Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

It is oversold

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Overall the place is just dingy and very tired. It sells itself as authentic but the bathroom was in need of a major overhaul. Just too expensive. Don't stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

the hotel is actually in the middle of nowhere

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Hospitality, cleanliness.
Location: See above
There are no restaurants just dingy joints in the area. It says Central Kyoto, so we expected more liveliness. The liveliness came from avoiding bicycles riding on the sidewalk without lights. Almost got hit by one. Horrible evening when we had high expectations of "kyoto happening". The hotel first denied that we had booking with them. THe owner or some jerk stopped us on the street and claimed we had no room booked. Apparently they were mostly booked by a Chinese group and we were "round eyes" from America. Then he allowed us into the lobby where the clerk found our reservations. Would recommend the place only to my enemies, not friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

The best hotel for our Japan Trip

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Everything
The stay gave us a great experience of Japanese living style. We enjoy very much the cleanness and a high standard of service by the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Reasonable ryokan experience

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Great ryokan experience! Room and facility is clean except bathroom and lobby furniture needs updating. We were assigned one of the rooms on the 4th floor. Supposed to be a non smoking room/floor but the toilet smells like cigarettes coming from the vent! Smoke smell was awful caused us to be so nauseated after using the toilet. Reported it to the front desk during check out but I don't know if they'll do anything about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Kyoto

Posted Apr 18, 2016
The hotel was located in a convenient part of Kyoto. It was easy to access transportation to the various temples and sites from the hotel. Also the public bath was great!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A hidden gem.

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Located on a quiet side street, it is only a short walk away to subway stations. Once you get to the subway, it is not too hard to get around. Do walk along the river, especially now during cherry blossom season. The breakfast brunch was very good - much selection and tasty food. Our room was clean and spacious (it could easily fit 5 people) with a sink and toilet, television and small refrigerator. It was very comfortable, with the main room having tatami mats. Sleeping on futons on the floor was a different, but good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice Ryokan for the price

Posted Mar 19, 2016
We decided to experience staying in a Ryokan during our stay in Kyoto - 4 nights total. It was a great experience! The hotel staff sets up the bedding daily. The futons were more comfortable than I expected, being hesitant to sleep on one for that many nights. But it just felt like a slumber party with my cousins! Our room was very spacious for our party of 3. We had a private bathroom. We did try the public bath once just to try. It wasn't too bad. It had all the bathing supplies you needed, but you can bring your own shampoo/soap if you like (just bring your towel/robe from your room). It's open until midnight so we bathed at 11pm when no one was around. We didn't try the breakfast or dinner available for purchase, but it seemed like it would have been nice. We saw them set it up daily in the big dining hall & the food smelled good upon passing... It was a little difficult trying to find the place at first. The directions just say a short walk from either the subway line or bus stop... But doesn't go further into which streets to turn into. We were lucky to find someone on the street with a phone. Once we got closer to the place, we were greeted immediately with staff waiting for us outside the entrance... The hotel is near city hall and once we mastered the walking directions and public transportation, it was pretty easy to get around. This was a nice ryokan, decently priced and I recommend staying at this place if you want to experience staying in a ryokan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, US

Nice Ryokan with premium location

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Pros: stated above
Cons: Ventilation service, staff learning a bit of English.
Location: Stated above
I stayed at this Ryokan for three days. Here's my comments: 1. Room: very nice Japanese style room with great view of the river in the back. Room was very clean and nice but it smelled like a smoker's room although it was not. Hotel also confirmed that my room is not a smokers room but I guess this had to to with central ventilation. 2. Location: great location 10 min walk from City Hall train which could connect to to anywhere in Kyoto. 10-15 min walk from a local big bazar (Teramachi/Shinkyogoky), and 20-25 min walk from Pontocho and Kawaramachi nightlife/bars and restaurants. 5 min walk from Ritz Carlton hotel so definately location is good. 3. Hotel Service: overall good but staff DO NOT speak English. I mean seriously they don't. This would not be an issue unless you have a specific request or need to communicate something, good luck with that. One tip: our check in was at 3, they did not let us use our room before that. So, make sure to plan for the on time check in. 4. Food and restaurant: did not use it since the combination they offered did not appeal to me Overall, I liked this Ryokan a lot. The only thing that bothered me was the reek of smoke everywhere even in my non-smoking room. People smoke like chimney in Japan!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Good ryokan in Kyoto

Posted Jan 15, 2016
While a bit dated, my group of four enjoyed this ryokan. The futons were comfortable and the room was very spacious and clean. Not many dining options next to the hotel, but plenty of choices just a 10 minute walk south. Convenient access to the Keihan railway nearby, and by bus.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Decent hotel, but not worth the money

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: This hotel seems to cater well to foreigners. Staff is friendly, helpful, and has sufficient English capability.
Cons: More modern facilities, remove door squeaks, more insulation (sound-proofing) between rooms.
Location: Hotel is 7-15 minutes walking to subway or train station. Decent location but not extremely convenient.
Hotel is a traditional Japanese ryokan. However, the quality is that of a Japanese school trip. It is decent, but dated. Stayed over oshugatsu (New Year season) so pricing was higher than usual. Typical ryokan room with tatami, futon, small TV, and tea setup. Rooms can be noisy due to squeaky doors (which can easily be resolved by mgmt, but haven't been addressed.) Walls are thin, so expect to hear some noise from next door rooms. Could smell smoke from nearby rooms/smoking area. Onsen is artificial. It's a hot bath, but not natural water. Kyoto is wonderful and for people wanting a traditional experience on a budget, this is sufficient. However, if you truly understand Japanese tradition, you'll be disappointed. Location is decent. Not a lot very close (<5 min walking) to the hotel, but if you're willing to walk 15 minutes, you be be near many "hole in the wall" restaurants and shopping area. Also, the price you pay is the price you pay. You will not be nickel and dimed here.