Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Smelly small no amenities heat air didn't work Bathroom ridiculously small expensive for what you get
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Close to Grand Central Market and Downtown

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: location to transport, market.
Cons: Not sure if room size can be improved but rooms are tiny and single beds short for tall people.
Location: Eat at the market, catch 70 metro bus to Huntington Gallery/ gardens. This was the best part of our stay in LA.
Room was quiet and check in effortless. Not a busy hotel which was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Like a dorm room - small & very basic

Posted May 31, 2017
No frills here at all. Just like living in low budget dorm room. Thin walls, small space, stiff beds, cold floor, thin bedding, sort of feels like a hospital room. The pictures made it look nicer than it was. It did seem clean though and the staff were nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017
Just in downtown. That's it nothing much positive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

The front desk very nice give me check out longer

Posted May 21, 2017
The employee are very nice and give me longer check out
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Cons: Heating the water
Showering with cold water,soetimes the water was hot
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Staff Doesn't Care

Posted May 15, 2017
I had initially made a booking for 2 rooms, each with with 2 twin beds. I then saw that it was the same price for rooms with 1 queen bed instead, which was better for our group. I called expedia to ask if they could switch our rooms over from twins to queens. They said they'd get back to me within 48 hours but never did. So, I phoned Kawada hotel directly; they said they had plenty of queen rooms left and that it would be no problem to switch our rooms over. However, when I was on the phone with them a couple weeks later, they mentioned that my booking was still for twin beds, no one had changed my booking, and it was now too late; they said the best they could do was give us one twin room and one queen room. But when we arrived, we got twin rooms only, no queens. I just feel like we were lied to by the staff every step of the way. On the morning of our stay, a shrieking loud fire alarm went off a couple times. I popped into the hallway to ask a maid what was going on. She smiled, said she had no idea, suggested I phone the front office and ask them, and continued her cleaning. If an alarm is going off in the entire building, shouldn't the staff be either evacuating the guests OR explaining why we don't need to evacuate? This hotel was a gong show. The staff will tell you anything to get you to shut up and leave them alone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Good location, great price

Posted May 8, 2017
Friendly and welcoming staff, made my stay pleasurable! Valet service was great, the gentlemen running the cars were cheery and helpful. Stayed in two different rooms; showers could use a slight upgrade, and the bathroom fan was a little noisey (fan and light were operated with the same switch), but overall was a pleasant stay, got the job done! Steps from the market and park, and the bar in the building features a good selection of drinks and live music. Good location at a great price. Would return in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NM

Great efficient room

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Loved the room as the queen was perfect, though some may find the design a little small. Everything was clean and bright. The television, fridge, and microwave worked. There was some work being done in the lobby but even it was a good place to sit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, but subpar accomodation

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The hotel was in a great location, but was not as comfortable as advertized. The entrance was quite shabby, and the hotel room was not cozy at all. It felt like a hostel, but with an expensive price tag.