Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Fast in and out

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Fast in and out. Parking lot in front of single building with quick elevators. Two minutes after you park you are in your room.
Cons: Newer television set.
Location: Right on the beach. Most rooms have a great view. Two small shopping centers nearby and a McDonalds within walking distance just around the corner.
Got in several hours early and they cheerfully checked me and gave me a decent room. Nice staff. This hotel is older and a bit Spartan, not a destination resort. Has a small pool and a Jacuzzi and some beach chairs. The hotel is almost in the surf, a true beach lovers place. I rented a studio and was surprised that I had a view of the ocean and mountains. Expedia usually gives me the parking lot view. Studio had a fold down bed and a minimal kitchen with no dish washer, oven or disposal. Good reefer and two burner hotplate and microwave, coffee pot, toaster and other kitchen stuff. No wall safe. Room has decent bamboo furniture and was very clean with plenty of extra towels and toilet paper and soap. No daily maid service unless you pay extra. Easy access. Excellent central air with individual room thermostats. Older tv but good wifi. Close to highway. Yes I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So-so hotel...lacing in any feeling of luxury

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Cloe to beach
Cons: Too late....seems it was designed as a low rate faciliy
The pool and chaise lounges seem to be added in as a afterthought.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Perfect... for the price. Would do again!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Location! Room. Kitchen. Sunsets. View. Whales. Turtles. Surf.
Cons: Another dresser.
Location: Everything Maui.
I wish we booked here for our entire trip. Excellent. Turtles galore and long waves at next door beach park. Rent snorkel gear and paddle boards at Boss Frogs (cheap - two blocks away). Snorkel and surf all you want....free. Request beach side room for watching sunsets on your balcony (and whales in season). Easy trip to other beaches, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Water view didn't expect very happy.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Location: The location was a bit far for us since we like Lahaina and the beach strip along that drag. We don't mind driving so for a water view at a reasonable
Not a hotel. Housekeeping once a week but fully stocked with everything you need. Washer dryer etc. Lovely stay would stay there again. Thank you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

terrific location-----IF!

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the sea!!! You could pay $2,000 more a week at a Ka'anipali big name chain and be looking at the parking lot!!
Cons: As noted above, charging the same for a partial ocean view as for a full ocean view is ridiculous!!!!!
Location: Weather better here than at Lahaina or Kehei, both of which are often too warm and dry, and which have noticeably less luxurious tropical foliage.
Have stayed here about 15 times since 1980.Fantastic location (front of building about 5 feet from the Pacific, you could spit off your balcony into the sea!Faces west,and at full moon, the moonlight is reflected off the sea at night -you can see it from your bed-AWESOME!! Planned our trip to be at full moon, but was given one of the few rooms where you only get a side view.I realize that not everyone can win the "luck of the draw", but it should(LIKE EVERY OTHER HOTEL IN HAWAII) have a differential in price between full ocean view and partial.Either charge more and guarantee "full", or charge less and "take your chances". It's a "deal breaker" and we won't be back unless this policy is changed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from berkeley

Great location

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The condos are pretty average but great for the price. The amazing thing is how close you are to the ocean! You can watch the whales from your balcony and you're in the water in 10 steps from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Julia! Thank you for choosing Kahana Beach. We are delighted our oceanfront resort offered you the perfect vantage point for viewing migrating humpbacks. As you probably noticed, whale watching season is our busiest time, with numerous visitors booking reservations a year in advance just for the opportunity to take in the breathtaking spectacle. We are pleased you had the opportunity to see it for yourself. Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Spectacular View

Posted Dec 31, 2016
You are right in front of the ocean in this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Debbie! Thank you for your visit and generous rating. We are pleased you enjoyed the view and delighted you enjoyed a five-star experience. Mahalo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg

Awesome location

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Good ammenties i.e. Ice machine , coin operated laundry. Nice views , easy to access other locations on the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for visiting Kahana Beach. We are pleased you had an enjoyable visit and appreciate your kind words.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Quiet, comfortable, hear the surf from your room.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Hearing the surf.
Cons: Cheaper prices.
Location: Perfect location, close to the beach, restaurants, coffee shops and anything you need to have a perfect stay.
Very close to the beach, quiet, hear the surf from your room, close to great coffee shops and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Terry! Thank you so much for visiting Kahana Beach and sharing your kind words. We are pleased you had an enjoyable visit and truly appreciate your highest rating. Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

right on the beach

Posted Nov 20, 2016
This is an amazing hotel! It is right on the beach, with adequate parking, clean rooms and very friendly staff. However, the hot tub (which overlooks the ocean) was not working properly during my stay, 97 degrees Fahrenheit was the hottest it ever got. The picture is the view from the lanai off the room.