Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely situation in the hills overlooking the town

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: It's character and ambience.
Location: See above
Maria, in the evening when we arrived, spoke English, was very helpful in telling us about the area, local buses, etc. And especially helpful in telephoning the airport about our missing suitcase which is a regular occurrence here. (It is still missing five days into the holiday). A Coruna is an interesting town and has a long marina. Also an old medieval town where there was a festival going with many people in costume.
5 out of 5
by norberto from Miami, FL

very good and service 10

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels
very nice hotel. we stayed in a kind of bungalow. The breakfast buffet has everything you would want. Staff is very nice. We needed to book a flight to Brazil on the spot for the same day and they did it for us and even called the airline. there was no need to get on the internet for ourselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patricia from UK

Got a double bed for 3 people!

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: Quiet location above the town, resort feel
Cons: One of us didn't get a proper bed/bed linens to sleep on!
Location: Not far from A Coruna airport, in the country above the town.
it must be out of season still beginning of June. We booked 3 adults because we couldn't book 2adults and 1 child but still got one double bed. The caretaker spoke only Spanish and we could only figure out that one of us had to sleep downstairs on the couch. Only a scratchy blanket and a sausage roll pillow was in the closet. Unfortunately my husband got to "camp out" on the couch. Otherwise I could see myself spending a few days there lounging by the pool and relaxing. There is nothing in the area so the caretaker sent us into town by taxi for a meal, there was no restaurant available in the hotel. It is an unusual hotel, small individual apartments in rows on the property, the Pazo is the old mansion above where you have your meals.Apts are 2 story: bed and bath upstairs, living/dining and kitchen downstairs. Lots of weeding needs to be done, which is why we think they had not yet opened for the summer season. It's a lovely property however.
5 out of 5
by Norbi

Nice, comfourtable, with all facilities

Posted Aug 6, 2012 on Hotels
We enjoyed very much from the facilities of the hotel: nice rooms, swimming pool etc., very nice view of La Coruna from the hotel. Very nice people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Weston,Fl

A Coruña interesting hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2011
Location: Santiago de Compostela and Pontevedra
I was really surprised by the excellent attention we received from so little quantities of people taking care of the the place. Any time I'll be back to A Coruña, I'll stay again at this place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Hotel Monumento y Apartamentos pazo do Rio

Posted May 30, 2010 on Hotels
First class, We had a fantastic three days here, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the self catering apartment had everything required. The whole experience was very relaxing. However I would add, not for travellers without transport or a good grasp of Spanish, it is on the flight path but the local airport is not so busy. I plan to return next year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Excellent hotel for a relaxing break

Posted Aug 24, 2009 on Hotels
This is an excellent hotel - attractive old manor house with really practical and comfortable accommodation pods for families in the grounds. Great swimming pool and although quite close to the airport, a tranquil and beautiful setting above the hustle and bustle of the city. A little difficult to find but that's what makes it so quiet!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells

Apartments at hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2009
Great apartment ideal for family, bit tricky to find, need a car. You need swim caps and flip flops to use the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

hotel with plenty of character

Posted May 27, 2008
The overall feeling of the hotel was Medieval.The welcome upon arrival from the costume clad receptionist the burning open fires and even the musty insence smell .A walk round the well manicured gardens and relaxing swim in the spacious outdoor/indr pool is heavenly. Rooms are spacious enough,and give an almost homely feel,as the furniture and fittings are quality sturdy wooden pieces, not the usual corporate bland drawers and desks one might be familiar with.Even the room keys are robust and antique,not something you could carry in your purse! However, one of the essentials was lacking in the room..a comfortable bed,with fluffy pillows.This was my only complaint. The location of the hotel is not very handy unless you have a car,as it was a good 10 min drive from La Coruna,and quite difficult to locate,even with Sat Nav! If you are looking for romantic relaxing getaway in a rustic charming hotel with plenty of character, this is your hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Le charme d'une ancienne domaine ne suffit pas.

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
Bungalows sans charme. Bruyant car fête de mariage le soir ainsi va et viens des invités. Restaurant fermé a cause de ce mariage. Fitness délabré, rouillé, hors service. Grande piscine propre et extra. Pet. dej. non satisfaisant pour ceux qui ne mangent pas salé le matin. Buffet proposait que petites quantités et était rapidement " vidé" par quelques voyageurs puis que lentement rempli de nouveau.