Ratings based on 728 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gaylord, MI

close to restaurants, only minutes from MSU

Posted Jan 18, 2018
We were in town for a basketball game at MSU, and I wanted to find a hotel that wasn't right in East Lansing but wasn't too far away. This fit the description perfectly. Whether you take the freeway or side roads, campus is a short drive away, and the location of the hotel is close to several restaurants, coffee shops, etc. The style is a nice combination of inexpensive and quality, and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2018
The staff was very professional. Extra attention was made to make the me feel comfortable by offering any assistance once I settled into my room. The staff was also able to extend my check out time by 1 hour without paying extra as my flight was on the evening of that day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good facility and location

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Location: Only a short distance to numerous restaurants.
The only downsides were that the in-room refrigerator was very small and the heating system was the type by the window and was noisy. However, the staff was excellent and they had very, very good breakfasts!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Lobby looks nice, but the rooms need updates. The walls could use a fresh coat of paint. The room was lacking available outlets in convenient locations. There was no good sound proofing insulation. I could here the people in the room above when they came in the middle of the night. Staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Nice staff, disappointing cleanliness

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: There was coffee and tea in the lobby with cookies with books and newspapers to guests which was nice. It was very nice seeing children’s books.
Cons: Better cleaning and building maintenance.
Location: Great location with restaurants, shopping and an amazing food market, Horrocks.
When we checked into our room, the bathroom smelled bad, almost moldy and we found food left in our mini fridge. There was also a broken drawer on the dresser. We looked at the pool and it was cloudy, making us feel it wasn’t clean especially since the surrounding pool area was in need of repair.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison

Not a bad hotel overall but there were some bugs.

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: The parking lot.
Cons: Tiding up the rooms and cleaning up properly.
The overall experience was OK but there were some strange hard-shelled bugs that were also flying around, I removed one initially but there was another one later, there could have been more or at least I started fearing that. Also, the bed looked as of it was made in in hurry, almost as if someone slept there before.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

decent location

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Not a bad basic no frills hotel. Price could be a little better and I would not call the room a suite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Petoskey, mi

excellent staff.

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Very pleasant stay, excellent staff. Just a couple of small details were amiss or it would have been rated excellent and comparable to $150 rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Posted Dec 11, 2017
The experience was very good, only thing is mattresses and pillows need update.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

average as average can get

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: Close to the location I was doing business with.
Cons: Upgrade the decor, attention to small details
The title of the review says it all. Nothing outstanding and a ton of little things that made the stay an "okay" experience. For example, no pens and memo pads, a bottle of half used lotion, no TV listings, pillows the size of couch throw pillows, the heater fan ran all night. Like I said, nothing outstanding...all very average. Was it clean, yes. But then again I did not use a black light over the sheets and furniture.