Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Montage Kapalua Bay is a new resort, and you can tell they have studied a lot of other resorts and have done their homework. Montage Kapalua Bay is all about quality over quantity. And I mean this in the best of ways. Some resorts strive to offer a vast array of amenities that I have found can sometimes be overwhelming when you're trying to relax on vacation. But Montage Kapalua Bay focuses on a few key areas, and they excel in each and every one of them. Not to mention the location and view and the beach next to the resort are incredible. In the middle of winter when supposedly the swells are too much to snorkel most of Hawaii's northern shores, I was able to experience some of the best beach snorkeling I have every seen. The rooms are immaculate with sweeping views of Molokai. Also, the whales -- I can't forget the whales. Where they decided to put this resort must be a whale's favorite spot. Right in front of the resort and out your window, we saw probably 10-15 breaches a day. We will definitely be recommending this resort to our friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston,MA

Amazing

Posted Jan 20, 2017
What a wonderful vacation we had at the Montage. Our only complaint would be that we didn't stay long enough. Our room was amazing and perfect for our son and all of the staff were on point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Havasu City, AZ

1st Class all the way

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Orbitz
The pool is a great place for adults and kids. It meanders all around the property with views of the beach and you can always find a private spot. Staff was fabulous. If you want to be spoiled, then stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Gorgeous setting

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Truly 5 star. Staff is wonderful and location offers beautiful trails and fine dining.
Cons: This area of the island gets windy and weather changes quickly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

A disappointing experience

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Kapalua Beach for snorkeling. The hotel restaurant is excellent. Nakalele blowhole & Coconut Caboose ~30 mins away.
My fiancé and I stayed here for four nights and although we had an amazing trip, our experience at the Montage was disappointing. We came directly from another (less expensive) five star resort on the South side of Maui so it’s hard not to directly compare the two stays. PROS: Large room (it was more like a condo, complete with separate living room, kitchen, and laundry) Excellent dining options nearby - Cane & Canoe, Spa Montage Juice bar, Merrimans is a short walk. Gorgeous views and balcony Nice Spa facilities with steam room, sauna, and additional pool/hot tub area. Beautiful beach nearby that was great for snorkeling CONS: Our internet was down when we arrived, and spotty the day after. ATT coverage stayed at 1 bar or no service. Valet forgot that they offered to have our car ready for a reservation and we ended up running late as a result, beach towels were often missed when we returned the car, and they got the gender wrong on letters sent to the room. We had to deal with theft on the hotel grounds while distracted, so you will need to pay attention to what you leave on the side of the pool or in your chair. During rainy seasons, this side of the island seems to get a lot more rain (on rainy days, it seemed to clear up significantly about 30 minutes south). The quality of the photographs from the hotel’s no obligation photo session were poor. We were given two broken coffee makers in a row. The nearest hot tub was out of service for our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pure Class

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: beautiful views of ocean, beautiful hotel and pool area and beaches.
Cons: higher price than my average hotel but I thought well worth the cost
Location: close to all activities and recreation one would need in Maui
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, United States of America

Excellence

Posted Oct 26, 2016
This is the best hotel I've ever stayed. The pool was amazing, the rooms were modern, clean, spacious, and nicer than most peoples apartments/houses. Worth every penny
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Can't say anything negative

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Quiet and peaceful
Cons: Nothing
Location: Next to a great beach for swimming and snorkeling, just outside the busy part of Maui
Its very quiet, not crowded, next to a great snorkeling beach, nice restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale, CA

Perfection in comfort home away home

Posted Sep 11, 2016
We came to Montage Kapalua with great expectations. And we were not disappointed. Our suite is facing the pool and ocean, with direct view to Molokai. From the position of each of the 5 buildings, I believe almost all suites are ocean facing. The large lanai is one of the popular spot in our family, the kids just hope on to the chairs all the time. We setup the in-room breakfast there, and it is better view/comfort/relaxation compared with going to the restaurant for breakfast. All in all, great resort, very well cared ground, new facilities. Great onsite restaurants and pool side bar/lunch. New crowded at all. The Kapalua beach is just next it, and resort guest can get free chair/umbrella, it's a great site for snorkeling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Montage Honeymoon

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: The staff, views, room size, pool and small feel in size.
Cons: Room 4305 master bedroom wall needs to be sound proofed. It stinks to spend a lot of money and have 4 horrible nights of sleep out of the 10 nights.
Location: Beach, snorkeling, route 30 Northern Maui loop. So much to do, great location
Our overall stay at the Montage was fantastic. However, I recommend that no one ever stays in room 4305. All you can hear is movement in the lobby. We lost 4 nights of sleep because of this room and all they offered was to cover our resort fee/valet parking after paying a lot of money to stay with them. The staff was fantastic and moved us in the end but the Montage claimed there was nothing they could do about room rates since we booked thru expedia. I highly recommend the montage due to their services but they need to have a better policy when people are spending close to 1K a night to stay with them. It makes you not want to book thru expedia if they claim it limits there ability to make things right!!!