mind.
This hotel was an affordable and convenient place to stop for the night on the way to the Vatnajökull glacier.
4 out of 5
by giovanni

Pleasant stay

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is well located to visit the South of Iceland. Very clean, good service and fair breakfast. Maybe too expensive even for Iceland standards.
4 out of 5
by Kathryn

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful! Beds could be more comfortable.
2 out of 5
by Randall

Not worth the money.

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Nice enough hotel with the lobby, restaurant, bar, and lounge but the rooms were very much underwhelming. Outdated style, bare minimum accommodations, and paper thin doors where I heard EVERYONE moving at 6AM when their tours headed out. For $300+ a night I expect to be able to soundly sleep at a minimum. On the flip side, the night bartender (who was also setting up the dining room for breakfast) was really great and the most positive part of my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Nice hotel close to glacier

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Stayed here 2 nights. Comfortable beds. Bathroom was a little small. Friendly and helpful staff
4 out of 5
by edward

Great restaurant and happy hour

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel in an out of the way location. Restaurant was fantastic. Their is no pool or spa as part of the hotel; you need to walk down the street to a public pool. Not my idea of fun in cold weather.
4 out of 5
by Alexandra

ok place to stay if driving around Iceland

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
the entrance and common sitting areas are actually pretty nice, the rooms are very basic but comfortable enough. TV in the room but only a few channels. OK wifi. Convenient location with restaurants, grocery store, and gas nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean basic hotel for about US$200 per night

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Good location in a small town where there is limited choice. Basic small no frills room, clean and modern. We didn't get the breakfast as it was US$29pp. Not as nice as other hotels where there is free coffee/tea out in the lounge area. Nothing special but good clean hotel and likely the best option in Klaustur.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oviedo, FL

Nice Hotel

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Staff and condition of hotel.
A nice hotel with a great restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and relatively new.